We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean hotel with great location and staff but very starkly appointed rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jardines del Lago

Save Saved
You added Jardines del Lago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jardines del Lago
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Monterrey, Panajachel, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 29 hotels in Panajachel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good clean hotel with great location and staff but very starkly appointed rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We arrived at the this hotel not really knowing what to expect. Our initial reaction was one of "great location but the rooms are a little bare". They reminded me a lot of rooms I've stayed in when staying in roadside motels. They had no in-room water boiling facilities for example and the towels were getting pretty threadbare. Though there was a view of the lake from the room it was through the window that looked across the walkway to the rooms meaning if you wanted to look out at the view you were also inviting everyone to look in at you. Other tiny annoyances were things like an inability to get boiling water before 7am, the complimentary coffee in the reception was luke warm as was the "hot food" at the breakfast buffet.

Well - all of this became quickly forgotten about once we settled in and started to fully appreciate the quality of the staff. The people at the reception were hugely helpful and accommodating and responded very quickly and efficiently to our requests for help for tour related stuff.

The hotel also has super fast free wifi in the rooms. The signal wasn't diminished in our room.

It is spectacularly located on the lake itself with its own jetty that is used to hop on boat trips to different places on the lake. It's also located in one of those ideal distances from the centre of action in town - close enough to call "close" but far enough away not to be annoyed by the noise.

I would recommend this to anyone not expecting 5 Star but wants a genuinely comfortable and positive experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteljardinesdellago, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Jardines del Lago, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We appreciate your comments we have solved the problems described, we assure you that during your next visit will be total satisfaction. We are pleased to know that the service provided has been satisfactory and that you enjoyed the wonderful location in which we find ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    43
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
35
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

If you plan to stay in the hotel and relax a bit, this is the place for you. The "property has a huge garden with lots of flowers, hammocks and seating areas. There is even a patio set on the wharf.

We stayed there for three nights Breakfast was included. If you pay cash, you don't have to pay the 22% hotel tax which is on all Guatemala hotels.

The rooms were ok. Great cable TV and free wi-fi.

Room Tip: Any room facing the lake and garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteljardinesdellago, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Jardines del Lago, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thanks for your comment, the objective of our large green area is the desire that our guests can have contact with nature during your stay and enjoy the beauty of our ornamental plants that provide a spectacular setting to "Lake Atitlan".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Very comfortable hotel with friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Beautiful view of the lake and we often relaxed at the end of a day by sitting in their lounge chairs overlooking the beautiful lake view. Breakfast was plentiful and had lots of good choices. Hotel manager was very helpful. As mentioned the hotel is a nice distance from the center of town so that is a plus in my book. Yes there is some loud music played during the day but by the time we went to bed the music ceased. There was also natural music from the many stray dogs in town singing a symphony in the wee hours of the morning. Rooms are simple and basic but this is what you pay for. Sound insulation is not the best. If you're looking for more luxury it's there to be had elsewhere in town. I'd definitely return here.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor which I think was quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteljardinesdellago, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Jardines del Lago, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We hope forward to seeing you again, we are pleased to know that you enjoy your stay with us appreciate the comment as this encourages us to keep improving every day the service we offer. Our purpose is to make all our guests as you enjoy our services and simultaneously enjoy the beautiful scenery around us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Music, music, music from sun up to sun down. So loud during the day that I couldn't watch a television show. I wanted to enjoy the beautiful view of the lake and the volcanoes on the hammocks that they provided, but I couldn't read my book or enjoy any peace and quiet due to the continuous noise!
The rooms are old, concrete and brick structures, no decorations. The towels are dingy, the shower stall drain was partially clogged. The front desk staff were not friendly. The lawn maintenance staff were great, though!
The hotel was the perfect distance away from the busy shopping area, not too close, but only a very quick walk away.
There are plenty of other hotel in this area and a few others, with the same beautiful views. My advice is to book one of the other ones. I think this is the first "poor" review I have ever posted about something, but this hotel really earned it. I would not suggest this hotel.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, I would suggest a room on the second floor, as far away from the restaurant a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteljardinesdellago, Gerente at Jardines del Lago, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Unfortunately, the music has bothered his stay in Panajachel, to liven up the holidays of the year (December), put music in the spaces of the hotel. We apologize for breaking his quiet time with this. Our main function is to satisfy the tastes and needs of the guests, with the rest of them. As for the rooms, we commented that as part of our policies preserve the infrastructure that had previously (since it is a building with more than 50 years old) giving constant maintenance and modern decorations. Being an environmentally friendly hotel backed by certifications of sustainability is a painstaking process and special for each of the procedures and functions that are performed within the same, this includes the preservation of infrastructure and new development with minimal impacts social and environmental well especially in personnel training and customer service.
Thank you for your review, is quite important for us to know the level of satisfaction of our customers and act in relation to what happened, hoping you can give us another opportunity to show that we are the ideal place to relax and enjoy Panajachel Lake Atitlan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Be aware that this Hotel hosts Conventions, which turn this Hotel into a Circus. Forget sleeping or at least bring your favourite earplugs. It is a shame, as it has a truly magnificant location. Sadly Hotel design is, like with so many Hotels around the World, not conducive to ensuring an absolute noise insulated guest room.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteljardinesdellago, Gerente at Jardines del Lago, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We regret the inconvenience occurred in music, we try to atmosphere for other guests but we consider that could disturb others. We value and appreciate your comments as we owe to suggestions from guests and people who visit us. Thank you for choosing the hotel in which we offer a sincere apology hoping you can give us another opportunity to show that we are a hotel that can meet your needs of relaxation and where he will serve as you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

5 night stay @ $53 a night. Previous reviews on the money. Very comfortable bed and great view of lake from 2nd floor rooms. Modern boutique bathroom with hot water with good pressure. Free water and shampoo. Short safe walk to main street and both boat docks. Free breakfast does the trick. Limited choice but pancakes and an omelette station usually get you out of trouble. Staff very helpful and friendly. Chef made pancakes for me the 2nd day without being asked when they were not on the menu. Also arranged bike with one of the staff to take some photos on the last morning which was a nice value add. Only fault was the wifi which was spasmodic at best and did not always work in the room. Overall one of the better hotels stayed at on my travels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteljardinesdellago, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Jardines del Lago, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Good day.
Thanks for your comments, we look forward to your visit again, regarding the WiFi signal our technician has already solved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We enjoyed our staying in jardines del lago very much.
The all place is sooo beautiful and well kept by the dedicated staff.
The location is great- right on the lake, and few minutes walk from the main street (to my opinion it's much better off the main street).
The rooms are well decorated, huge bed, nice bathroom, TV.
Breakfast included and very nice.
The amazing staff always smiling and very helpful.
Only thing to change- The lights in the room wasn't strong enough so it was a bit too dark.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jardines del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardines del Lago

Address: Calle Monterrey, Panajachel, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 hotels in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jardines del Lago 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a beautiful setting on Atitlan Lake, recognized as one of the most beautiful lakes in the world, Hotel y Centro de Convenciones Jardines del Lago has attractive rooms. Set in gardens, it features a restaurant and a terrace with lake views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Jardines del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardines Del Lago Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jardines del Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.