We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porta Hotel Del Lago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Porta Hotel Del Lago to your Saves list
Porta Hotel Del Lago
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Avenida 6-17 Zona 2, Panajachel, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book Directly and Save!!
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Although the interior is a little dated by USA standards, this is a really nice hotel. Great views and amenities, pool is clean and heated, and on site dining with bar. Service is very good and rooms are lean and comfy if you can get past the 70's era decor. A nice refuge from the bustle of Pana. Fairly priced for what you get, and our corner suite comfortably housed a family of 4 for 3 days. would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    103
    54
    13
    9
See reviews for
65
66
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne,
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a really nive five day stay in this welcoming, non pretentious hotel. The staff were friendly and efficient, the room was clean, comfortable and spacious (we had been upgraded to a corner 'suite'), the pool was beautiful, the location was great, and the views were stupendous!

It was a bit of a shock on arrival as it is a big big hotel standing six stories tall but once we got over that we were delighted that we had chosen Porta Hotel del Lago for our stay.

Room Tip: All rooms come with a view but the higher the floor the better it will be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had a room on the top floor and would just sit out on the balcony and gaze at the amazing view.... breathtaking .... food ... amenities ... massage....service was all excellent
could not recommend this place enough!

Room Tip: make sure to ask if they have a room on the top floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC Canada
Level Contributor
219 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights and loved the views from the room towards the volcanoes. The staff is very helpful and the laundry service great. Food can be expensive so we ate most of our meals in the town, which is only a short 1 block walk away. There is no AC but we would leave our balcony door open at night and with the fan in the room it was fine.

Room Tip: Stay on the 5th floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Cabos Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed at Porta Hotel Del Lago a week ago and I was extremely satisfied with the experience.

This resort is located in front of the lake with spectacular views of the volcanoes from each one of the guestrooms. No matter which room you stay in, you will enjoy a balcony and make sure not to miss the sunrise views, just spectacular.

Rooms are spacious, comfortable, good size bathroom with Porta Hotels toiletries (easily compared to a Westin's or Marriott's), free internet and international channel TVs.

The service is good, you will find that one of their bellboys speaks more than 30 languages!!! That shows you the quality of their staff.

The pool area is beautiful as it faces the lake as well.

Restaurant offers international cuisine, good service and good food at very reasonable prices.

Location is spectacular, the lake and volcanoes views are unbeatable, you can walk to restaurants, bars, traditional souvenirs shops at any time, it is very safe and you will discover the picturesque local community.

I visited other hotels in Panajachel and I would definitely come back to Porta Hotel Del Lago, it is the most complete resort in the area.

Room Tip: No matter which room you stay in, you will have beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panajachel, Guatemala
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel is right on the lake front, with a wonderful view. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I think the hotel is geared to the Guatemalan guests, but anyone will enjoy their stay. The food is very good and the presentation is above and beyond your expectations. Hotel has a nice gym and offers a swim pilates class 3 mornings a week that is excellent as well. No air conditioning, but it is not needed because the temperatures are very comfortable staying in the high 50's at night and low 80's in the daytime. It is pleasant to just open the door and enjoy the breeze.

Room Tip: Any room with a balcony will face the lake and volcanos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
282 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights as part of tour. 4th floor room had a balcony with great view of lake and volcanoes. Rooms were clean and large enough. Could not get wireless wifi to work and could not hook up to DSL. There was no A/C in room and had to leave door open for ventilation with fan. The hotel guest computer did work. It did seem like there was A/C in the halls and lobby. Very convenient location with easy access to restaurants. Breakfasts in hotel were more than adequate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
29.1 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
28.3 mi away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
28.7 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#6 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.4 mi away
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
#21 of 30 in Panajachel
3.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
28.9 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#7 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
31.3 mi away
Villa Santa Catarina
Villa Santa Catarina
#11 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Hotel Del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Hotel Del Lago

Address: 2 Avenida 6-17 Zona 2, Panajachel, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Panajachel
#2 Business Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Porta Hotel Del Lago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Porta Hotel Del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Hotel Panajachel
Porta Hotel Del Lago Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porta Hotel Del Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.