We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atitlan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Atitlan to your Saves list
Hotel Atitlan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Atitlan, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel has the most incredible views! It is just beautiful. We stayed two nights in room 223 which had an amazing view of the lake and volcano. The grounds are beautifully maintained and as you walk through the hotel, they have beautiful statues and decorations. We ate the buffet breakfast each morning for about $15, which included an omelet and egg station, and it kept us full until dinner. Internet is free in the lobby and $10 for your entire stay in your room. There is a nature reserve next door where you could spend several hours walking around. Hotel is clean and the staff very professional and pleasant. This hotel spoiled us for others we visited during our week in Guatemala.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    117
    29
    11
    18
See reviews for
84
159
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Beautiful hotel right by the lake Atitlan, great accommodations and location. Excellent location, outside hustle and bustle of downtown Panajachel. Highly recommend it. Incredible views of the lake and the volcanoes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The gardens here are groomed to perfection, there are birds in aviaries, a pool and jacuzzi, and our room looked out to the lake and volcanoes. Sunset from the bar was sublime in delicate shades of pink and blue. There is a nature reserve up the road as well which we enjoyed and we never did get back to Panajachel after the first visit. It seemed everything we wanted was at the hotel. I got laundry done at the hotel and it was the most expensive of my trip around Central America! The staff in the restaurant were not very attentive and provided slow service but reception was very efficient. I was concerned about the treatment I saw of some stray cats near the restaurant. I hope they were either better tolerated or humanely dealt with, not attacked by the large guard dog on site.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

You can feel the pride and the love that has been put into Hotel Atitlan over the years. The gardens, rooms and grounds are tended to perfection are a perfect compliment to the incredible scenery. The food is excellent in the restaurant and the doting staff are very professional. We would have liked to stay longer. There is always next time. Thank you for some great memories!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

If you are a nature lover, please try seating down inside the jacuzzi at sunset with the lake and volcanoes as a view. You will love the sight. Rooms are beautifully decorated, clean, amazing service and a helipad in case you don't want to drive to Atitlan. There are losts of birds on the premises to take pictures and you can organize a boat tour of the lake from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors so you can see the sunset or sunrise from a better position. Thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

After staying at Palacio del Dona Leonora we came to this sister hotel at Lake Atitlan. A beautiful location on the lake surrounded by beautiful botanical gardens. Our room had a balcony overlooking the lake and the pool. Great pool and hot tub. The owner of these two hotels was a very gracious hostess. We happened to be there on her father's 91st birthday. Beautiful birds in aviaries on the grounds. Food was great and service was excellent. We had a warm and welcoming feeling like part of the family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izegem, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a very good hotel.The location is beautiful. The gardens and swimming pool are great and clean
The rooms are nice in size and are also clean.
The food was very tasty, able to eat outside was a treat for the eye (so much beauty.).From it hotel we where able to take a lovely boat trip around the lake.
I do recommend this hotel for the beauty and the peaceful place

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atitlan

Address: Lake Atitlan, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Panajachel
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Atitlan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nominated by Travel + Leisure; "World's Best Awards 2011".This charming hacienda-style hotel is a formerworking coffee farm situated on the shores of Lake Atitlan, with a picture perfect view of volcanoes San Pedro, Tolimán and Atitlan. Highlighting numerous unique Guatemalan traditions with its colorful and vibrant interior, each room is individually decorated with hand-woven fabrics and carpets, handcrafted furniture, paintings and tile floors. All rooms have private balconies and breathtaking views of the lake. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi overlook the entire lake and the hotel’s magnificent wedding, tropical and rose gardens. The Botanical Gardens of Hotel Atitlán are a true garden lover’s paradise. Bird-watching is a popular pastime within its botanical gardens. Enjoy a cocktail or a refreshing tea from the selection of tea infusions by the fire in the hotel’s bar, and dine in an elegant setting where you will savor regional and international cuisine. You can’t miss this beautiful Hotel!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Atitlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atitlan Hotel Panajachel
Hotel Atitlan Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atitlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.