We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rustic, with views to die for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atitlan

Save Saved
You added Hotel Atitlan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Atitlan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Atitlan, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 hotels in Panajachel
rochester, ny
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“rustic, with views to die for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Lovely hotel on the shores of Lake Atitlan. The gardens are lush and extensive. Views of the volcanoes are perfect. Enjoyed the restaurant and lounge. About a two minute walk to nature preserve and zipline.

Room Tip: Room on upper floor with good view of lake and volcanoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    111
    29
    11
    18
See reviews for
81
149
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel and gardens are just stunning (the view from the restaurant which overlooks the pool area, onto the lake and volcano is just beautiful). The rooms were large and clean and once again, the view from our balcony was incredible...we slept with the curtains open so we could wake up to that view. The staff were helpful and friendly, and despite other reviews, I thought the food was excellent and not over priced. Loved the infinity hot tub with the lake & volcano view. The wifi is free in the restaurant & bar but $10 for access in the room (not per day, but per stay...so no big deal). The hotel is out of town a bit-you could walk it but with the big hill and not much room to walk on the side of the road, we just used the Hotel's tuk tuk...at less than $3 for both of us, certainly worth it--and it was easy to catch one back as well--same price. The grounds, the flowers, the birds, the parrots, it was like walking in paradise. We loved it and will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second or third floor to have the best views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I am enjoying a three nights stay at this fantastic property. Certainly is unique in the world: exquisite taste for decoration, great rooms (specially the Master Suite 222 and the room next door 223).They have an spectacular view of this amazing landscape. The gardens are perfectly manicured and are a delight for bird watchers. In November through January the temperature could be as low as 50 F in the evenings but as high as 85 F by noon. Sunny mornings with clear blue skies and a bit cloudy in the afternoon. The food in the Hotel's restaurant is excellent and prices are fare considering the size of the meals, quality and service. If you want to enjoy a culinary experience of the typical Guatemalan food: Kack Ik (served only on Saturdays and Sundays) is to die for and if you want a description look for it in the Internet.

Room Tip: All rooms are splendid, some have a view to the volcanoes and other rooms to the beautiful gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medinah, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

What a nice and beautiful place to stay there. I came here with my family and fell in love with the area and its surroundings. The hotel and rooms were clean and the service was excellent. For the price, I would have expected the accommodations to be a little more modern and the rooms to be more up to date, but I guess you are paying for the majestic scenery. The bartender was the best and spent much time with us talking about the local culture, the people, the history of the area and the hotel. We were treated as royalty. May I suggest this to be a great place for romance??? :) I am going in my second honeymoon there!!

Room Tip: If you want the best view possible, ask for rooms in the 3rd floor towards the end of the hall, anyt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We really enjoyed spending two nights at this hotel. The pool and hot tub were very warm and the kids could have spent all night there. The hotel is outside the main town and is very quiet with beautiful gardens. We found the restaurant to have good food, however service at the restaurant and poolside was extremely slow. We had to ask multiple times for pool towels as well.

Room Tip: There was no view of the lake from our first floor room, not a deal breaker for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

My understanding is that the hotel started in the 60s. However, they have made recent upgrades, in particular, the bathrooms looked like they were newly tiled. There are not enough outlets to charge my electronics. The view from our room is picture perfect. Overlooking the lake and the volcano. The room did not have ac but we did not need it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We wanted to visit the majesty of Lake Atitlan. It is like living in a picture. Panajachel is a cute town, but it is like one big artisan shop so we were very glad to just stay at the resort and enjoy the lake and volcanoes. The pools were warm. The hot tub was huge and it was an infinity hot tub! The food at the restaurant was delicious and gourmet. We especially enjoyed walking around the botanical gardens and just relaxing poolside. Our two young kids had a wonderful weekend playing and being free to run around. My son really loved playing chess on the grass using a life size chess set! Very cool! They have a really lovely bar for sitting and enjoying a beverage in the evening. They had a wedding there, but it was away from the main grounds and didn't affect our stay at all! The rooms are very clean. They have nice shampoo, conditioner, and soap. Every room has a view of the lake. The staff is friendly and they were accommodating of our late departure. I can't stress enough the beauty of their gardens and the vastness of the property. It was an easy walk into town contrary to other reviews. My kids had no problem walking. We only did this once, however, because we wanted the tranquility of the resort for the weekend. I highly recommend this hotel while at Lake Atitlan! Some might think it pricey, but you are paying for the views, the amenities, and the cleanliness...sometimes hard to find in small towns here. And if you are only there a couple nights anyway, it is the way to go. The only negative is that the rooms get a bit warm at night. A ceiling fan would add a lot. But all hotels are warm there and not always as clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atitlan

Address: Lake Atitlan, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 hotels in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Atitlan 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nominated by Travel + Leisure; "World's Best Awards 2011".This charming hacienda-style hotel is a formerworking coffee farm situated on the shores of Lake Atitlan, with a picture perfect view of volcanoes San Pedro, Tolimán and Atitlan. Highlighting numerous unique Guatemalan traditions with its colorful and vibrant interior, each room is individually decorated with hand-woven fabrics and carpets, handcrafted furniture, paintings and tile floors. All rooms have private balconies and breathtaking views of the lake. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi overlook the entire lake and the hotel’s magnificent wedding, tropical and rose gardens. The Botanical Gardens of Hotel Atitlán are a true garden lover’s paradise. Bird-watching is a popular pastime within its botanical gardens. Enjoy a cocktail or a refreshing tea from the selection of tea infusions by the fire in the hotel’s bar, and dine in an elegant setting where you will savor regional and international cuisine. You can’t miss this beautiful Hotel!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Hotel Atitlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atitlan Hotel Panajachel
Hotel Atitlan Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atitlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.