We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel in the middle of town.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dos Mundos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panajachel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Dos Mundos
Save
You added Hotel Dos Mundos to your Saves list
Calle Santander, Panajachel, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Cartersville, Georgia USA
Level Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel in the middle of town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Nice hotel for Central America. Good value. Rooms are back away from the street so are quiet. Best shower I had on all the trip. Flat screen TV but you aren't there to watch TV anyway. Breakfast was nice. Requested eggs over easy and they delivered...few places in Guatemala can do that.

Room Tip: Not sure if there are rooms above registration but would avoid those in favor of the rooms around th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    56
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
29
37
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

It's in a very central location but as many mentioned even though you can't hear the street you can hear all your neighbors. Just hope they go to bed before you.

The bed and pillows have a strange yellow color with some kind of spots, the bathroom i think should smell better if it's really cleaned. We stayed in room 13 and you can't really open windows into the courtyard as people sit right at your window. And you can't open the windows to the outside because you need to remove the curtains.

The concierge said it would take us 20 minutes walk to the Nature Reserve when it was 20 minutes ride on a tuk-tuk so probably 40-50 minutes walk. They also said tuk-tuk costs 10Q per person when local say it's 5Q/person and tuk-tuks just take an advantage of tourists.

the pool is nice and the food is acceptable

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I'm surprised to read that others have not enjoyed this hotel. My son and I and the several other families with whom we traveled loved it! It is centrally located, as others have said. The pool area was perfect for our kids. The restaurant served a delicious traditionally Guatemalan breakfast. Our rooms were spacious and clean. The front desk kindly allowed us to store all of our bags for the day while we traveled to Santa Cruz la Laguna. We actually liked it BETTER than the Posada de Don Rodrigo down the street where we stayed last year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant to find a reasonably modern hotel with large rooms ( double and single bed). No hot water initially but hotel staff addressed quickly. Good location close to lake and plenty of food places and markets nearby. Even had flat panel TV which is the first I'd struck in Guatemala! Not sure about price as travelling with a tour group. Can be a little noisy at night as motorcycles go up the Main Street, but that's the price for the location. Nicely landscaped with seating undercover outside your room also. Quite happy with the hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I can't believe anybody would give this place 5 stars. The pool, landscaping, and restaurant are fine, and it is centrally located in Panajachel, but the rooms are a mess from beginning to end:

- You can literally hear everything outside and next door. Paper thin walls.
- Bathroom is a disgusting joke: shower head caked in god knows what, barely lukewarm water, and toilet seat that won't stay up. Really?
- Nobody that worked here seemed particularly polite or friendly, in sharp contrast to my other experiences traveling through Guatemala.
- Awful pillows
- What is the point of having a nice flatscreen TV when there is no acceptable reception to watch anything on it?
- Harsh lighting in the room
- No ceiling fan or A/C

I would never recommend this place to anyone especially for its cost.

As a side note, I don't know why Lake Atitlan is such a popular tourist destination. It's really nothing special. Sure it's a nice lake with a few volcanoes in the background, but so what? The towns on the lake are tourist traps, and not in a good way. Spend your time in Antigua and at the beautiful ruins at Tikal instead.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Grounds are very nice here. But so much else is wrong. No one at front desk speaks English, so trying to get issues addressed was very difficult with my poor Spanish.

Biggest issue is that walls are PAPER THIN. You can hear everything in adjacent rooms. Everything.

Curtains don't completely close, so difficult to seal out light.

'Hot' water is anything but. Even after complaining, it is tepid at best. Took shower without even turning on cold water.
I still couldn't ignore the mold growing in the shower.

Restaurant breakfast is okay. Location is good.

Room Tip: Bring good earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Compared to the USA the room would be a Motel 6 accommodation. It is located in the center of town. Excellent location. The grounds and pool are excellent. The use of palm trees in the landscaping is very special. The extra water bottle outside the rooms is a very good idea. The breakfasts is complementary. If you like eggs and toast it's okay, but the continental breakfast is not much. The coffee is good.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
28.7 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#14 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#7 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dos Mundos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dos Mundos

Address: Calle Santander, Panajachel, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Dos Mundos Hotel
Dos Mundos Panajachel
Hotel Dos Mundos Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dos Mundos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.