We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience Ruined By Music From Neighboring Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atitlan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Atitlan to your Saves list
Hotel Atitlan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Finca San Buenaventura, Panajachel | Solola Lago de Atitlan, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Experience Ruined By Music From Neighboring Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This hotel was extremely disappointing because we weren't able to sleep due to a four-day music festival happening on the property next to the hotel. A neighbor hotel ran the music festival and Hotel Atitlan told us that they called the police to got them to turn down the music but nothing happened. The music was incredibly loud each night, so loud that there was no chance of sleeping. It was really a terrible experience. This is my vacation time and I was hoping to get away and relax. Instead, I spent a lot of money and had a miserable experience because I couldn't sleep. On my last night in the hotel, I figured out that it was pretty quiet in the bathroom so I slept on the bathroom floor. That was my best night in the hotel.

It was not the hotels fault directly; the neighbors of the hotel that hosted the music festival were very rude to allow music to be played that loud. However, when I talked to management about the terrible time I was having, they just tried to say its not our fault and there is nothing they could do. They didn't try to accommodate me or give me a discount. I find this especially frustrating in light of the fact that this is not the first year the festival has gone on. The hotel should have, at the very least, warned guests when reservations were made that this music festival would be going on.

I would give this hotel a 3 if it weren't for the awful time I had there because I couldn't sleep and the fact that the management didn't seem concerned about my experience, they just wanted to say it wasn't there fault. The bottom line is that I had a very bad experience in their hotel and they didn't even try to solve the problem or make me feel better. The food at the hotel was also pretty bad, plus my friend got sick a few hours after a meal and had diarrhea for two days afterwards. Unfortunately that does happen from time to time when traveling in other countries. The service at meals was bad, but we found that the service was pretty bad throughout the country. The gym is very run down, had very little equipment, and the machines shook when you used them. The hotel location and gardens are beautiful, it’s a shame I could have had a really nice time.

Room Tip: Dont come during the convergence music festival
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    133
    33
    13
    20
See reviews for
96
178
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hotel sits on a beautiful piece of property, surrounded by lush gardens with stunning views of the volcano-ringed lake. The bar and dining room open onto the patio surrounding a gorgeous pool and jacuzzi that provide an excellent place to watch the sunset. The rooms have lovely balconies or terraces furnished with chairs from which to enjoy views of the garden and lake. Unfortunately, the rooms themselves are very basic. Our smallish room had two rather uncomfortable double beds with scratchy linens, a nightstand, a chair and a dresser on which an antiquated TV sat. There was no mini-bar or ice bucket to facilitate drinks on the lovely terrace. Only the most basic amenities were provided in the bathroom, perhaps because it had a stall shower with beautiful pink granite tile but no good place to put soap, shampoo, etc. We were here just two nights and spent most of our time exploring the lovely grounds, Panajachel and the lake, so these deficiencies did not really bother us. It would great, however, if the guest rooms and their furnishings were upgraded to a level equivalent to the beautiful location in which they sit.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a long way from the entry, bar and dining room, and there is not elevator, so check o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This hotel is situated in the most beautiful bay on the lake, with stunning views of the volcanoes and wonderful and well kept gardens to walk around. The buildings are really nicely laid out and appointed. The rooms our rooms were also well thought out, spacious and decorated.

Sadly the plusses of the hotel are offset by the food and drink. The food is british hotel fare circa 1980… boiled veg and tired meat on cold plates. Trying to be something it is not rather than just well cooked local basics. The drinks are also to creative… a mojito is a mojito… it does not need creme de menthe in it.

The sister hotel in Antigua had really great food so maybe they should just compare notes to make them both first class. Although the Palacio Dona Lenore had no hot water which let it down.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We traveled as a family of four (with two kids under 10). Fabulous views of the volcanoes surrounding Lake Atitlan. Beautiful gardens, gorgeous swimming pool and jacuzzi, pretty birds, nice artwork all over the hotel. I was so glad we stayed here rather than in the heart of Panajanchel. We were able to hire a private boat to take us right from the hotel dock to a couple of the small towns on the other side of the lake. The Atitlan Nature Reserve, which we also enjoyed, is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. We found the food and service to be great. I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I can't review the rooms or the hotel stay. My review is based on coming here to hear music performed by friends. While they played, I sat in the bar to listen. I had to go up to the bar to order--while the wait staff took orders from everyone around me, they ignored me completely.

While on his break, my friend generously went to the bar to ask about appetizers on my behalf. The bartender was so rude, I nearly walked out. I stayed and made a game out of how long it might take for the staff to take my order. Way too long.

The grounds here are beautiful. The view of the lake is beautiful. The restaurant and bar were lovely and beautifully decorated for Christmas. Too bad the rude and non-attentive staff had to ruin the experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The location is spectacular. There is a view of the 3 volcanos. The grounds are beautiful. There are many areas to explore with fountains and places to sit. The have many birds including scarlet macaws roaming free and toucans in a cage. There were several cages with smaller birds. The restaurant was excellent. There are boats close by to explore the villages around the lake. Panajachel is a nice village a short distance away. There is a botanical garden with hiking trail right at the entrance to the hotel grounds. The rooms are a little dated but who cares with the spectacular views and grounds.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The location is simply stunning. The outdoors are amazing. The gardens, the pool area, the jacuzzi, simply terrific! The restaurant is also very good!

The rooms however, for a hotel of this class, need some TLC. The beds and all are ok and the rooms are somewhat clean. The TV is very old and not in the best location, the wifi has to be paid for each device, not enough towels in the room, curtains that are white and transparent which for sleeping is kind of tricky, pillows are not that comfortable.. and simple little details that could make life easier for a hotel of this class in Panajachel.

The service is good and they do try to help although they are not very flexible..

That said, it is 100% recommended for all the "good" it does have.

Room Tip: Specifically request rooms with a view. If it's ground floor you will have a patio, if it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atitlan

Address: Finca San Buenaventura, Panajachel | Solola Lago de Atitlan, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Atitlan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nominated by Travel + Leisure; "World's Best Awards 2011".This charming hacienda-style hotel is a formerworking coffee farm situated on the shores of Lake Atitlan, with a picture perfect view of volcanoes San Pedro, Toliman and Atitlan. Highlighting numerous unique Guatemalan traditions with its colorful and vibrant interior, each room is individually decorated with hand-woven fabrics and carpets, handcrafted furniture, paintings and tile floors. All rooms have private balconies and breathtaking views of the lake. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi overlook the entire lake and the hotel's magnificent wedding, tropical and rose gardens. The Botanical Gardens of Hotel Atitlan are a true garden lover's paradise. Bird-watching is a popular pastime within its botanical gardens. Enjoy a cocktail or a refreshing tea from the selection of tea infusions by the fire in the hotel's bar, and dine in an elegant setting where you will savor regional and international cuisine. You can't miss this beautiful Hotel!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Atitlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atitlan Hotel Panajachel
Hotel Atitlan Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atitlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.