We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly aroma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cross Roads Cafe

Cross Roads Cafe
0-27 Calle del Campanario, Panajachel, Guatemala
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #4 of 36 restaurants in Panajachel
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Description: This is one of the most popular coffee shops in Panajachel especially with the ex-pat population.
Restaurant details
Description: This is one of the most popular coffee shops in Panajachel especially with the ex-pat population.
Panajachel, Solola, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Heavenly aroma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Best coffee roaster in town! Don't miss the cheesecake and other yummy deserts to go along with your coffee (or, tea),

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    48
    9
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic...it's a don't miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Our interpreter, and friend, highly recommended we stop and have coffee with Mike and Adelle. What a nice experience and what fantastic coffee! Liked it so well we bought 10 bags for home. If you have a little time, make sure you stop in!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“A great experience in coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Heard about this place from my dentist who asked that I bring him back some coffee during my visit to Panajachel. Our interpreter led us to the cafe which was helpful as it is certainly off the beaten path. Loved the atmosphere. The owners were great and gave us a tour of the famous back room. Took home enough Amazing Grace beans to share and enjoy for many months. A nice place to relax and visit with other tourists and locals.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing fair trade coffee and the most wonderful people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Mike and Adelle will turn your head around about coffee and life in a few short minutes. First off, the fair trade coffee is excellent - perfect roast, generous pours and what aroma. Mike is a walking coffee roasting encyclopedia. Crossroads Cafe has a generous, open, infectious spirit which pervades everything they do. The love shows in every cup they brew. And you're guaranteed to meet some great ex-pats who know their coffee and have their hearts in the right place. Don't miss this place. It really is that good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Cute little coffee bar with average coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

After reading many positive reviews, we hunt down cross rd cafe. It was very small but cute & warm atmosphere. The lady behind the counter was very friendly & service was quick! It was fill with expat & tourist as customers. However, I cannot say the cappuccino live up to the positive review's expectation. It was only ok, it was bitter & not creamy, & the froth was watery if that make sense. Its first time in ages i had to put sugar in my coffee to balance the taste. Taste very much like a homemade Nescafe kind of espresso coffee, not a professional barista coffee I was expecting. Although, to be fair, being an Aussie myself, we are spoiled by excellent barista serving spot on espresso coffee just like Italy,so may be its a matter of different standard. It is no doubt much better coffee than a bad coffee you get from hotels & restaurants, but its with regret to say it was far from deserving of its raving review it gets. It's only 'ok' coffee, not good coffee, sorry!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cross Roads Cafe also viewed

Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 

Been to Cross Roads Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cross Roads Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.