We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake is amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Final Calle Santander, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 hotels in Panajachel
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lake is amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent time in several hotels in Guatemala during our travels and this one was probable the least liked, mainly because the room was so dark, the block we were staying in was surrounded by a very thick hedge, we tried to get moved when we arrived only to be told the all the rooms were the same.
That said the staff were very helpful, food we ate in the hotel was good and the hotel surroundings very pleasant. And best of all the hotel fixed us up with a trip around the lake which more than made up for any short comings.
The hotel terrace and dining room have great view of the volcanoes across the lake and the place is conveniently situated for the main tourist strip in Panajachel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaPanajache, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are very sorry to hear that our rooms did not meet your expectations... We are currently working on some changes for that area or the hotel because several customers like yourself have been commenting that the rooms are very dark and could be better.
However hearing that our staff and your trip to the lake was a success gives us a big comfort.
We thank you for taking the time to write this review and definetely hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    63
    25
    4
    3
See reviews for
31
55
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We booked this hotel a long time in advance through a booking agency online. We had booked all our rooms with lake view and received a confirmation. Then suddenly we started getting e-mails from the hotel (and not the agency) saying that we wouldn't get lake views, but still we had to pay the same price. After many mails back and forth and with help from booking.com, we finally got two rooms (out of four) with lake view. But the hotel kept sending confirmations operating with different prices, currencies and with/without taxes included. In every confirmation it was specified that at this hotel in Panajachel we would experience traditional dances and music every night in the hotel restaurant. This turned out to be a lie - apparently it only applied to the other hotel in Antigua. The day before our arrival we got yet another confirmation saying that we would get a lake view in all rooms. What a head ache for nothing! At the hotel we discovered that they were charging us more for a so called triple room even though all the rooms were identical and children under 12 stayed for free (our son was 4). When we confronted them with this they just said that they had had a similar problem with another family some days earlier (!?) Moreover, we were only given two towels and they were removed early in the morning before we had checked out so we couldn't take a shower after using the swimming pool. In addition to this, in our room there was an authorization, saying how much they were allowed to charge you for it, and it was way much lower than in reality. A part from that we were very disappointed with the hotel amenities (e.g. Horrible shower gel and shampoo in one dispenser), the bin was full of old rubbish, there weren't any remote control for the TV nor the AC and the lock to the bath room door was broken. All in all, a horrible experience which caused us so much head ache and frustration. Overpriced hotel which apparently tries to trick their guests. The rest of the staff, the pool and the view were lovely! If you go to lake Atitlan I recommend staying at "la Casa del mundo" in stead!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaPanajache, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your review!
First of all we appreciate the time you took to write this, we take every review very seriously because it helps us to fix mistakes and give you a better service.
I want to take this time to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced in our hotel, our number one goal is to give our clients an experience that will exceed your expectations, and that was not the case with you and your family.
I already had a brief meeting with the staff in Panajachel, and they told me the problem with the change of prices in the room. I will not make excuses, nor will I explain what happened because the fact is that your experience was least than ok.
Now our only purpose is to invite you to come back, and let us fix what´s already broken. We will take action with all of you comments regarding the room, towels, shampoo and bath gel, and door knob...
Once again I am very sorry I did not hear from this before, but feel free to email me at jackie@posadadedonrodrigo.com, all of your observations and comments are more than welcome, but what we most wish is for a second chance to make things right.

Again we apologize for any incovenience caused by us. We hope to hear from you, and thank you once again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

There's not much to do in Panajachel so it helps to stay at a nice hotel and just enjoy the stunning views across the lake. The hammocks provided a relaxing rainy afternoon and the veranda is perfect for breakfast with full views of the volcanoes. Our room was spacious and comfortable but the bathroom was a little cramped. Staff was nice and friendly and the free internet was a big help.

Room Tip: Get a room with a lake view, it's not to be missed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaPanajache, General Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your review!
First of all thank you for your preference, we definetely hope to have you back soon... We appreciate your review, and we apologize that the bathroom did not meet your requierements, we will take this into consideration since we are planning to renovate some areas. All comments and suggestions are welcome!
Next time you come we hope to serve you as well in Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Antigua.
Thank you once again for your preference!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at La Posada with our kids in a room in the newer wing that faces the lake. The room and bathroom were outdated and dark, which made it seem a bit dirty. A few minor improvements would bring the room closer to expectations for the price—additional lamps in the room, extra blankets and pillows, a newer TV with a remote. The view of the lake and little grassy area outside the room is nice, as is the air conditioning which provides comfort and white noise for sleeping. Overall, the hotel seems committed to the environment so it offers things like ecological liquid handsoap in the bathroom and recycling receptacles. There’s a computer with free internet access and a game room that has seen better days, but still provides fun with ping pong, foosball, and billiards. The grounds of the hotel (including the outdoor corridor with hammocks) are lovely. The pool area is little icky with the smell of garbage coming from nearby and the water was quite cold. Despite some of these negative aspects, the wonderful staff at La Posada won us over. The front desk staff, bellmen, and restaurant staff were extremely welcoming, friendly, and attentive. The examples are many: When we needed to wait for about a half hour upon arrival for our room, we were offered complimentary drinks. When we borrowed the billiard balls from the front desk one evening, a bellman rushed to make sure the lights were on in the game area. When we were attempting to exit the hotel from a side gate that was locked, a restaurant staff member came rushing down to open it for us. When we were rolling our suitcases down the corridor to check-out, a bellman came sprinting across the courtyard to help us. Overall, we found La Posada to be a wonderful place to stay in the heart of Panajachel with adequate comforts and exceptional service.

We ate four breakfasts and one supper at the on-site restaurant--Las Espadas--and were really impressed with the food and service. The orange juice and breakfast items were excellent, especially the fresh corn tortillas (even negritas). The dinner menu is a tad expensive, but we were able to order off the lunch menu late in the evening. The platanos fritos were some of the best we’ve ever had. The service at Las Espadas is exceptional. The wait staff are very personable, extremely attentive, and basically treat customers like royalty. The atmosphere is spacious, pleasant, and comfortable. Live marimba music is played at peak times. Even if you’re not staying at La Posada, this restaurant is worth a visit.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaPanajache, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review!
We are very honored to have all these wonderful comments from you... This is exactly what we are trying to accomplish with all of our staff, to make each client feel extra special.
We will definetely take into consideration all of your observations regarding the rooms, and pool area. This is something we will work on.
Thank you once again for your preference, and hope to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Our guide book said this hotel was 'away from the action' so I expected it to be off the beaten path, which it isn't. In fact, it's right in the lake shore and quite in 'the action.' We stayed in the newer part of the hotel on the lake shore that other reviews have mentioned as being the preferred wing.

Excellent customer service, especially Heidy, who really was concerned that our every need was met. Good breakfast in the morning too!

They say there is free wi-if in the rooms but we had to go upstairs to catch the signal. The only negative was the slightly creepy security camera in the outside bushes aimed into the guest room French windows.

White Listed.

White Listed = I'll Go Back
Black Listed = I'll Never Go Back
Gray Listed = 1 More Chance

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaPanajache, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review!
We are very pleased that your stay at the hotel met your expectations, we feel honored to have such great customers as yourself...
Regarding the security camera, thank you for letting us know the aspect of it... We will try to set it up in another area, this camera is intended to help our security sistem so customers are at ease that everything is well protected.
Thank you once again for your comment and your preference! Hope to serve you soon in the near future.

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A very charming hotel (much quieter that it's sister establishment in Antigua). Staff was wonderful. There was a pool with a huge slide that was a big hit with the kids. The adults watched a spectacular sunset with Gallo beer (a must) and divine guacamole and chips.

Fresh tortilllas at breakfast a big plus - though the eating area for breakfast was .... not too exciting - of course the food generally wasn't too exciting either.

Location is great - felt very safe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaPanajache, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are very sorry to hear that our food did not meet your expectations, if you have any suggestions we are more than happy to hear so we can improve anything.
These reviews are what help establishments such as ours to get better.
Thank you for your preference! Hope to serve in the near future.

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook Island, South Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The location is the best feature of this hotel - sitting at the Sunset bar watching the sun set behind the San Pedro volcano is very special. Fajitas are good in the restaurant, too. The staff are friendly but a few things don't work. It also appears to be something of a party hotel - noise went on most of the night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaPanajache, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are so sorry to hear that there was too much noise at the hotel, we have been working on this issue together with some other businesses since it has been disturbing for a long time know. We hope that on your next visit this will all be a matter of the past. Thank you so much for taking the time to write!

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel

Address: Final Calle Santander, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 hotels in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, quiet, relaxing and unforgetable, these may be the best words to describe your stay at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel. Located one hour and 45 minutes from La Antigua Guatemala and to where we have taken a little piece of La Antigua. Your will sense the change of landscape, but the same atmosphere of cordiality and service that you experienced in La Antigua. With 28 standard rooms and 11 lake view rooms each with breathtaking views, unique and distinct details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada De Don Rodrigo Panajachel Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.