We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atitlan

Save Saved
You added Hotel Atitlan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Atitlan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Atitlan, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 hotels in Panajachel
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2007

A fantastic hotel, it has beautiful gardens and an amazing view of the lake and volcanoes. Sitting out by the pool with that view will be something I'll never forget. It is further out from town than I thought but the hotel will order you a taxi very quickly. It also has it's own private boat service for you to visit other towns around the lake. The rooms are also kept to a high standard and the staff very friendly and welcoming. If you want to splash out I highly recommend this hotel

  • Liked — The amazing view
  • Disliked — A bit further out from town than I thought
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    105
    29
    11
    18
See reviews for
76
144
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2007

Another excellent Hotel in Guatemala. I would definitely stay here again. Very clean rooms and surroundings. Very nice gardens to enjoy. Nice pool overlooking the lake. Comfortable beds, hot showers (not every hotel in Guatemala can say this), and an excellent view of the volcanoes. There is even a boat dock along the lake and a Helipad just in case you would like to fly there. Very helpful staff. I would like to go back, spend a few days and just relax and enjoy the view.

  • Liked — View
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Atitlan and had a wonderful time. The hotel is very pretty with wonderful views and gardens. The decor of the interior was very Spanish colonial. I really liked the hotel and felt the staff worked very hard to accomodate the guests. Our room was very nice and very clean.

I would caution that everything in the hotel seems to close up very early. Many of the tourists were retirement age or families with young children and I think the hotel caters to an earlier schedule. Overall this is still one of the nicest hotels on Lake Atitlan.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

Just a beautiful, tranquil, relaxing experience is how I would describe Hotel Atitlan. I found it to be very affordable for the quality of the room, the stunning view, and grounds and service. If you want to save money, don't eat at the hotel, where the food is twice as much as it is in town. Another cost saving tip is to arrange your own transportation/shuttle, rather than having the hotel do it. They have a masseuse on site and a sauna. I booked a two hour massage for only $45! This hotel is the most beautiful place I have ever stayed. I highly recommend it!

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2007

I was en my honey moon, and is like heaven, gardens, diferent tipes a flowers, Nice weather, nice view, nice room very confortable, Im looking to go again, and stay there.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulster County, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

Spent a glorious overnight here and would definitely recommend it. The hotel is lovely; the grounds are spectacular. Beautiful, well-maintained gardens surround you, complete with toucans, mourning doves, parrots and hummingbirds. The pool area is peaceful and comfortable and the view--simply outstanding! Service was lackluster, but not bad. Dining was fine, but not memorable. The outdoor dining area made breakfast a panoramic feast for the eyes! Definitely make a point of taking the launch to the village of Santiago across the Lake and save time for simply enjoying the hotel grounds.

  • Liked — The grounds and gardens are first-rate
  • Disliked — Bedroom itself was ordinary, except that the walls were beautifully hand-painted!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2007

I don't see how anyone could find Hotel Atitlan anything but supremely beautiful and relaxing. You really miss out if you don't get up early (6:30) just to enjoy seeing the birds and gardens come awake. That's also the time to watch the Mayan fishermen in the one-man canoes serenely and carefully pulling in the nets with their day's catch.

Our buffet breakfasts were included, and it was beautiful dining on the patio gazing on the lake. The evening sunsets at dinner were even more lovely. I know we could have dined for less in Pana, but the dinner we had was good and the view unsurpassed.

We found the service excellent, unlike some others. Every care was taken to guide us to nice places in Pana, and the dinner recommendation we received was very good. It was great taking a boat from the hotel dock out to the villages around Lake Atitlan.

Two grandparents, 3 daughters & sons-in-law, and 2 grandchildren would have stayed forever if it had been possible.

  • Liked — The gardens, birds, and lake - beauty and serenity
  • Disliked — The food was a little too geared to American tastes
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atitlan

Address: Lake Atitlan, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 hotels in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Atitlan 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nominated by Travel + Leisure; "World's Best Awards 2011".This charming hacienda-style hotel is a formerworking coffee farm situated on the shores of Lake Atitlan, with a picture perfect view of volcanoes San Pedro, Tolimán and Atitlan. Highlighting numerous unique Guatemalan traditions with its colorful and vibrant interior, each room is individually decorated with hand-woven fabrics and carpets, handcrafted furniture, paintings and tile floors. All rooms have private balconies and breathtaking views of the lake. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi overlook the entire lake and the hotel’s magnificent wedding, tropical and rose gardens. The Botanical Gardens of Hotel Atitlán are a true garden lover’s paradise. Bird-watching is a popular pastime within its botanical gardens. Enjoy a cocktail or a refreshing tea from the selection of tea infusions by the fire in the hotel’s bar, and dine in an elegant setting where you will savor regional and international cuisine. You can’t miss this beautiful Hotel!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Atitlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atitlan Hotel Panajachel
Hotel Atitlan Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atitlan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.