We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Sunday afternoon buffet meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porta Hotel Del Lago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Porta Hotel Del Lago to your Saves list
Porta Hotel Del Lago
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Avenida 6-17 Zona 2, Panajachel, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save $10 on select meals
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
GreenLeadersGold level
Charlotte
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delicious Sunday afternoon buffet meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I dined at the hotel restaurant while visiting the lovely town of Panajachel on Lake Atitlan. The selection of food was fantastic, ranging from soups and salads to vegetables, meats and rice. The freshly made tortillas were excellent, chicken was flavorful and tender, and the service was friendly and prompt. I would certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    97
    53
    10
    8
See reviews for
59
62
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

There are some minor things about this hotel that were slightly annoying (such as rusty water coming out of the bathtub, our pull out sofa was broken & construction noise on our floor), however; the staff and their attention to detail more than made up for it. The staff, the staff, the staff... AMAZING. Every single person was so kind, so helpful, so accommodating. The hotel itself is slightly dated, but the location and grounds are superb. The restaurant is excellent; we ate onsite several times for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The food was always very tasty and served with grace. The hotel is very clean. The pool is family friendly with a volleyball net, swim toys, and a shallow kids end on one side, however; it is "solar" heated so the only drawback was that it was a bit cold for us if the sun hadn't been shining to warm it up. They have a kids playroom, and large chess boards outside which were a lot of fun for our family. This hotel is an excellent choice if you have children. It is spacious, clean, and the staff was very accommodating to the needs of a family. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: DEFINITELY upgrade to the suite. It is well worth the money...the balconies on the suites allow for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I happened to get a really awful throat and nose infection last time I was in Guatemala. I'm very thankful it happened while staying at the Porta Hotel in Panajachel. Those beds are really, truly fantastic. I don't think I've slept so soundly since!

The hotel is a modern design that is neither an eyesore or an architectural marvel. It has its variety of swimming pools and luxury trimmings that I did not visit. The showers in the room are marvelous but the water is a bit murky to the fact that Panajachel is still a tiny lakeside town in the middle of a bunch of volcanoes! The beds, oi, the beds. I don't ever take things from hotel rooms but I wish I could've taken those beds.

Room service was fast and the food was good. Overall a great and comfortable stay. The hotel location is really choice, so there's no reason not to visit!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placencia, Belize
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel is under-going renovations in the rooms right now, which they do not disclose when you book. The noise starts about 7:30 a.m. and can go as late as 5:30 p.m. I called the front desk one night to ask them to please stop and they did, but for $118 usd/night, they should only work on the rooms from maybe 10-3p.m. so guests' stays aren't so inconvenienced.

The hotel is dated but comfortable. Our room was large and had a nice view. The pool was huge, but the two jacuzzis are not kept hot, which was unfortunate since the weather was cold while we were there and that would have been nice.

Sometimes the wait staff was attentive, other times you couldn't find them or get their attention at all.

We loved the location of the hotel - right on the lake, close to town, with a pool, but wished we'd stayed another time because perhaps then we would have enjoyed our stay more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Although the interior is a little dated by USA standards, this is a really nice hotel. Great views and amenities, pool is clean and heated, and on site dining with bar. Service is very good and rooms are lean and comfy if you can get past the 70's era decor. A nice refuge from the bustle of Pana. Fairly priced for what you get, and our corner suite comfortably housed a family of 4 for 3 days. would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a really nive five day stay in this welcoming, non pretentious hotel. The staff were friendly and efficient, the room was clean, comfortable and spacious (we had been upgraded to a corner 'suite'), the pool was beautiful, the location was great, and the views were stupendous!

It was a bit of a shock on arrival as it is a big big hotel standing six stories tall but once we got over that we were delighted that we had chosen Porta Hotel del Lago for our stay.

Room Tip: All rooms come with a view but the higher the floor the better it will be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had a room on the top floor and would just sit out on the balcony and gaze at the amazing view.... breathtaking .... food ... amenities ... massage....service was all excellent
could not recommend this place enough!

Room Tip: make sure to ask if they have a room on the top floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Porta Hotel Del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Hotel Del Lago

Address: 2 Avenida 6-17 Zona 2, Panajachel, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Porta Hotel Del Lago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Porta Hotel Del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Hotel Panajachel
Porta Hotel Del Lago Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porta Hotel Del Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.