We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views, friendly staff...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porta Hotel Del Lago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Porta Hotel Del Lago to your Saves list
Porta Hotel Del Lago
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Avenida 6-17 Zona 2, Panajachel, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save $10 on select meals
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views, friendly staff...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I changed hotels from a cheap included hotel on my tour to the Porta Hotel Del Lago, I was not disappointed! Had breathtaking views from the balcony overlooking the lake, found the room to be clean, quiet and in an ideal location near to the shops but far enough away to make it feel tranquil.

Staff were friendly and made me feel welcome, laundry was promptly returned. If I were to be picky - only has a shower (no bath) the hot water was rather hit and miss and would recommend eating breakfast out rather than in. Having said all that it was the best hotel I stayed in (by a long way) during my tour of Mexico/Guatemala and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    102
    53
    13
    9
See reviews for
64
65
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
133 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The hotel is beautifully located close to the lake. Food is good, the rooms are nice with great lake views, and the town center is a short 5 minute walk away--far enough to ensure a quite stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We stayed in a suite, the room was huge, with amazing views of the lake... the bed could be better, but definitelly you forget about small issues with such beautiful view. The service is good and the hotel really care about the environment which is great. The breakfast was delicious but unfortunatelly their pool is not heated, nor even the jacuzzi! The hotel should pay attention on having a hot jacuzzi as any guest would expect it to be.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
645 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 482 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I have stayed in numerous hotels in Panajachel and the Lake Atitlan area. The property was nice but felt stark and bland during our stay. The suit we had was on the top floor and supposedly the biggest available.
The views from the room were nice, but the room didn't feel completly clean and maintained.
The carpet needed attention. The beds were hard. The place felt like an older hotel in need of attention. Based on previous experiences I would stay at Hotel Atitlan over this property again in the future. If you don't have to be in Panajachel consider the neighboring community of Santa Catarina Palopo.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortaGuatemala, General Manager at Porta Hotel Del Lago, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Hello

thank you for your comments on tripadvisor. I want to make sure you know that we look to exceed our guest expectations and if you can expand on your experience during your stay it would be greatly appreciated. It is very important for us. Please send me an email at info@portahotels.com attention to Andreas.

Thanks again for your time and feedback.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

The view from the room was fantastic!
The front desk was good if you spoke Spanish!
The service and the food for dinner was the worst I have ever had in a had in a hotel. We had to get up and walk to the kitchen area to request our food after waiting 45 minutes with no contact from anyone. They were not busy. When the food arrived it was terrible. Three out of four of us didn't even finish 1/2 of our meal because it was so bad. I thought breakfast might be better. It was help your self or if you wanted an egg over easy forget it because they couldn' t cook. An omelette took about 15 minutes to cook and it was very bland. Don't eat there!
Its a shame because it is a beautiful Hotle but they need to get a better chef and staff!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

OMG! What a view to wake-up to. It is a great resort hotel but at lower resort rates. It is a beautiful hotel with excellent service. It is located right at the lake. We had a room that faced the lake. We sat on the balcony during the evening just mesmorized by the views. Restaurant, spa, gym,... everything you need.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

This hotel is very nice and comfortable. We obtained a good rate on hotels.com and enjoyed our stay. The internet conection was unreliable but other than that everything was fine. The weather was rainy so we didn't try out the pool.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
29.1 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
28.3 mi away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
28.7 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#6 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.4 mi away
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
#21 of 30 in Panajachel
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
28.9 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#8 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
31.3 mi away
Villa Santa Catarina
Villa Santa Catarina
#11 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Hotel Del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Hotel Del Lago

Address: 2 Avenida 6-17 Zona 2, Panajachel, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Panajachel
#2 Business Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Porta Hotel Del Lago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Porta Hotel Del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Hotel Panajachel
Porta Hotel Del Lago Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porta Hotel Del Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.