We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views and Peaceful Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jardines del Lago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Jardines del Lago to your Saves list
Jardines del Lago
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Monterrey, Panajachel, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Rockaway, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Views and Peaceful Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Thursday night we entered the most beautiful part of Guatemala winding down into Panajachel . There was lots of shopping and bargaining for Mayan goods and many places for inexpensive but good food and drink nearby. It was the most restful part of our 8 day Guatemala vacation in tropical paradise.
Our breakfast was with a view ! Sleep was with a view ! All the settings were with the Volcanoes of Lago de Atatilan as a backdrop and Palm tress in the mild breeze. A boat ride across the lake not to be missed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteljardinesdellago, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Jardines del Lago, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We welcome your comments, which we hope we have met your expectations and beyond our Panorama enjoyed as is the landscape of Lake Atitlan and all sales of crafts with which our beautiful town Panajachel.
See you at your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    45
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
36
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location, a short walk to the Main Street, yet right on the peaceful lake, so you have the best of both worlds. Hotel staff were great, organising our lake tour to depart from the hotel dock, and the breakfast was delicious. The views are INCREDIBLE... Only wish that we had more than one night here.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel is the perfect escape from the hectic world outside it. We found Panajachel a bit too much for our taste, so being able to retreat to the gardens of the hotel and lie in a hammock with a beautiful view of the lake was brilliant. The rooms were fairly small but pretty good overall and had comfortable chairs outside to enjoy the lake view. It's a little way off the main street but definitely worth it for the view and the quiet. Breakfast was good too with eggs cooked to order and really nice fruit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteljardinesdellago, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Jardines del Lago, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Good afternoon: We hope you enjoyed our gardens and panoramic natural as the beautiful "Lake Atitlan" and quiet, we welcome your feedback as it is gratifying to have successfully met the expectation.

We wait for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My friends and I really liked this hotel because of its beautiful grounds right on the lake -- the rooms themselves to be honest were very adequate and quite small, but the lake view more than made up for it.

Pros:
- Picturesque grounds next to lake
- Good breakfast with scrambled eggs, fruit, juice, etc.
- Reasonable location, ~20 mins walking distance from the pier to take ferriess to the nearby towns

Cons:
- Rooms were quite small (one double, and two single beds could barely fit in the room for our 3-person room) and not particularly nice
- In the morning, there is a lot of sounds coming from birds and roosters --- while this can be pleasant, it wakes you up in the morning. Bring earplugs!!
- Bathroom is not particularly nice, but very basic
- Service was so-so -- hard to communicate in English with the staff and they were not particularly helpful
- Wifi was NOT existent in the room; had to go outside the room or to the common area (where there were mosquitoes)

Overall, I think that this hotel a good choice still if you can spend more time enjoying the grounds. However, set expectations in terms of the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Jardines is a quaint, beautifully located hotel. The place is away from the busy Main Street, yet it is close to the public dock. Rooms are spacious, immaculate, and have a nice hot water shower, and reliable internet connection.

They provide complimentary coffee in the lobby and you can always refill your water bottle there. Breakfast is double the price, there are a lot of places five minutes away that are 1/2 price.

The view from hotel gardens is breathtaking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteljardinesdellago, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Jardines del Lago, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We appreciate your comments we told him that we are two blocks from the main street so we find it strange that you coment that the location is far. There are very pleased to know that you enjoy your stay. Regarding the price breakfast we offer fresh, high quality, hygienically prepared with great dedication by giving it a special flavor of our chef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on Exodus's La Ruta Maya tour. The hotel is in a great location on Lake Atitlan with views of the volcanoes. The gardens are beautiful, rooms are good and breakfast was very good. There was very little atmosphere in the evening though, we returned from a meal in town and had a drink in the bar. We were the only ones in there and the staff were clearly waiting for us to leave although it was only 9.30pm!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteljardinesdellago, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Jardines del Lago, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Our goal is total customer satisfaction and we like to know about your positive comments which helps us to improve every day and so provide better service to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Some friends and I stayed at Hotel Jardines de Lago for one night. The grounds are absolutely beautiful. As you look outside as you eat in the restaurant, you see beautiful Lake Atilan and a volcano.A great view. The food in the restaurant is very good, and in the morning you get a free buffet breakfast.lots of relaxing places to sit and relax on the grounds and on the dock.we were picked up from the dock to go on a boat trip that took you across the lake ,and you got out to walk around three towns. This was a nice trip. The rooms were nice and clean. There was a wedding their that night. A nice place to be married. This is a very nice spot.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteljardinesdellago, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Jardines del Lago, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Our restaurant "Vaqueros" is very well located as you said at the same time be tasting our delicious dishes also enjoy a wonderful view, we hope your next visit will be treated as you wish by family Lake Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jardines del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardines del Lago

Address: Calle Monterrey, Panajachel, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jardines del Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a beautiful setting on Atitlan Lake, recognized as one of the most beautiful lakes in the world, Hotel y Centro de Convenciones Jardines del Lago has attractive rooms. Set in gardens, it features a restaurant and a terrace with lake views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jardines del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardines Del Lago Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jardines del Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.