We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hostel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mario's Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panajachel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mario's Rooms
Save
You added Mario's Rooms to your Saves list
Calle Santander, Panajachel, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 26 Panajachel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Average hostel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We were booked into this hostel as part of a tour. The rooms are fine with private bathroom but the real inadequacies are clear at night; huge gaps in the windows make them rattle in the wind all night, and the gale force winds feel as strong as outside. Howling dogs could be heard despite being in a room at the back. Not particularly friendly staff and no one ever at reception. I'm sure you can do better in pana.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    42
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
45
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central America
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

The staff here are all lovely, the rooms are very clean and it is in the heart of panajachel.

However, the room had a large tap by the window allowing for lots of noise and draft at night. In addition, the breakfast was very average, and certainly not of a 5/5 rating compared to what is offered elsewhere in Guatemala.

Must emphasise that felt very safe here and would stay again but just not to expect a perfect hostel without its drawbacks!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We turned up on spot, and being off-season didn't have an issue getting a room - paying similar as to what others have recently said here.

Got double room with ensuite upstairs. Spacious enough, very clean, windows on either side of the room make it nice and light. Free water put in the rooms each morning.

The staff were easy to track down. Friendly and good natured.

Free breakfast each morning served in their restaurant, I often miss breakfast in hostels as I'm not a morning person. But this had exceptional hours in that sense (served until 11.30am). Four choices. A lot of effort put into it, and good portions.

Nice communal area.

Location is good - but then the town is small, so it's hard to find a place that isn't.

Just about hits 5 stars for me.

Room Tip: The upstairs doubles furthest away from reception are the nicest, but the wifi isn't that good t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villages, FL
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Mario's Rooms should be your first choice whether budget traveler or not. Spacious with huge windows and traditional Guatemalan bedspreads greet you in your room with 100 channel TV and super clean bathrooms with burning hot water all day long.
Lucious gardens right outside room with little nooks to read and wonderful restuarant with a choice of four breakfasts for free the first one being eggs, refried beans, fruit, bread and coffee or tea.
Nice friendly people run this place and help you figure out where to go and what to do.
Rainy season so I received a nice discount on the normal price of 15.00 a night down to 12.00 a night.(US) You can't go wrong as the front gate is always locked just ring the bell for entrance and free purified water available 24/7. Clean sheets, towels, soap and tissue everyday! Right in the center of the main street Santander in Panajachel but yet you can't hear a sound once inside the hotel. My first choice for sure. Beds were typical Mexican/Guatemalan type of beds a little hard and pillows were thick and heavy. But for all the other fantastic qualities no big deal!

Room Tip: I would ask for room on bottom or first floor right close to the gardens. Free wifi seems to work be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We rocked up and without reservation. Which was fine as it was not peak season.

200Q for double private (hot water), or 140Q for cold water. We opted for the latter to save money.

Rooms were cosy n small but super clean and nice clean white sheets, good blankets too if need be. Shower/toilet was clean and nice. If you opt for the cold water room, beware it really is cold ( almost chilled) haha so it will wake you up but you'll feel good after :)

Breakfast is included but won't fill up a bloke, maybe a small girl at best. They have added extras that you can pay for, but what we did have was definitely nice. They have a restaurant but we never ate there.

Would definitely stay again, was very much like a westernized hotel.

4-5 stars.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at Marios Rooms for two nights in June 2013. Lovely setting, friendly staff, a great central location and surprisingly quiet considering you're on the main street. Lovely, if a little small, comfortable room with a good shower but no air-con. Wifi didn't work in the first room we tried but they moved us without fuss. Good breakfast included. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Free wifi and breakfast with easy morning walk to meet our shuttle back to Antigua, this was the perfect place for us to stay. Rooms were small but comfortable, and the shower was nice and warm, which in sometimes-chilly Panajachel was necessary. This place is also perfectly located to walk along the main streets for shopping and relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Utz Jay
Hotel Utz Jay
#8 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playa Linda
Hotel Playa Linda
#18 of 30 in Panajachel
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#6 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#7 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mario's Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mario's Rooms

Address: Calle Santander, Panajachel, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Panajachel
Also Known As:
Mario`s Rooms Hotel Panajachel
Mario's Rooms Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mario's Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.