We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in beautiful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dos Mundos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panajachel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Dos Mundos
Save
You added Hotel Dos Mundos to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Santander, Panajachel, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
San Francisco, Ca
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Took a trip with friends for an overnight stay at Hotel Dos Mundos in the beautiful Lake Atitlan/Panajachel area.

The hotel staff were very nice and the tasty communal evening meal was an outstanding opportunity to meet with other travelers.

This is a great place to go to commune with nature and enjoy the scenery. Highly recommended

Room Tip: One thing to consider is that like many hotels along the lake, the hotel is built up the steep hilly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    48
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
34
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The property was well located, and clean, but overpriced, hard beds, and it's ridiculous to pay $100 and not get a hot shower, then get the run-around as to why (three different stories, one of which was impossible) and no offer of a refund or dispensation to compensate.

Room Tip: The less expensive rooms are quite tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Dos Mundos for 3 nights. I liked this hotel a lot. Clean, quiet, comfortable. The breakfast is very good. I also like La Lanterna, their Italian restaurant on site. I had some delicious house-made pasta and good wine. Staff is very friendly and professional although there is not a lot of English. They understand English but probably prefer not to speak it. Beautiful pool but it was cool when I was there so no swimming for me!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Nice hotel for the price, simple but ample accomodations. The grounds are beautiful, the pool delightful. The food at the restaurant was "adequate" and it was nice being able to eat there after a long trip from Antigua on a van. The only negative thing to say about this hotel, is that the "day" staff spoke no English, it was difficult communicating, however they were pleasant. I had a negative experience with a young man who was selling his wares outside of the hotel lobby. we stayed three nights and he was there all the time, very aggressive and ended up using profanity when I had just "had enough". BIG PROBLEM IN PANAJACHEL.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This was a nice place to be based for one night while visiting Lake Atitlan and Chichicastenango. The room was plenty big enough, the shower was lovely. The pool looked inviting (although it was reportedly quite cold). The food at the restaurant was yum (particularly dinner, breakfast was a little more ordinary; but still good). The wifi seemed plenty strong enough to me.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Tucked away off the main road. Beautiful landscape. The rooms were clean and well kept. Bathrooms were a but small. The service was good. Ate at the cafe onsite. The food was ok, not fabulous. Would stay here again if in the area.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

Quiet and peacefule considering it's location on the main road to the lake. Rooms good size and water reasonably hot. Free wifi that was a little hit and miss. Breakfast ok. Generally a decent mid priced hotel I would stay at again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dos Mundos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dos Mundos

Address: Calle Santander, Panajachel, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dos Mundos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Dos Mundos Hotel
Dos Mundos Panajachel
Hotel Dos Mundos Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dos Mundos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.