We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Tony

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panajachel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Tony
Save
You added Chalet Tony to your Saves list
Calle Rancho Grande, Zona 2, Panajachel, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

Chalet Tony in Panajachel is close to all the shopping, restaurant and night life action yet tucked away inside a flowered paradise so guests can leave all the hustle and bustle behind and chill with a drink on the terrace, a book in the garden, a nap midday in a hammock. Rooms are spacious, airy, clean and comfy with kitchenettes and bathrooms. The owner is helpful and delightfully warm, with a competent staff and fellow guests are friendly as well. I have stayed here for years on my own or with friends. Recently I brought down a group and, to a one, they loved the warm, homey feeling of Chalet Tony and wouldn't have traded it for a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    3
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
7
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

I have stayed at the Chalet Tony for many years now, coming several times a year on business. I have always had a very enjoyable stay there. This is not a hotel, but apartments that are normally rented on a monthly basis. I have stayed both upstairs and down and both have their own unique views and ambiance. Upstairs, a gorgeous view of the volcanoes and lake and downstairs, the inner sanctum of a gorgeous garden area, private and lush, which is faithfully attended on a daily basis by Santiago, the grounds keeper. Marion, the owner, is always dedicated to ensuring the comfort and needs of her tenants are met. It has been my home away from home for 5 years now. I work in an Indigenous community nearby and at the end of the day coming to the safety, community and private setting is a luxury that always restores me. On top of that, the sounds of nature that such beautiful gardens attract, woodpeckers, hummingbirds, peacocks, (yes, peacocks!) and insects are a delight and certainly an improvement to the noises of traffic and horns honking. Guatemala is a country with many problems and overwhelming poverty. Travellers should not expect the trappings and standards of home unless they are willing to pay hundreds of dollars a night in Guatemala City's high end hotels. I have recommended Chalet Tony to many people and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

We will be returning to Chalet Tony for the 3rd time next month. It is so restful. The facility is more like a garden apartment than a hotel. (and there is hot and cold running water in both the bathroom and kitchen!) There is plenty of space, the grounds are beautiful, there is a security gate, it is central to just about anything in Panajachel and you can feel at home there. The staff is always smiling, courteous and helpful. The only reason I'd tell you not to stay there is if there was only one vacancy - because I'd wanted it!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

I was totally disgusted with the comments/lies made by some woman in San Fransisco on the Chalet Tony. I sure would not ever hire this person to give a hotel review because the woman is obviously not stable. The Chalet Tony is a lovely place and highly recommended, mostly because of the beauty of the hotel, but also because there are only five rooms that are strictly rented on a monthly basis giving the place a true family feeling. The Chalet Tony is a charming hotel. The rooms are large and have all of the necessary facilities, small kitchen, very comfortable beds, fireplace and excellent service. The grounds are beautifully kept and the gardens are full of tropical plants, including a collection of orchards.
I have stayed at Chalet Tony annually since I was lucky enough to find the place in 1998. The owner and staff are most gracious and you will feel comfortable and secure. Take it from a woman who has been around the world on her own. When my friend's visited with their family they were so thrilled with the beauty of the place that they renamed it "The Rancho Relaxo"

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wild4sunflowers
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

We stayed at Chalet Tony repeatedly during our 3 month winter vacation in Guatemala. We found Chalet Tony to offer an atmosphere of home away from home. During our repeated stays we stayed in various rooms and found all of them specious, well equipped and clean. The location is excellent being close to the Lake Atitlan and town's main attractions, restaurants and bars. We especially enjoyed the beautiful park like gardens, and the sounds of birds for us go together with being in the tropics. We found the owner very accommodating and helpful in providing guidance to the area and meeting many of our other needs, often not related with the stay

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
québec
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

My wife and me stayed at Chalet Tony 3 months last winter and are returning there for the same period this year. We like: the size and the cleanliness of the room, the beautifull garden surrounding the hotel, the kindness and efficacity of the personnel ( service with a smile), the location of the hotel and Marion, the owner, who is always there making sure that her customers are fully satisfied.
Price/quality, the best place in Panajachel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Izabal, Guatemala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Chalet Tony is not your every-day hotel in Panajacel. The rentals are more long-term and the rooms are huge and well-equipped. The hotel grounds are like a park and it is only a few blocks in any direction to find the lake, the bars, or the shopping. We had a great time there and would like to visit it again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.3 mi away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
28.5 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#14 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#6 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Linda
Hotel Playa Linda
#18 of 30 in Panajachel
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Utz Jay
Hotel Utz Jay
#8 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Tony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Tony

Address: Calle Rancho Grande, Zona 2, Panajachel, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Panajachel
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Chalet Tony Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Tony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.