We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort away from the chaos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atitlan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Atitlan to your Saves list
Hotel Atitlan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Finca San Buenaventura, Panajachel | Solola Lago de Atitlan, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort away from the chaos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The Hotel Atitlan is a resort type property about 1 mile from the hectic downtown area of Panajachel. Its location is both good (away from the noise and along the lake) and bad (you need to get to and from the city). The rooms are very nice and all have balconies/patios facing the lake and volcanoes although many rooms have trees and foliage blocking the view. Our room (201) had a perfect view but was right above the main walkway and next to the public areas. The rooms themselves were adequate but the bedding was bad. Very hard beds and pillows were a definite negative. Service was up and down. One desk clerk was fabulous and helpful, the other was rude and unhelpful. Service in the restaurant was very good. The pool and jacuzzi along the lake was a great place to relax. Some publications may say you can walk to town (less than 1 mile) but that is really not true. It is a hilly and dusty walk and I wouldn't recommend it. The good news - the tuc-tuc ride to town costs only $2.50 (two people) and the rides are always available. I would recommend this hotel because it is away from the hectic noise of downtown Panajachel but it would be better if the bedding was more comfortable and they focused a little more on service. Two emails to the hotel have never been answered. Also, the lack of an included breakfast makes it a little more pricey. One very good thing that we took advantage of - if you stay at this hotel and their sister property in Antigua (Dona Leonor) you get a 15-20% discount on both room costs.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor for a better room. You might want to look at the room to see i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    143
    36
    14
    21
See reviews for
103
190
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dawsonville, Ga
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We spent three nights at Hotel Atitlan to give us a base from which to tour Lake Atitlan for two days. The hotel is 5 minutes, or so, by tuc-tuc or taxi to Panajachel, and not staying in "Pana", after seeing it, was fine with us.
We chose a second floor room in the old section so we could leave the balcony door open at night. And NO bugs.The views of the lake and lakeside gardens were perfect, and we were close to the restaurant, bar, pool and reception area. We had all of our breakfasts and dinners at the hotel. Even though the menu was somewhat limited, the food was well prepared, professionally served and enjoyable., especially on the patio over looking the pool and lake.
We had no complaints about our room. It was a decent size, well maintained and clean. The public areas were nicely decorated and well maintained. The gardens were spectacular with many varieties or orchids and other flowers in bloom, peacocks strutting around, and other exotic birds in cages or sitting on their perches. This area, too, was well maintained and worthy a walk or two. The hotel staff was friendly, very helpful, professional, and most spoke English.
We highly recommend Hotel Atitlan if you are planning to spend some time visiting the villages around the lake and if you are looking for a little peace and quiet afterwards.

Jim and Frida Murray

Room Tip: Second floor in the old section will give you a great view of the gardens and lake, privacy and a sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The hotel starts out by discounting US dollars by 6.25%. If you cash in a $100 you get 750Q, the equivalent of $93.75. There is no air conditioning or fans in the rooms, and there are little bugs that byte and the bytes itch for about a week. Some of the staff are helpful, but they take their sweet time to get around to anything.

The hotel is about a kilometer outside the town, the last 200 meters over a dirt road. A taxi is recommended for going into town.

The room is clean, the grounds are spectacular as is the view.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Great views and lovely grounds but .... No air conditioning, bug bites . no fan in room, and rip off exchange rates. Pay for a drink in dollars and they will not give change in dollars. Complained to manager who explained they give "hotel exchange rate".

Room Tip: I do not know if some rooms have air conditioning or fans but 107 does not
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We've stayed here once a year for 6 years. I am happy to say they are no longer charging for internet which was an issue for us on our last visit and review. The gardens continue to be spectacular and the views are breath taking as the hotel is located on the lake and even has its own dock. The rooms are in the Spanish colonial style with ethnic touches from Mexico and Guatemala to add colour and interest. Our room was a suite that we paid dearly for and it did not wow us in the least. The standard rooms are similar with the exception of the fireplace that we did not need or use. The metal bed frame in our room, 308, was unattractive and seemed out of place, the pillows were skinny foam ones, the tub grouting had mould and the ancient TV not in a location that you could comfortably watch. We have been huge fans of the hotel in the past but as it starts to become neglected we are looking closer at the overall service. Front desk staff try hard and are fluent in English. The restaurant staff are slow, inattentive and disorganized. We sat by the pool for brunch and were eaten alive by no see-ums. When I asked for some repellant I was told they sell it in the gift shop - this is not the right response. The gift shop has an outstanding collection of clothing, jewelry, hats, housewares - all representing parts of Guatemala. Just know that while the hotel's proximity to Pana has it's pluses, there are many other Posadas and Casas around the lake that are better quality.

Room Tip: Do not waste money on a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Hotel Atitlan is a nature-lovers paradise. The gardens are magnificent and every room has a spectacular view of the lake and surrounding volcanoes. Bird life abounds on the hotel grounds. The hotel is filled with wonderful antiques and Mayan art. It is like stepping back into a bygone century filled with romance and wonder.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stay here to soak up the view from dawn till dusk, biggish hotel, had breakfast only- lots of fruit and eggs, frijoles and some Germanic tasting sausages. 15min walk out of Panajachel. Staff not particularly forthcoming, the reason it gets a very good rating is it's unbeatable location

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panajachel
29.1 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#14 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
2.2 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#6 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
4.2 mi away
Villa Santa Catarina
Villa Santa Catarina
#11 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#7 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atitlan

Address: Finca San Buenaventura, Panajachel | Solola Lago de Atitlan, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Panajachel
#3 Business Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Atitlan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nominated by Travel + Leisure; "World's Best Awards 2011".This charming hacienda-style hotel is a formerworking coffee farm situated on the shores of Lake Atitlan, with a picture perfect view of volcanoes San Pedro, Toliman and Atitlan. Highlighting numerous unique Guatemalan traditions with its colorful and vibrant interior, each room is individually decorated with hand-woven fabrics and carpets, handcrafted furniture, paintings and tile floors. All rooms have private balconies and breathtaking views of the lake. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi overlook the entire lake and the hotel's magnificent wedding, tropical and rose gardens. The Botanical Gardens of Hotel Atitlan are a true garden lover's paradise. Bird-watching is a popular pastime within its botanical gardens. Enjoy a cocktail or a refreshing tea from the selection of tea infusions by the fire in the hotel's bar, and dine in an elegant setting where you will savor regional and international cuisine. You can't miss this beautiful Hotel!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Atitlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atitlan Hotel Panajachel
Hotel Atitlan Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atitlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.