We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jackpot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Utz Rajil

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panajachel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Utz Rajil
Save
You added Hotel Utz Rajil to your Saves list
C. 14 De Febrero | Panajachel, Sololá, Panajachel, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Jackpot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My school in Xela suggested this place after it's sister hotel UTZ Jay was booked. Utz Rajil knocked off 15% of the rate. Paying the full rate this place would be a bargain. It's located on a side street, so while you hear the dogs bark and roosters squawk, you don't hear much other street noise. The room is tasteful with a flat screen TV and the hot water comes cascading down-the only time I could say that in my 17 day stay in Guata. The beds could be more firm, but I spent a very relaxed and wonderful night here and would return any time I"m in Pana. Loved this place.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel off the street will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I wasn't in any hurry so I wandered around for at least an hour checking out various hotels. After about 8 , this was the best value I found. After staying in an ultra economy room in San Pedro I needed an upgrade. The manager was genuinely friendly without being pushy. I asked for the quietest room he had. The standard would be equivalent to a 2 * hotel in Spain or Italy & about a 3 * in Mexico. It felt luxurious having so many cable channels, even BBC World & a powerfulu shower, lots of hot water & a big comfortable bed in a room that had at least a little consideration to design.
The major drawback was the noise of traffic on the street despite my room being one of the furthest back. However, I always wear earplugs in Latin America as it would be impossible for me to sleep otherwise so it didn't bother me too much.
I paid Q 120 for a single which is about $15USD. Very cheap even by SE Asian standards. Can't usually be bothered to write reviews on TA but I saw that the nice señor was proudly displaying his TA sign so I told him I would write a favourable review for which he was very grateful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

For those on a travel budget but want to avoid hostels and shared bathrooms, we recommend Hotel Rajil located off the main road in downtown Panajachel. The building is well maintained and spotless. Rooms are midsize windowed with high ceilings and fans. Some have balconies with a view of the volcano.We had a comfy bed, plenty of hot water and cable TV. We were greeted by friendly staff who helped with luggage (to the third floor, no elevators) and also gave us an early wakeup call with more help with luggage to meet a 6 a.m. tour van. Some English is spoken here but of course Spanish is most helpful. We would return again if back this way.

Room Tip: Some 3rd floor rooms have balconies with view of the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

This was our second year in a row staying at Hotel Utz Rajil. The rooms are simple and clean with cable, hot water and if you ask for it a balcony over the street. The Hotel is very reasonably priced for it's location downtown.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

I agree with the other reviewers. This hotel has few frills but is well maintained and clean. The private baths were clean, the water hot. The bed was firm, but comfortable. My only complaints: 1) no wireless internet 2) a rooster on the rooftop of the building next door started crowing at 6am. No staff members speak English, but all were friendly and helpful. It's about 50 meters from the main business street, Calle Santander where local artisans sell their crafts and many restaurants are located.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This was a very good place for the price. The owner, Marcos, is a very nice man who is focused on making you comfortable. He owns the little tienda next door and is almost always available if you have concerns. His employee Mario keeps the place spotless. We stayed for a month earlier this year. The only drawback is that calle 14 febrero is pretty noisy.

Room Tip: We had the 3rd floor front. It was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

The owner is very welcoming but no one here really speaks any English. We stayed in a double that had a balcony and faced the main street. We could hear the voices of people living in the building next door, and dogs barking on the street. The bathroom was very clean and had hot water. Note: If you dry your clothes out on the balcony, don't put it on the wooden chairs because the wood stains your shirts brown!! The location is great - its in the middle of Panajachel so not too far from anything. Would recommend this hotel to people willing to spend a little more money and not have to stay at a hostel.

Room Tip: Balcony room is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Utz Jay
Hotel Utz Jay
#9 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Linda
Hotel Playa Linda
#18 of 30 in Panajachel
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#7 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
28.6 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#14 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Utz Rajil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Utz Rajil

Address: C. 14 De Febrero | Panajachel, Sololá, Panajachel, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Hotel Utz Rajil Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Utz Rajil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.