We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great garden, average hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atitlan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Atitlan to your Saves list
Hotel Atitlan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Finca San Buenaventura, Panajachel | Solola Lago de Atitlan, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Norfolk, UK
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
137 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
534 helpful votes 534 helpful votes
“Great garden, average hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

The review below from Frenchtouchfrance is largely accurate. This is a rather difficult hotel to assess because it has two absolutely stunning virtues - the garden and the wider setting, both extravagantly beautiful, making this a destination hotel.

The amazing garden, largely the creation of the hotel’s owner, an American named Sue, is evidently modeled on the classic English cottage garden - the preponderance of perennials and many roses imported from David Austin - as well as more elaborate gardens like Hidcote and Sissinghurst, as evidenced by its division into ‘rooms’ and the neatly clipped box borders and topiary. We congratulated her on it and she said how indulgent she was with it, even hiring eight full-time gardeners to constantly clip, weed, mow etc. Within this immaculately maintained garden are literally hundreds of birds. It is without doubt one of the finest hotel gardens we have ever seen and, contrary to the report below, it is lit at night.

Beyond the garden is the lake itself, a sublime landscape of water, hills and volcanoes. You just spend hours gazing at it, photographing it, as the light and clouds perform a daily dance. You must stay here at least three days to allow for the climate to work its magic. Stay for just a night, you might see nothing except mist. We saw it under all conditions, ranging from mist to bright Technicolor sunshine. It is magical.

Now, the hotel. We had already stayed elsewhere on the lake at Casa Palopo (qv) which might enjoy an even better view, though we had serious misgivings about that hotel, too. The Hotel Atitlan isn’t a boutique place at all; it’s a solid 3-star tourist class hotel that caters to coach parties and other large groups. In some respects, it could be a chain motel - the rooms are a bit dark and gloomy and need brightening up. The two queen-sized beds take up far too much space. The bathrooms work but also need replacing.

The rooms are laid out in one long, angled wing. Our was 215 which had a great view. I would recommend rooms 205-215 or 305-315 for the best views. Higher numbers are slightly newer rooms but don’t have quite the same view. Ground floor rooms lack privacy and views. The end of the wing has some nice-looking suites. There is a singularly ugly collection of tower blocks alongside the hotel but they don’t intrude that much.

Downstairs, the large restaurant is a bit institutional. Service was always hit-and-miss and the food was, well, let’s be kind and call it uninspiring. It was package tour food, though they only laid on a buffet once in the three nights we were there. An early morning coffee station in the lobby would be a plus as rooms lack their own facilities. Staff were usually friendly, though one front desk chap was rather surly. Prices are quite high and might be considered a rip-off by some who don’t value the garden as much as we did. We also think TripAdvisor’s price guide of $120 is a way-off - average room rates are much higher than that, say $200 a night.

Our stay included a Wednesday and Thursday when the hotel emptied out - presumably because most people headed off to the market at Chichicastenango, a trip we opted out of, and were glad that we did since we had this blissful garden and lake almost to ourselves.

The nearby town, Panajachel, seemed a bit grotty to us.

  • Liked — The garden, the lakeside setting
  • Disliked — Mass market rooms and restaurant
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    130
    33
    12
    20
See reviews for
94
176
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
france
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights ,we had two rooms adjacent
our 3 children were in the other room, but the door to communicate was closed and it was impossible during the entire stay to obtain a key to open it .
We asked a baby cote for our smaller baby 1 year old. They charged us 20 us$ /night with not even one sheet on it .
When we want to use internet they were asking 10$/day for wifi.
The rooms are depressing dating from the 80's: the bathroom is nothing just a sink in the entrance and then a shower in the toilet area, the room is dark, the two double beds look more like two twin beds. Thegeneral atmosphere in the room is not nice and comfortable.
We had breakfast and we were not charge the same price every morning .
The receptionist were only professional and when we met the owner or some managers and we did not get a smile or a hello .
Everything is just business, and business .
You also need to be aware that the hotel is quite a distance from the village and each time that you will need to go there they will charge you 40 queztal and sometines you have to wait quite a while to get their taxi .
Beside all this, the garden is very well maintained , the view is stunning , the swimming pools are very nice , especially the jacuzzi but children under the age 15 years old are not authorised in the jacuzi wich is the only one heated !!
At night that's really too bad, they don't light this magnificent garden, they must save money !!
In fact the location is great , the food is ok , not fantastic , the service is professional and not charming , the view is amazing , the rooms ( at least the ones that we had )are not nice and very noisy between each other .
We could have been very well in this hotel if we had a kind of welcome , but don't expect this here they are just running after your money .There is lack of generosity

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — a lot of things
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

You will read many, many positive reviews about this hotel, but they won't be able to paint a picture of exactly how beautiful it is. The setting on the lake, the views, and the lush, huge, manicured gardens all make your stay worthwhile. Add to that the fact that the service is excellent and the food in the restaurant is also quite good. The rooms are quite comfortable and large. We were supposed to stay 2 days, but changed our travel plans to add another day. DOn't even think of staying anywhere else in Pana.

  • Liked — the physical setting
  • Disliked — the room was clean and acceptable, but it needs a bit of renovation
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Felipe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2008

A room with a wood burning fireplace and a view over the most beautiful lake in Guatemala.
A restaurant serving excellent food and the best onion soup this side of Toulouse.
Excellent cocktails served in the jacuzzi on the terrace.
And a garden that contains a complete gamut of both tropical and temperate plants and flowers.
Looking forward to going back.

  • Liked — The open fire in the room and the gardens
  • Disliked — Early morning helicopter visitors dropping in for breakfast
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2007

I booked the Hotel Atitlan for my sister and brother in law, as a wedding gift. They had their honeymoon this december. Her feedback was the following:
Beautiful hotel, one of the most amazing views of the Lake Atitlan, just astonishing natural beauty. The hotel staff was very nice, pleasant and attentive. Decoration was as promoted, a Colonial Hacienda style, good taste and great comfort. Room was spacious, they got a suite with a view of Lake, they could see the lake from the bed, she said: " We had the most gorgeous sunrises and sunsets from the balcony of our room".
The restaurant has a great cuisine, bit pricey, but delicious.
The grounds of the Hotel have a manicured landscape that matches of the sorrounding nature of the lake shores. Birds, flowers and just natural beauty all around. Also she mentioned about an little creek next to the building of her room, which added a very romantic touch to everything else.
According to my sis, the hotel is just awesome, she can't wait to go back and is recommending it to her friends and our parents.
Totally recommended for honeymooners, travellers or anybody who is looking for a nature escapede with the comforts of a nice hotel.

  • Liked — The hotel itself, location, rooms, the grounds and staff.
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2007

A fantastic hotel, it has beautiful gardens and an amazing view of the lake and volcanoes. Sitting out by the pool with that view will be something I'll never forget. It is further out from town than I thought but the hotel will order you a taxi very quickly. It also has it's own private boat service for you to visit other towns around the lake. The rooms are also kept to a high standard and the staff very friendly and welcoming. If you want to splash out I highly recommend this hotel

  • Liked — The amazing view
  • Disliked — A bit further out from town than I thought
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2007

Another excellent Hotel in Guatemala. I would definitely stay here again. Very clean rooms and surroundings. Very nice gardens to enjoy. Nice pool overlooking the lake. Comfortable beds, hot showers (not every hotel in Guatemala can say this), and an excellent view of the volcanoes. There is even a boat dock along the lake and a Helipad just in case you would like to fly there. Very helpful staff. I would like to go back, spend a few days and just relax and enjoy the view.

  • Liked — View
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atitlan

Address: Finca San Buenaventura, Panajachel | Solola Lago de Atitlan, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Atitlan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nominated by Travel + Leisure; "World's Best Awards 2011".This charming hacienda-style hotel is a formerworking coffee farm situated on the shores of Lake Atitlan, with a picture perfect view of volcanoes San Pedro, Tolimán and Atitlan. Highlighting numerous unique Guatemalan traditions with its colorful and vibrant interior, each room is individually decorated with hand-woven fabrics and carpets, handcrafted furniture, paintings and tile floors. All rooms have private balconies and breathtaking views of the lake. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi overlook the entire lake and the hotel’s magnificent wedding, tropical and rose gardens. The Botanical Gardens of Hotel Atitlán are a true garden lover’s paradise. Bird-watching is a popular pastime within its botanical gardens. Enjoy a cocktail or a refreshing tea from the selection of tea infusions by the fire in the hotel’s bar, and dine in an elegant setting where you will savor regional and international cuisine. You can’t miss this beautiful Hotel!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Atitlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atitlan Hotel Panajachel
Hotel Atitlan Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atitlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.