We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE most beautiful views of the lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porta Hotel Del Lago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Porta Hotel Del Lago to your Saves list
Porta Hotel Del Lago
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Avenida 6-17 Zona 2, Panajachel, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Essen, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“THE most beautiful views of the lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

… for years I’ve been going to another hotel in Pana, but once you’ve been to the Porta del Lago and been sitting on your balcony enjoying those magnificent views, it’s difficult to go elsewhere again. Admittedly the building is old and outdated and even with the renovations of the rooms there are things that can’t be changed, so it’ll always have the 70s charm, but the views make up for everything. I found the room to be very nice ( furniture and size-wise ) , the bed comfortable and the staff was cordial, helpful and friendly ( I don’t understand the people complaining about unfriendly staff… I guess the way you treat them is the way they treat you which is only normal to me… ) . It is pricey for Guatemalan standards and I can’t say anything about breakfast ( with 10$ too expensive I think and I looked at the buffet and there was really nothing on it for the European taste that would merit the price, so I went elsewhere ). The only negative I would mention is the lack of Wifi in the rooms. But you can go anywhere in the downstairs area and even outside to the pool area to get Wifi, which was fine with me since I preferred sitting by the pool rather than up in the room with my Ipad.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaMariaH561, Gerente at Porta Hotel Del Lago, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear
Jeannine 2

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Porta Hotel del Lago. We are pleased that you enjoyed the wonderfull view in the balcony. Comments like yours are a valuable tool for our continued pursuit of excellence, We will follow up your internet service comment.

It gives me pride and pleasure to share your lovely comments with my colleagues.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Regards
Ana María
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    69
    35
    4
    7
See reviews for
39
46
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Valley, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here on May 24, the hotel offer amazing view of the lake and the volcano. The dock was just a minute away if you want to go to Santiago or other Mayan villages. We can watch sunrise and sunset from the balcony. The room is comfortable and clean. Breakfast was wonderful with variety of choices and really fresh fruits. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaMariaH561, Gerente at Porta Hotel Del Lago, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Kristy D

Thank you very much for your glowing review.
It gives me pride and pleasure to share your lovely comments with my colleagues.

Once again, thank you so much for this wonderful comment on Tripadvisor!

Regards
Ana María
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

If you are only interested in great views of Lago Atitlan and good hot water, Porta del Lago may be for you. But if you would like good customer service, reasonable prices, and a guest-friendly atmosphere...stay elsewhere! This place has really declined in the last 4 years. The hotel overcharges for rooms and then makes it nearly impossible to have pleasant stay without heeding to their ridiculous policies. For example, do not try to park your car when you arrive! They will treat you like a known criminal at the gate. Instead, you must go to reception, get a handwritten ticket, and then return to the parking area. Who is this system for? The hotel! We had to change rooms TWICE before finally getting settled because "the system" (their words) assigned us to a different room. Is there any management here that actually knows what is going on and how to treat customers who are spending close to $200 a night on a room in a developing country? Finally, the gym has mostly broken equipment from the late 90s and the internet is horrible (only functions in the restaurant, no internet in rooms.) Having lived in Guatemala on and off since 2009, I will never recommend this hotel to anyone again. There are much better deals at the lake. The owners of the Porta chain need to fire everyone in management at this location and start again with service-oriented leaders who put guests and amenities above archaic policies and the nickel-dime mentality.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala city
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I love to go to the lake but I always go to the same hotel,this time I was ready for a change.
This hotel is nice but,for Guatemala it was very expencive our room with a view of the lake was $180 and breakfast was not included.This hotel is looking tired and the room's were just okey.
But I love the grounds the swiming pools and al the facilities it is perfect for family's with children.
The view of the lake from my room was ameizing,food at the restaurant was average nothing great abut it . Next time I go to the lake I will find someting alse.I did like the friendly staff very helpful and always smile. I just did not like how expencive this weekend was.

Room Tip: This hotel looks very nice in the photos on the internet but so diferent when you get there it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaMariaH561, Gerente at Porta Hotel Del Lago, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Lobetravel58

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we apologize for not completely satisfying your expectations.
Please accept our apologies, your comments are taken into consideration to take the necessary actions to improve.

Regards
Ana María
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We arrived at this hotel near Lake Atitlan very tired and anxious to get into our rooms However,
there was no early check in and we had to wait until after 3 p.m.so we were tired and not in a good mood. However, the next day we noticed the fantastic views, lake, volcanoes, swimming
pool, restaurant, etc. The 6 year old with us loved the pool, jacouzzi, people sized checker and
chess boards , and the ice cream! This is a very well run hotel, good service from friendly
people. The one big negative is lack of Wifi in the rooms, not even at a charge. You have to
go to the lobby to have Wi Fi.
The town of Panajachel has shopping, restaurants, banks. In particular there is a store with
pocketbooks so beautiful they could be sold here on Fifth and Madison Avenues.. It is called
Artesanias "Tuy" and is at Calle Santander Zona 2. The nice gentleman there is Antonio Tuy
Tuy. We each bought a bag and do recommend this store in particular.
We also found a deli near the hotel for breakfast, the best in Guatemala.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaMariaH561, Gerente at Porta Hotel Del Lago, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Google Translation
Dear Anemarie 7

Fue un placer servirle en Porta Hotel del Lago y formar parte de su experiencia del maravilloso Lago de Atitlán; nos es de gran ayuda conocer su opinión y agradecemos nos la haya compartido.
Gracias por tomarse el tiempo de escribir su comentario en Tripadvisor.
saludos
Ana María
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

After staying with this hotel brand in Antigua- we booked this hotel for our stay in Panajachel. They were chalk & cheese. Unfriendly & unhelpful staff. Rooms consisted of dated decor. It just wasn't a pleasant stay at all.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaMariaH561, Gerente at Porta Hotel Del Lago, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Sarah M

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Porta Hotels. We are pleased that you enjoyed of your stay at Porta Hotel Antigua. However, I was sorry to read that certain parts of your stay in Porta Hotel del Lago did not live up to your expectations.

I've shared your comments with our team about the unfriendly and unhelpful attitudes this situation should not happen, sorry.

We are remodeled 60 rooms and elevators in 2013 and continue remodeling in 2014 our rooms.

We are always striving to better accommodate our guests and we'll take action in the issues you've mentioned.

Please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Feel free to contact me directly to arrange your reservation. I would be happy to assist you.

Regards
Ana María
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The Porta Hotel del Lago is a touristy hotel with many floors. The rooms all face the pool area and have balconies. The views of the lake and sunsets are beautiful. the rooms themselves are spacious with comfortable beds and bathroom amenities. The hotel and rooms are in need of renovation but that is an observation, not a complaint. the location is ideal for walking to the small town for shopping and dining.

Room Tip: Get an upper floor to observe the sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaMariaH561, Gerente at Porta Hotel Del Lago, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear xnyrnkc
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we apologize for not completely satisfying your expectations.
Please accept our apologies, your comments are taken into consideration to take the necessary actions to improve our quality of facilities.
In 2013 we remodeled 60 rooms and elevators, we are continue remodeling in 2014 our facilities, so your comments are welcome
Regard
Ana María
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porta Hotel Del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Hotel Del Lago

Address: 2 Avenida 6-17 Zona 2, Panajachel, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Porta Hotel Del Lago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Porta Hotel Del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Hotel Panajachel
Porta Hotel Del Lago Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porta Hotel Del Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.