We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - roomy rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dos Mundos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panajachel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Dos Mundos
Save
You added Hotel Dos Mundos to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Santander, Panajachel, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Hobart
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - roomy rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant to find a reasonably modern hotel with large rooms ( double and single bed). No hot water initially but hotel staff addressed quickly. Good location close to lake and plenty of food places and markets nearby. Even had flat panel TV which is the first I'd struck in Guatemala! Not sure about price as travelling with a tour group. Can be a little noisy at night as motorcycles go up the Main Street, but that's the price for the location. Nicely landscaped with seating undercover outside your room also. Quite happy with the hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    48
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
34
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I can't believe anybody would give this place 5 stars. The pool, landscaping, and restaurant are fine, and it is centrally located in Panajachel, but the rooms are a mess from beginning to end:

- You can literally hear everything outside and next door. Paper thin walls.
- Bathroom is a disgusting joke: shower head caked in god knows what, barely lukewarm water, and toilet seat that won't stay up. Really?
- Nobody that worked here seemed particularly polite or friendly, in sharp contrast to my other experiences traveling through Guatemala.
- Awful pillows
- What is the point of having a nice flatscreen TV when there is no acceptable reception to watch anything on it?
- Harsh lighting in the room
- No ceiling fan or A/C

I would never recommend this place to anyone especially for its cost.

As a side note, I don't know why Lake Atitlan is such a popular tourist destination. It's really nothing special. Sure it's a nice lake with a few volcanoes in the background, but so what? The towns on the lake are tourist traps, and not in a good way. Spend your time in Antigua and at the beautiful ruins at Tikal instead.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Grounds are very nice here. But so much else is wrong. No one at front desk speaks English, so trying to get issues addressed was very difficult with my poor Spanish.

Biggest issue is that walls are PAPER THIN. You can hear everything in adjacent rooms. Everything.

Curtains don't completely close, so difficult to seal out light.

'Hot' water is anything but. Even after complaining, it is tepid at best. Took shower without even turning on cold water.
I still couldn't ignore the mold growing in the shower.

Restaurant breakfast is okay. Location is good.

Room Tip: Bring good earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Compared to the USA the room would be a Motel 6 accommodation. It is located in the center of town. Excellent location. The grounds and pool are excellent. The use of palm trees in the landscaping is very special. The extra water bottle outside the rooms is a very good idea. The breakfasts is complementary. If you like eggs and toast it's okay, but the continental breakfast is not much. The coffee is good.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our group of 19 was well served and promptly. Good food. Restaurant decorated in tropical jungle style we experienced first in Chiapas, much appreciated. Did not stay at this hotel, but pool area looked great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troy, MI
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Short distance from the shore, in the middle of the actions, yet back far enough from the street to keep the noise down. The garden is attractive, with a small pool. The restaurant is set back in the garden, and gives a nice atmosphere. Breakfast was decent, with typical egg, bean, toast, and fruit. And was included. Pleasant clean place to stay. We had 3 double bed, but used only 2. Could have slept 6.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel has large airy rooms some of which look out onto a cold water swimming pool. Very few people swam because of the coldness of the water. The gardens are a peaceful sanctuary in the midst of Panajachel.

The hotel website does not mention their rates but we were quoted $340 US for 4 nights. We were a bit surprised that the desk demanded payment in US dollars cash when we arrived despite a Visa and Mastercard sticker on the reception window. Fortunately we did have some dollars on us. When we decided to stay an extra night a different member of staff charged us just 400 Quetzales and allowed us to pay by Visa Card. Q400 Converted as $51US which is a lot cheaper than the $85 charged originally. I wonder if the difference was pocketed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dos Mundos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dos Mundos

Address: Calle Santander, Panajachel, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dos Mundos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Dos Mundos Hotel
Dos Mundos Panajachel
Hotel Dos Mundos Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dos Mundos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.