We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday destination” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan to your Saves list
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Finca San Buenaventura, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great holiday destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

My wife and I shared one of the two houses (kind of like side-by-side townhouses with a Guatemalan twist) with another couple over the New Year holiday. We found it to be perfect for what we needed - comfortable and safe. The house had two full bedrooms, each with own bath, a living room with fireplace (it gets quite cool at elevation) and a fully functional kitchen. The rooms were clean, the staff were very nice and the grounds were beautiful. We cooked dinner over the grill out back and in the kitchen. It has all needed equipment, although basic (a few pots, plates, etc.). It had a four burner gas range and a full size refrigerator. The staff brought us firewood and even brought our dinner to the house one night when we decided we would rather not be in the restaurant. We found everyone to be polite and professional. They even brought cardboard to our room so we could pack up some purchases from Antigua. We booked by telephone and email and had good communication with Natalia throughout, which was re-assuring. We booked a private boat day trip through the hotel which was cheaper than available on previous trips from Pana and it left from our front door, so no need to drive to town and find parking. They have a wonderful old fashioned sauna with a wood stove and a bucket of water. It is rustic, but certainly works. A little bit of Siberia right in Guatemala!! As it was quite chilly, runs to the pool to cool off from the sauna were particularly refreshing. The pool was clean and did not smell of too much chlorine.

There were a few ants in the bathroom, but only a few. We kept the toiletries in our room and there were no problems. There were no other insects. We did not see safes in the room and the doors/locks seem flimsy, but we felt relatively comfortable leaving all our bags - and there were no problems.

The hotel is about a kilometer outside Pana and probably 2 kilometers to middle of town, so if one does not have a car it is a bit of a hike.

The Hotel Atitlan next door is a lovely, more expensive place, but also has pretty grounds and a giftshop. We went for lunch one day and sat on the colonial feeling covered veranda.

The highrise hotels next door certainly seem out of place in this part of Guatemala. Our house was immediately next door, but there is a fence and bit of jungle so it was no problem at all. Besides, you are always looking at the beautiful scenery - the lake and volcanoes - so you hardly notice the high rises.

As it was high season we paid about $300/night as it was high season - but that was for four people and included breakfast. Agree with other reviewers that it is probably a bit expensive for what one gets, but we were no unhapy to pay that amount for clean, safe, polite, helpful and beautiful. It is rustic and not the kind of place that will ever feel expensive, but that is par tof the charm. We would certainly stay again and will tell our friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    10
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
19
6
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

If you don't require a 5-star experience, this place can offer a reasonably good experience for the price. In this area, you can spend a lot on a nice place or go dirt-cheap and fearing for your safety. Overall, our stay at this hotel was fine. But the manager/owner did rip us off when it came time to check out, charging us in local currency instead of dollars, raising the price and causing us to pay additional foreign exchange charges through our credit card. Other than that, the staff was friendly & helpful, the use of the kayaks was nice (they wouldn't let us borrow the bikes off the grounds, which means they were completely useless). Nice location, if you don't mind a very bumpy ride over the rock road. Oh...did I mention the ants? LOTS of them.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I stayed at the Hotel San Buenaventura for 4 nights in August. I called and got a rate of $50 for a room including breakfast which was better than internet rates that I saw. The hotel is beautiful with simple rooms with Guatemalan rugs, blankets, etc., and lovely well-kept grounds, a pool, hot tub, children's playground and views of the lake with tables, chairs and palapas down by the water. The only drawback is the ugly high-rise next door, but with the beautiful gardens at this hotel it is possible to forget that it is there. The hotel is outside of Pana, next door to the more expensive Hotel Atitlan, so it is ideal for a quiet, restful stay, but only a short 10 quetzales tuk-tuk ride away. The hotel can call for the tuk-tuk and it is there in 10 minutes. I ate breakfast at the hotel and a couple of lunches (no dinners are served) and the food was delicious. All the staff were polite and helpful.
I took the boat to San Juan LaLaguna which is now mentioned in guidebooks, but still retains its traditional appearance with beautiful murals. I remember first visiting when there were no tourists and the children would come up and touch me and try out their English. . Hopefully the increase in tourists is beneficial to this town that suffered so much from hurricane Stan. There are more stores that sell goods from the weaving cooperatives now, artist studios, and a coffee finca that you can visit. i am glad I purchased a traditional painting from Antonio Mendoza years ago. He is one of the better known artists and you can visit his shop on the left up from the boat dock. Find Juan, a tuk-tuk driver who is usually down by the dock, who will give you a tour and then a ride to San Marcos with beautiful views of the lake for 100 quetzales.
Altogether the Buenaventura is a perfect stay especially if you don't have time to stay at one of the smaller villages around the lake, but still want peace and quiet and beautiful lake views.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

We were recommended this place by locals who had stayed multiple times here and raved about it. They were very disappointed in how much it's changed this time. We got a 2 BR suite since there were 4 of us. It had 1 room with 2 double beds and 1 room with 2 single beds. 2 full baths which had toilet paper but no soap, shampoo, etc. so bring your own! The unit we used had not apparently been used in a while. One sliding door kept coming off track and wouldn't close. The fridge didn't work, but freezer was fine. It was dusty and had some cobwebs around, water a little rusty at first, but running it cleared up quickly. There were ants in one of the bedrooms, but there was a can of Raid under the sink, another customer must have left. The water heater was not on, and we had no idea until we happened to walk out the front door and notice what looked like a breaker box outside. When we discovered it was the pilot light we had hot water. It would have been nice to be told when we checked in how to turn it on, or better yet, have it turned on for us when we were shown the room. There were some people next door to us who had no problems with the water heater and said their unit was very nice. When we told management what was wrong, they came and cleaned the room and tried to fix the fridge with no luck. We had to use ice packs in the fridge to keep all the food we brought chilled.
The grounds were beautiful and well kept. The private beach was not there. It was underwater since the last hurricane raised the water level. Not sure if it will go back down since it was last year. The pier was also gone. The pool was pretty but had floaties in the shallow part. There were lots of chairs around and lots of plants gave a little privacy for each set of chairs. Breakfast was included, either eggs OR pancakes.

We paid $240 for the 2 BR unit, which was a bit high. The unit had the basics, nothing fancy, not bad but not $240 worth. That was average for other nicer hotels in the area. A 1 BR was $160 and hotel room was $85. Since we wanted a kitchen and to cook for ourselves we were willing to pay extra for a casita with kitchen, but couldn't use it when we didn't have a working fridge to store our food. The living room was spacious, and dining room also. The table was for 4. Kitchen was spacious and basic, but had dishes, cooking pots, coffee maker, etc. 1 sliding door in the living room and 1 in kitchen opened out to the grassy lawn (no patio). We had a pretty view of the lake.

Bottom line, it is fine, as long as you don't need to be spoiled with room service and fancy decor. If you're going to cook for yourself, the casitas are fine, but a little pricey for being so simple. If you want luxury and to be spoiled and have good management, go elsewhere. We found other hotels in the area for the same prices for hotel rooms only, not little houses, but they were nicer. So you have to decide whether you want the roomy casita or the fancier hotel room. The only thing unacceptable at this place was not being able to get assistance when needed. There was nothing in the unit with directions/prices for the phone so when we discovered the fridge/water problem we could not call the desk, and there was no one in the office later in the evening. It was locked up with no door bell, and no way to get hold of a soul until breakfast.

The hotel is near a natural reserve where you can hike, etc. There are gardens next door at the fancy Hotel Atitlan as well. It is just outside of town, where there are lots of places to eat and shop about 1/2 mile or so away.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riveradellago, Owner at Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Unfortunately, the arrival of this guest was handled by a new employee at our reception desk who put the guest in a unit without arranging a maintenance inspection beforehand. The complaint about the conditions was directed to reception, but the same employee failed to notify the management when the refrigerator couldn´t be immediately repaired. Certainly if the guest had insisted that management be notified, the refrigerator would have been replaced. This was a transitional problem that has since been resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

when you get a gut feeling like something is not right.... trust it

when you think something is too good to be true....it is

when someone speaks to you rudely......you can expect the same treatment the next time they speak to you

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riveradellago, Owner at Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
It is difficult to respond to bad reviews that lack specific substance. However, management at our hotel has been trained to be aware of guest-employee relations and to do it´s best to correct any lack of courtesy. We are not aware of any complaint made in this case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

The hotel is situated right by the Nature Reserve and on the shore of Lake Atitlan. The location couldnt be better for a quiet, romantic get away (Pana is a 5 min tuk tuk ride away). Rooms are spacious, well kept and u can always get one of the suits which are also very good value for money given their size.

Polite and helpful staff, good food and a very relaxed atmosphere make this a very good place to stay at.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed in a large suite with another couple, 2 bedrooms kitchen the staff was excellent, the accommodations clean, and comfortable. We only had breakfast in the restaurant but it was very good. I feel for the space comfort the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan

Address: Finca San Buenaventura, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Buenaventura De Atitlan Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.