We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada de los Volcanes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panajachel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada de los Volcanes
Save
You added Posada de los Volcanes to your Saves list
Calle Santander 5-51, Zona 2 | Solola, Panajachel, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good location and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at this posada. The service was excellent. The hotel is located on the main street, but the rooms are not affected by the street noise at night. The receptionist was very helpful. In addition, a long- term guest from Canada helped us with our luggage and provided recommendations for restaurants and places to visit. This is a small gem in a pleasant town by lake Atitlan,.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    61
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
62
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here a couple of nights.

The hotel itself is pretty - has an elegant style, there's a small well-kept garden, and a good view. The rooms are quite spacious and have clean and well furnished bathrooms.

Highlights for me were: 1) the guy on reception (Fransisco, I think) was very friendly and knowledgeable, he gave us advice on how to get to places and put up with me quizzing him relentlessly on his life in Guatemala, 2) the parrot at reception, Paco, who is a delight.

The tours/shuttles that you could organise from the hotel were reasonably priced at the going rate (think they were ATI TRANS).

The location is convenient for the boats (lanchas) and is right next to where my shuttle from Antigua arrived. On the other hand, its maybe a 10-15 minute walk from the busier part of Pana town (which seemed to us to be away from the waterfront). That didn't bother us.
Its a good hotel, and you pay a premium for the service and luxury. If I was staying in Pana again, I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Top floor probably has the best view, but there's no lift. All rooms are away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The owner is extremely nice and accommodating. The location is really nice, only a couple blocks from the lake. The rooms are cozy but really small, for the money it was perfect. Would stay here again. The only complaint I have was that in paying for the shuttle service they get over on the exchange rate so you end up paying a little more than other places. Finding private transportation in guatemala is so easy you need not use the shuttle at the hotel. But overall I was highly satisfied and truly enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This place is really pretty, and the staff are very polite and helpful. They speak good English and can set you up with pretty much anything you want to do in the area - from paragliding to trips to other cities. The location is great, as it's right on the "main" street and an easy walk to shops, restaurants, lanchas, etc. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is the perfect home base for exploring Panajachel and the surrounding villages. excellent breakfast and access to everything. Fracisco and Julio will take very good care of you. great wifi and excellent value. we would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Roooms are small ,but with seating on the balcony outside it becomes a spacious place.The top floor is the best with a wonderful view on the vulcanos and glimpses of the lake through the trees.Located in the town, restaurants and shops all around. Breakfast is extra, but a choice of sevral dishes and the guatemala breakfast was great.
The staff is helpful and everything is sparkling clean. julio, the owner, became a friend!

Room Tip: Top floor has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have visited Panajachel many times and this is my favorite place to stay. Even though it is just off Avenida Santander (very near the lake), it is quiet (yes, there is the occasional rooster crowing and/or dog barking, on Saturday nights some club noise, but if you can't handle that you should probably stay home!). The rooms are spotlessly clean, plenty of hot water, and the balconies are delightful. Free WiFi and cable tv are plusses (I was there just after the US presidential election so was pleased to have cable tv). They now offer delicious breakfasts included in the rate. The staff is exceptional - exceptionally helpful, friendly, efficient. I love gardens, and there is no garden, but the other positives make up for that. For comfort, security and value, wouldn't stay anywhere else in Pana!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada de los Volcanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de los Volcanes

Address: Calle Santander 5-51, Zona 2 | Solola, Panajachel, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Panajachel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with 12 luxurious rooms. and the rooms at the top you can see the lake. The Posada de los Volcanes is a charming, quiet little motel just a block from the lake. The manager and staff are very customer oriented and make every effort to accommodate. A special addition is the motel taxi service to Chichicastenango, Antigua and Guatemala City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada De Los Volcanes Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada de los Volcanes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.