We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Partially disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atitlan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Atitlan to your Saves list
Hotel Atitlan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Finca San Buenaventura, Panajachel | Solola Lago de Atitlan, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Partially disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The garden is the nicest part. If you are unlucky, they put you in a rather oldfashioned, dark room - e.g. without depositbox.

The Restaurant is disapointing for vegetarians. We had the worst French onion soup ever and this in a country where wonderful onions are grown. The other vegetarian dish had a nice Name - which we forgot - for a type of Hamburger. We could not finish it. After this we have not eaten cheese for more than a week.

On Weekends you may have local events, like marriages, with loud music longer than midnight.

Room Tip: Try to get a Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    142
    36
    14
    21
See reviews for
102
190
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

After reading some of the mixed reviews here on tripadvisor, I was hesitant about staying at this hotel. But I'm glad I did. The building and grounds are absolutely beautiful. The location is hard to beat, with great views of the lake and volcano. My room was spacious, very clean, quiet, and had a spectacular view of the lake, which I didn't realize until I woke up in the morning and drew the curtains to a great sunrise. The fun thing about this hotel too is exploring the different gardens, full of flowers, birds, etc. The lobby area, with the bar, restaurant, and shop are also exquisite. We had a delicious meal there too!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

What views from your room and the pool area. The Buffet meals and lunch were excellent with first class service. Rooms were older but still had so much class and what a view from your balcony. The grounds are very large with so many different walkways with different varieties of plants. They also have Toucans, Parrots, Macaws, White Peacock, and others. They let the Macaws out during the day and they fly around the grounds. Noticed that the dinnerware and some blankets were made in USA; go figure. Nice lounge bar with decent prices. Another couple took a hike in a private park in back of hotel for 6-7 dollars with waterfalls and bridges.There is also Zip lining there for a extra cost. Town of Panajachel with many fine restaurants and a much more relaxed shopping experience then Santiago Atitlan, is a few miles away. This is paradise.

Room Tip: Stay on second floor for the best views of the lake and grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Vista, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Beautiful surroundings in a spectacular area of Guatemala. No one could have anticipated such a setting when traveling to get there. Definitely worth a revisit. The grounds are meticulously maintained, the lake is breathtaking surrounded by volcanoes. The climatic conditions are also perfect, no high humidity and high 70s to low 80s in January.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is an older hotel but well maintained. The grounds have exceptional gardens and the entire property is well maintained. The restaurant is excellent but most of all the views from this location are among the most spectacular in the world. This is not an exaggeration. Additionally, this hotel is a few minutes away from Panajachel which is important for quiet serenity.

Room Tip: Go to the second or third floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson Falls
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

One of the most beautiful hotels that I have stayed in. The grounds were gorgeous with manicured gardens and beautiful birds. The views were wonderful of the lake and volcanos. The food was excellent. The rooms are individually decorated. Wonderful service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Spent 2 nights at Hotel Atitlan and enjoyed every minute of it. The hotel is set on the shore of Lake Atitlan, about a five minute tuk tuk ride from Pana. We were so happy that we selected Hotel Atitlan and did not stay in Pana, which we found to be rather chaotic. The hotel is beautiful, with amazingly beautiful gardens and walkways throughout the resort property. We had a room on the third floor with gorgeous views of the lake and volcanoes. Perfect! We found the front desk staff to be business-like. The waitstaff was very friendly, and the meals were all delicious, although one of the buffet breakfasts had food that had sat for too long and wasn't hot. The first day it was hot, but not on the 2nd day. Noticed someone at the end of the buffet line after we had finished our breakfast, and they were ordering some eggs. Wish we had thought to do the same, as on the first day, we had delicious scrambled eggs. On day 2, there were cold omellettes. Anyway, friendly waiters/waitresses, delicious coffee, too. We had dinner there both nights, and all of the entrees we ordered were delicious. We traveled independently, but there were a couple of bus tours there, which seemed to liven things up. The hotel has a fantastic bar area, and there is a nice terrace for dining overlooking the lake. The pool was very cold, but the infinity hot tub was great! Definitely recommended. One morning we had a tour guide (Domingo from Tornado's Excursions) pick us up in his boat right at the hotel dock. We toured three villages with him, and had a fantastic day. Highly recommended!
We also walked to the Atitlan Nature Reserve which is very close to the hotel. They had lots of hiking trails, hanging bridges, a butterfly room, coatis, monkeys, ziplining, etc. A fun way to spend an afternoon.
Hotel Atitlan is the best place to stay on the lake if you're looking for something near (but not in) Pana.

Room Tip: I had read that Room 315 was the only Standard Room on the third floor, so I requested it, and was d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panajachel
29.1 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#14 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
2.2 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#6 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
4.2 mi away
Villa Santa Catarina
Villa Santa Catarina
#11 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#8 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atitlan

Address: Finca San Buenaventura, Panajachel | Solola Lago de Atitlan, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Panajachel
#3 Business Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Atitlan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nominated by Travel + Leisure; "World's Best Awards 2011".This charming hacienda-style hotel is a formerworking coffee farm situated on the shores of Lake Atitlan, with a picture perfect view of volcanoes San Pedro, Toliman and Atitlan. Highlighting numerous unique Guatemalan traditions with its colorful and vibrant interior, each room is individually decorated with hand-woven fabrics and carpets, handcrafted furniture, paintings and tile floors. All rooms have private balconies and breathtaking views of the lake. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi overlook the entire lake and the hotel's magnificent wedding, tropical and rose gardens. The Botanical Gardens of Hotel Atitlan are a true garden lover's paradise. Bird-watching is a popular pastime within its botanical gardens. Enjoy a cocktail or a refreshing tea from the selection of tea infusions by the fire in the hotel's bar, and dine in an elegant setting where you will savor regional and international cuisine. You can't miss this beautiful Hotel!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Atitlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atitlan Hotel Panajachel
Hotel Atitlan Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atitlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.