We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porta Hotel Del Lago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Porta Hotel Del Lago to your Saves list
Porta Hotel Del Lago
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Avenida 6-17 Zona 2, Panajachel, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save $10 on select meals
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We arrived at this hotel near Lake Atitlan very tired and anxious to get into our rooms However,
there was no early check in and we had to wait until after 3 p.m.so we were tired and not in a good mood. However, the next day we noticed the fantastic views, lake, volcanoes, swimming
pool, restaurant, etc. The 6 year old with us loved the pool, jacouzzi, people sized checker and
chess boards , and the ice cream! This is a very well run hotel, good service from friendly
people. The one big negative is lack of Wifi in the rooms, not even at a charge. You have to
go to the lobby to have Wi Fi.
The town of Panajachel has shopping, restaurants, banks. In particular there is a store with
pocketbooks so beautiful they could be sold here on Fifth and Madison Avenues.. It is called
Artesanias "Tuy" and is at Calle Santander Zona 2. The nice gentleman there is Antonio Tuy
Tuy. We each bought a bag and do recommend this store in particular.
We also found a deli near the hotel for breakfast, the best in Guatemala.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaMariaH561, Gerente at Porta Hotel Del Lago, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Google Translation
Dear Anemarie 7

Fue un placer servirle en Porta Hotel del Lago y formar parte de su experiencia del maravilloso Lago de Atitlán; nos es de gran ayuda conocer su opinión y agradecemos nos la haya compartido.
Gracias por tomarse el tiempo de escribir su comentario en Tripadvisor.
saludos
Ana María
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    97
    53
    10
    8
See reviews for
58
62
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

After staying with this hotel brand in Antigua- we booked this hotel for our stay in Panajachel. They were chalk & cheese. Unfriendly & unhelpful staff. Rooms consisted of dated decor. It just wasn't a pleasant stay at all.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaMariaH561, Gerente at Porta Hotel Del Lago, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Sarah M

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Porta Hotels. We are pleased that you enjoyed of your stay at Porta Hotel Antigua. However, I was sorry to read that certain parts of your stay in Porta Hotel del Lago did not live up to your expectations.

I've shared your comments with our team about the unfriendly and unhelpful attitudes this situation should not happen, sorry.

We are remodeled 60 rooms and elevators in 2013 and continue remodeling in 2014 our rooms.

We are always striving to better accommodate our guests and we'll take action in the issues you've mentioned.

Please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Feel free to contact me directly to arrange your reservation. I would be happy to assist you.

Regards
Ana María
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The Porta Hotel del Lago is a touristy hotel with many floors. The rooms all face the pool area and have balconies. The views of the lake and sunsets are beautiful. the rooms themselves are spacious with comfortable beds and bathroom amenities. The hotel and rooms are in need of renovation but that is an observation, not a complaint. the location is ideal for walking to the small town for shopping and dining.

Room Tip: Get an upper floor to observe the sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaMariaH561, Gerente at Porta Hotel Del Lago, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear xnyrnkc
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we apologize for not completely satisfying your expectations.
Please accept our apologies, your comments are taken into consideration to take the necessary actions to improve our quality of facilities.
In 2013 we remodeled 60 rooms and elevators, we are continue remodeling in 2014 our facilities, so your comments are welcome
Regard
Ana María
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, PEI
Level Contributor
304 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The location (walking distance to Panajachel main streets) and the views (Atitlan and volcanoes) are excellent as are the grounds and pool. The room, although they appear to have been recently painted are very tired looking. Staff is extremely friendly and the buffet breakfasts (omelet station) and buffet dinners are quite good.

Room Tip: The higher the better (view wise). All rooms have a small balcony, corner rooms have two balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaMariaH561, Gerente at Porta Hotel Del Lago, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Happy Cana...
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we apologize for not completely satisfying your expectations.
Please accept our apologies, your comments are taken into consideration to take the necessary actions to improve our quality of facilities.
In 2013 we remodeled 60 rooms and elevators, we are continue in 2014 remodeling more rooms and our facilities, so your comments are welcome.
Regards
Ana María
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This hotel is very comfortable, located by the lake, while having easy access to the town. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The view from our balcony was to die for, and the pool was very nice with beautiful gardens. Although our room didn't have A/C we didn't miss it, since it had an oscillating fan and we could open the balcony door and let the nice breeze in.

The buffet breakfast was very good, with lots of selections and an omelet station. The staff was very friendly in all areas of the hotel. Overall this hotel was an excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaMariaH561, Gerente at Porta Hotel Del Lago, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado SunnyInn
Fue un placer servirle y formar parte de su experiencia del maravilloso Lago de Atitlán.
Queremos expresar, nuestro agradecimiento por compartir sus comentarios y observaciones en base a su experiencia en Porta Hotel del Lago.
Atentamente
Ana María
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Panajechel is a small town on lake Atitlan that hasn't been built up like other "resort cities". The Porta Hotel is in a great location and has wonderful unobstructed views of the lake and volcanoes.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Part of Lake Atitlan's charm are the rustic towns easily accessible by small boat. You couldn't ask for a better location to tour the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaMariaH561, Gerente at Porta Hotel Del Lago, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Google Translation
Estimada/o mdjmcl
Fue un placer servirle y formar parte de su experiencia del maravilloso Lago de Atitlán.
Queremos expresar, nuestro agradecimiento por compartir sus comentarios y observaciones en base a su experiencia en Porta Hotel del Lago.
Atentamente
Ana María
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Great value for money with a fabulas location overlooking the lake. The room was large and comfortable with a great view not only of the lake but also of the distant volcano. When I arrived I was offered a room on the first floor which was viewless so asked for one on a higher floor which was perfect. The restuarante has a art deco feel to it (a compliment) and the food was brilliant. All the hotel staff I came across were 100 percent helpful. Only minor negatie was the complimentary wifi was only available in the common areas and was at times hit and miss.

Room Tip: ask for a room on a higher floor, better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaMariaH561, Gerente at Porta Hotel Del Lago, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Chrisintt

Thank you very much for your glowing review.
It gives me pride and pleasure to share your lovely comments with my colleagues. They are a very dedicated group of professionals who are committed to ensuring that our customers have a personal "home away from home" experience and I am thrilled that they have consistently delivered this high standard during your visit.
Don´t have a doubt that your comments will be taken into consideration for improvement Wifi in rooms.
Once again, thank you so much for this wonderful comment on Tripadvisor!
Regards
Ana María
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Porta Hotel Del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Hotel Del Lago

Address: 2 Avenida 6-17 Zona 2, Panajachel, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Porta Hotel Del Lago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Porta Hotel Del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Hotel Panajachel
Porta Hotel Del Lago Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porta Hotel Del Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.