We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jose Pinguino's

Jose Pinguino's
Calle Santander, Panajachel, Guatemala
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 43 Restaurants in Panajachel
Cuisines: Guatemalan
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Huntingburg, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Jose Pinguino's was a great place to go. They served us excellent food and the presentation about the history of the Maya was awesome!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    21
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Croix
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“reliably good food, reat service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Unfortunately we missed the nights there is a marimba band. Check first. Local crowd, simple setting - the price is right!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I enjoyed eating there twice. Look for the budget menu for great deals. My only gripe is that my meal was 35 Quetzales while I was charged 20 Q for the lemonade. Go figure!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Lake Township, MN
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Atmosphere and Entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Family run restaurant, good marimba trio, great stories of Mayan culture. Very good selection of fruit beverages.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk River, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing evening with wonderful food and entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The atmosphere is warm and inviting. The owner of the restaurant treats his patrons like guests in his home. His daughters display amazing musical talent. It is the perfect accompaniment to one of the best meals I've had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jose Pinguino's also viewed

Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 

Been to Jose Pinguino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jose Pinguino's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.