We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Utz Jay

Save Saved
You added Hotel Utz Jay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Utz Jay
5 Calle 2-50 Zona 2, Panajachel, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 29 hotels in Panajachel
North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We enjoyed the location as it is within a short walking distance to the lake and the main shopping district yet is on a quiet side street. The rooms are basic and include hot water and wi-fi. The gardens are lovely and well maintained. Breakfasts are no longer free, but were inexpensive and very good. Staff was attentive and helpful. Overall a good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    46
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
52
25
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emeryville, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

A Tour company in Xela Recommended this Hotel to me in Feb of 2011. I have stayed here 5 times. I enjoy the atmosphere, the Proximity to everything, the rooms and staff. I love the Plants in the Garden. Lemons and Coffee were in Bloom in October!

Room Tip: I have stayed in 5 different Rooms. I like all
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Northwest
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here 1 night, during a Panajachel festival. It was MUCH quieter than the rest of the town!

Pluses:
1) Free breakfast, and it's yummy
2) Free wi-fi
3) Cute German Shepherds to play fetch with
4) Very kind hosts
5) Great location, just off the main road, and walkable to everything
6) Features a Mayan sauna and tiny "spa" (jacuzzi) for a small fee
7) Cute bungalows surround a flowery garden
8) Super clean and neat
9) Awesome patio with easy chairs for each unit
10) Very cheap for all this- about $30/USD for an ensuite double

Minuses:
1) Cute German Shepherds, if you don't like dogs :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This little hotel is off the main street, so very quiet. Rooms face a lovely tropical garden. Ground floor rooms are darker and slighly humid, but clean and decorated with colorful touches; Nice hot shower, good pressure. Excellent breakfast, abundant and tasty. Free wifi, working well. There are 2 lovely german shepards on the premises, absolutely tame. We would definitely come back.

Room Tip: try to take a room on the first floor, they are bighter and less humid than those on the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This small hotel is located like one block from Avenida Santader so gives you the opportunity to rest and also the chance if you want to go out all the bars and restaurants are close by, the hotel have hot shower not like the electric showers that you might experience in other places, the sauna is really good and cheap. If you like dogs they have 2 german shepherds and they are very friendly, I stayed at this hotel because I had a tour ealy in the morning and didn't want to stay in other town across the lake usually the boat takes around 35 minutes and if you have a schedule to follow better to stay in Panajachel. I recommend this hotel if you are looking for a good place to rest.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

My wife and I had a one night stay here and would stay again. We got a very good night's sleep and found the room to be very clean and filled with light. The breakfast was very good and prompt which was important because we needed to catch our minivan to the next part of our trip. There is a nice courtyard garden. There are 3 very large German Shepherd Dogs that will great you and try to get you to toss a rubber ball or even a rock for them to catch. They are quite competitive at this game so give them a bit of space. The dogs are not permitted into the courtyard area so they do not create a problem, but I am sure they add a bit of additional security for the hotel.

Our room which was upstairs just inside the courtyard to the right side took a very long time for the hot water to arrive in our shower. It is a very small thing and I would stay in the same room again. It might be helpful to have a small sign to explain that the hot water takes 5 minutes or so to reach this particular room. There was plenty of hot water once it arrived.

Room Tip: I liked our elevated room because it was filled with light and had excellent ventilation and a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This place and the owner helped make the rest of our trip in Guatemala. We had not bought tickets ahead of time to go from Panajachel to Tikal and she was friendly and very helpful in calling a travel agent to get us bus tickets to Guatemala city and roundtrip bus tickets to Tikal. I would definitely recommend this place especially if you need help organizing other aspects of your trip or advice. It was also the first hotel we had come across that offered a map of the local area and other advice on things to do. Great service!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Utz Jay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Utz Jay

Address: 5 Calle 2-50 Zona 2, Panajachel, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 hotels in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel located near the main shopping and businesses, but in a quiet street, perfect location. There are rooms spread out through a lush tropical garden, from which one can relax and enjoy watching the birds (over 25 varieties), exotic plants and beautiful trees. Each room is decorated with handcrafted native motif and has a private bathroom with plenty of hot water 24 hrs., TV with cable and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Utz Jay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utz Jay Hotel
Hotel Utz Jay Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Utz Jay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.