We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porta Hotel Del Lago

Save Saved
You added Porta Hotel Del Lago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Porta Hotel Del Lago
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Avenida 6-17 Zona 2, Panajachel, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #13 of 29 hotels in Panajachel
Heredia, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

I stayed one night at the hotel for a inspection of it, so the staff treat us like kings, hehehe. The lobby is a bit dark, the sitting area next to the lobby is very nice, also there is a very nice sitting area infront of the restaurant. The restaurant is very good, the staff is very nice. Almost everypart at the hotel have a view of the lake, the restaurant is no exeption. The sports area is a very large deck above the restaurant, very spacious, very clean. The rooms were very spacious, with the best view, but the room needs an update, and A/C. The bathroom was very clean, white and with a excellent shower.

The location is an excellent lake view, and is not that far from the center of Panajachel, that is a small town, make sure you walk on the sidewalk next to the lake. The lake and the town are simply beautiful!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    66
    31
    4
    7
See reviews for
34
45
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los angeles Ca.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

PROS: Clean rooms, beautiful Views of the lake and volcanos and nice hotel interior. Perfectly located for access to the lake and shopping areas. Overall one of the nicest places I saw in the area.

CONS: Staff not real interested in helping you beyond check in, Bar was really expensive and pool closed really early (6 PM)
**However for the area this hotel was like a *****five star***** location!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

All of the rooms have balconies that face the lake, and the views are wonderful - unless it is foggy. The building is rather old, but maintained and functional, and the breakfast was fine. It is away from the town center, but the distance is walkable.

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — distance from the town
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

We opted for the Portas Hotel because their sister hotel in Antigua is very nice and from the website it appeared to have a nice pool and great views on the lake. It certainly delivered on the latter, the views from the rooms were stunning (we were on the top floor, the 5th). This is were the praise stops however. The building is quite ugly. Staff at reception was far from friendly at check in, offered no help with our luggage and forgot to give us the safe key. The refused to bring the safe key up once we discovered we needed a separate key. We decided to treat ourselves to a suite on the 5th floor, priced only $20 above a standard room. The room (501) was big, with a nice balcony, and the views were amazing. Sadly, we only discovered in the evening that the room was straight above a major extractor fan on the ground floor which made a very loud, squeeky noise. When we complained about a noise they immediately knew what it was so we were obviously not the first ones to complain. We were ultimately given another room after several calls, a standard one, but were offered little help changing rooms nor an apology. Breakfast was not great and reception staff had given us vouchers with the wrong date, causing some trouble. We were not offered any coffee and had to chase a waiter. Afterwards we went to the pool where we found stiff competition between the restaurant music which is automatically piped around the pool through various outdoor speakers and one separate, very large, outdoor loudspeaker playing loud, but different, music. They turned one of them down, at our request, but 30 minutes later it was back on. The pool is fine but look at the lake and not at the building. At check out, they tried to make us pay for the suite even though it was the same guy who had switched us the night before..So, come for the views and probably also a good place for families with children because of the pool, but dont expect any character nor friendly service. If you take a suite dont take rooms 101, 201, etc but go for 121, 221 at the other end to avoid the noise. For standard room take somewhere in the middle for the best views

  • Liked — views on lake
  • Disliked — unfriendly service, noise from extractor fan affecting rooms on left side of hotel
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

We stayed at Porta del lago Dec 27-29, 2008. Lake Atitlan is so beautiful and the nice thing about this hotel is that all the rooms have balconies and they all face the lake. The hotel is pretty nice. The pool is really nice. They have some spas, but they are not hot. ( as were none of the spas we found at any of the hotels we stayed at in Guate. The grounds and flowers are beautiful. The one thing we did not like is that it is an all inclusive hotel. It is pretty expensive but the food is aweful!! I stayed there one time before (Sept 2006) and the ala carte food was really good. In fact, I had the best hot dog there and hot chocolate of my life, but this time when we went the food was really awful and pretty much the same both days we were there. I've never had so much potato salad with old hot dogs in it. The bad thing is that it is all inclusive and it does cost a lot for Guatemala standards especially, so you hate to leave the hotel and pay more to eat other places. They check in staff wouldnt let us into our room until 3pm, even though we got there like 15-20 mins early. They did have more activities this time we went. (Dec is the busy season). They had a club with a DJ that played both nights we were there, however, there was our group and another group and that is all that was there. We still had tons of fun, though. My mother in law and her mother used the sauna and they said it was really old and outdated, along with the workout room. All in all we decided next time we will try a different hotel because this one has gone down hill the last few years. My husbands family lives in Guatemala and this hotel used to be their favorite hotel in Pana, but they agreed, next trip we will look elsewhere.

  • Liked — The view from our balcony as well as the flowers and grounds are beautiful. Great location!!
  • Disliked — The food is horrible!!!! And pretty expensive at least during December
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord,CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2006

We stayed at the Porta Hotel Del Lago for 3 nights: two adults and a two year old. Since it was off-season, there were few other guests. However, we felt completely comfortable and enjoyed the privacy. Rooms were a little small, but the balcony with the view of the Lake added some extra space. Room was clean and bathroom looked liked it was recently remodelled. No fans in the room, but we didn't need any extra air.

Great toddler pool and there's a Club Kids opened on the weekend. Location was perfect: short walk to the docks to take boats to other parts of the lake and a minute's walk to the main street (C/ Santandar). Staff spoke minimal English. Food was excellent (we chose the all-inclusive option, so we had all our meals there).

This is an expensive option, but for our needs travelling with a young child, it was a good choice. Staff was especially attentive and helpful with our son, which gives this hotel bonus points for us!

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Tips/Secrets — Brush up on basic spanish phrases in this area.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2005

Very nice and quiet hotel. Clean rooms and fantastic views at the lake and the vulcanos. Very nice sunset views from the balcony.
A bit expensive, but worth it. Just a minute walk from the busy centre of Panajachel.
Recommended!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Porta Hotel Del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Hotel Del Lago

Address: 2 Avenida 6-17 Zona 2, Panajachel, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 hotels in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Porta Hotel Del Lago 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Porta Hotel Del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Hotel Panajachel
Porta Hotel Del Lago Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porta Hotel Del Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.