We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location......one of the best hotels in our 5 winters of travelling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jardines del Lago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Jardines del Lago to your Saves list
Jardines del Lago
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Monterrey, Panajachel, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Awesome location......one of the best hotels in our 5 winters of travelling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Lucky lucky us to have picked to stay here. Virtually nowhere else in all of Panajachell has this breathtaking view from all the rooms, the peacefulness and great standard of rooms too. Very welcome after so many inferior places to stay elsewhere in Guatemala/Mexico. Book here, you won't be disappointed! Breakfast & free wifi included.

Room Tip: Go for top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteljardinesdellago, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardines del Lago, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you very much for such a good review. We're very proud of our location;one of the things we envoy the most is the smile of our guests when they first admire the view from the gardens and terrace! Welcoming enthusiastic travelers like you is a pleasure for us and this is the reason why our team would be very pleased to see you again in Jardines del Lago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    58
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
18
43
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Seems this place might have changed names, I don't know enough to know if its true. The rooms are nice, if small. The bathrooms are nice, if small (can't have 2 people in it) - they are new with beautiful fixtures, wrought iron, tiles, shower - no mildew, no smells, no problem with water temp or pressure - really great place.

But I swear I read a review about edible botanicals at the restaurant? That place is overpriced, a bit slow, and awful food - basic, and not a talented cook. More a regular cook, like I am....They had breakfast buffet outside for New Years Day - wish it was every day....

The lake, dock, etc. is beautiful and people are very helpful.
The have a trampoline: my 6 year old could play on it for hours!!!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have views from the balcony. First floor rooms do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteljardinesdellago, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardines del Lago, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to tell us what was great and what, unfortunately, you didn't appreciate. We put great value on both good and bad comments, because it helps us to improve ourselves.

I'm really sorry that you didn't enjoy all of our services, particularly our restaurant; I hope it was just one bad experience, as we offer a wide range of choice, serving both traditional and international food. You might be pleased to know that since the beginning of the year we have a new cooker, and we also hired new staff members, all qualified. About the products, they’re organic and locally produced.

As for the breakfast buffet, we are aware that our guests enjoy it outside on the terrace, or in the gardens. For this reason, we do it regularly, not just for special events such as New Years Day; but if it’s not the case during your stay with us, just ask one of our friendly waiters, and they will set a table for you wherever you want.

Once again, I’m sorry for the inconvenience, and we would be delighted to welcome you for your next visit to Panajachel so that we can make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

During my life, I have travelled a great deal. I have visited 15 countries, and some countries numerous times. My experience at Jardines del Lago stands head and shoulders above all the hotels where I have stayed, and at a lower price than many hotels in Europe and Latin America. They have a beautiful facility with a world-class view. However, their biggest asset is their employees. I have never before felt as welcome and cared for. All their employees seem very proud of their jobs, and of the hotel. The gardener took time to show me how to propagate poinsettias. They had a New Years Eve Party that put to shame our New Years party last year in Barcelona. I could live happily in this hotel for the rest of my life.

Room Tip: Second floor, room 201. The view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteljardinesdellago, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardines del Lago, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience! This is true that we are very proud of our location, but we are even prouder of the work undertaken by our staff to highlight it, from the gardeners who make the view incredible, to the waiters and their smile, and to the maids who make your rooms so comfy. Come back whenever you want!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Be right on the Lake a tad away from the bustle of the city but within walking distance. ( city can be noisey at night) Breakfast included which sometimes is a buffet if their visitor census is high enough. Clean rooms, comfortable beds/pillow. Air conditioned. Breakfast included. ( $65/double ) Great spot for peace, rest and views. They have family packages.

Room Tip: Away from dining room / ping pong. All face lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

We booked through an agency from Antigua (Ruta Maya) and had an excellent price.Our room was on the second floor so we enjoyed a beautiful view of the lake and the volcanoes.The room was spacious and the bathroom very modern.We did not eat at the restaurant but coffee was excellent. The staff at the reception deck arranged for us a cruise to three villages around the lake. However, we took this trip at mid-day and the waves were high. Later I learned that it is recommended to take a cruise in the morning when the lake is calm. We plan to return to this hotel next year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

We spent 3 nights at the hotel. It is situated directly on the beach, a few minutes walk from the marina and the shopping street. The rooms are comfortable and clean. I missed the refrigerator. The garden is beautiful, the beach was just under construction. It is worth to go to San Antonio and Santa Catarina by boat from the marina. We climbed the San Pedro volcano in 3 hours. That tour was organized by the hotel. The volcano is rainforest-covered, but there is a beautiful view of the lake, and both the Atitlan and Toliman volcanos too.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

I stayed in Jardines del Lago in May 2010 for two nights. If I would have known a place like this existed I would have stayed there the entire stay in Guatemala. We had already booked other hotels and we couldn't cancel. I know some people might think I am exagerating but until you stay in this hotel and see it for yourself you won't know. I have stayed in many hotels in my life and no other has had the service I have received in Jardines del Lago. The staff there is so willing to serve you hand and foot. I was treated better than when I stayed in the Waldorf. Julio, Francisco, Vicente, just to name a few that stand out, were so incredibly helpful. The beauty of these people's treatment toward me and my family was that it seemed like they truly cared. They helped arrange plans to everything and gave us insider secrets. We became friends with this staff and I can't wait to go back. For those like me who are afraid of eating during there stay I would recommend 100% the restaurant in the hotel. I ate breakfast lunch and dinner there and had no problems... Jose Felipe was an excellent cook. He created a masterpiece on our plates. The platters included edible botanicals. Overall Best Hotel stay ever!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jardines del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardines del Lago

Address: Calle Monterrey, Panajachel, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jardines del Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a beautiful setting on Atitlan Lake, recognized as one of the most beautiful lakes in the world, Hotel y Centro de Convenciones Jardines del Lago has attractive rooms. Set in gardens, it features a restaurant and a terrace with lake views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Jardines del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardines Del Lago Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jardines del Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.