We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada de los Volcanes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panajachel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada de los Volcanes
Save Saved
You added Posada de los Volcanes to your Saves list
Calle Santander 5-51, Zona 2 | Solola, Panajachel, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very friendly hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour. This is a small family run hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were basic but clean and we had a lake view from our top storey room. Breakfast was huge, fresh and tasty. We had dinner there one night and the owner-chef went to great trouble to ensure our vegetarian diet was catered for. (This proved more difficult at other places in Guatemala). Recommended.

Room Tip: Room 402 for a window view of the lake but beware there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    59
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
59
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coldwater, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Very homey. The staff and owners treat you like a member of the family. Paco the parrot is a wonderful asset to the hotel. The rooms are spotless, the breakfasts are delicious. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leucadia, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

stayed here 4 nights with friends. We booked 5 rooms. All of us agreed it was great value for the money. Rooms are basic, but not sure there are any upscale hotels in Pana anyway. Breakfast was great. We loved the tropical choice...a huge bowl of fruit with youghurt and granola. Very filling and tasty. The staff, especially Julio, were very accommodating and friendly. We hired Julio to take us to Chichi for the sunday market. He stayed with us to see the church and guided us thru the maze to get to the indoor market. The hotel is on the main street and was a bit noisy, but I discovered after spending another 10 days in other parts of Guatemala, that you can't avoid the roosters crowing at 4am or the motorcycles revving their engines at 6am or the fireworks that go off whenever they want. comes with the territory.

Room Tip: they told us ask for rooms in the back, but it really doesn't matter. Bring ear plugs. Best tip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice guesthouse located just a couple of minutes from the lake, in the main street of Pana. Rooms are clean and comfortable. They are on the basic side, but have everything one needs (except perhaps for toiletries). Breakfast is really good and generous. They also organise tours and shuttles, which is what we done. They organised all our shuttles on Guatemala and our lake tour. Overall and considering the room rate, this is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Felt very at home with the wooden furniture and floral bed spreads! The rooms are clean with free daily water and cable tv. Importantly the staff are very friendly and helpful and speak English. Wifi works in all rooms even the top. No view of the lake but good views of the mountains and volcanoes. Don't forget to say hola to the parrot on your way out!

One of the nicest places we have stayed in Central America in our budget. Free breaky too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had been in the Posada two weeks before Eastern, having a double room with private bathroom. The room was clean, the bathroom as well. The furniture etc. was already a liitle bit old, but well maintained. The price for the room was fair considering the prices of nearny hotels. Breakfast is included and good, WIFI is also free. Water was hot and plenty.
Due to its location directly on Calle Santander it can be noisy at nighttimes.
The hotel offers shuttle from and to various places like Antigua, Chichicastenango, etc. at regular prices.

For the confirmation of a reservation the hotel likes to debit the credit card with 50% of the overall price - the rest needs to be paid on check-in. To pay the residual amount with credit card an additional charge of 5% was requested, so we preferred to pay cash instead.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were thrilled with our one week stay at this hotel. The owner and all staff are friendly, accommodating and always helpful. We chose a room with 2 beds as it was larger than the 1- bed rooms and it was quite spacious for a week. The washroom is large with a great shower and the staff are fastidious about keeping the entire hotel spotless! The breakfast was hot and tasty, the fridge always had COLD beer, and sitting in the courtyard was like sitting in our own living room with a constant supply of entertainment. Within a day we knew everyone staying there and traded great travel stories and info. The TV had a surprisingly large number of English channels, although we only watched late in the evening as there was so much to see and do.

The boat day-trip around the lake was a highlight, best coffee in town is at the Crossroads (near the Church @ other end of Pana), and be sure to ask where the market is and spend some time in the maze. Lots of great shopping nearby, although the street vendors can be quite aggressive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada de los Volcanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de los Volcanes

Address: Calle Santander 5-51, Zona 2 | Solola, Panajachel, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with 12 luxurious rooms. and the rooms at the top you can see the lake. The Posada de los Volcanes is a charming, quiet little motel just a block from the lake. The manager and staff are very customer oriented and make every effort to accommodate. A special addition is the motel taxi service to Chichicastenango, Antigua and Guatemala City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada De Los Volcanes Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada de los Volcanes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.