We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming hotel at a beautiful location with lake views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playa Linda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Playa Linda to your Saves list
Hotel Playa Linda
7a Calle 0-70 Zona 2, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A charming hotel at a beautiful location with lake views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We booked this hotel at pana and were skeptical about it to be honest since the rates were quite affordable which also included breakfast! But it all turned out to be true! :)
This is a very cozy and charming place with a beautiful garden.. rooms are bit outdated for sure.. but the location is such that you would not focus on such petty things... if you take a room upstairs, the lakeview is spectacular! Just sitting in the balcony ,looking at the lake while drinking your beer was a bliss! :)
The management is very very helpful. They will go out of the way to make your stay comfortable.
There is a restaurant attached to the hotel and breakfast is served there every morning. Sergio was very nice to talk to and provided a top class service. The last morning we were leaving at 6AM and he came at 5.30 AM just to provide breakfast for two of us! Can't thank him enough!
All in all a winner for us!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
19
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Rooms were big beds were big but a little outdated. Its 10 minutes walk from main street but very close to the pier.
In the hotels restaurant there was a gentleman that speaks perfect english. In case you are out of spanish words to communicate with the hotel staff that gentlemen helped us out.Keep in mind :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

If you like a calm area but with some birds sound, an amazing view on the lake from a private terrace and a cute a local decoration this is the perfect place...
The owner and the other guy running the place are a very sweet and they also have good internet.........................................................................

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I spent three nights here and was very happy. The lake-view rooms (not sure you'd want to bother booking a room without a view) are enormous, with spacious terraces overlooking the lake. (There's just one unfortunate cinderblock building minorly blocking a fully panoramic view, but you've got plenty of lake to look at.) In front of the rooms is a beautifully overgrown garden expertly tended by Nicolas, with a mini-aviary of birds who chirp away in the mornings and a parrot who squawks "Hola" and "Hello, how are you" in the afternoons.
Breakfast is included, though I didn't quite understand that until my last morning. The woman working the front desk brought toast, jam and juice to my room and I could eat it on the terrace. There's not-so-good coffee available at reception starting at 7 a.m. All of the staff were very nice; I don't think they speak English but my beginner Spanish was fine (except for misunderstanding about breakfast!).
The queen bed was very comfortable. There was also a full-size bed in the room. The shower was nice, with hot water every time. I tried out the small pool, which was refreshing for a quick dip on a hot afternoon but not big enough to swim laps or anything.
The hotel is a pleasant 10-minute walk from the main action on Calle Santander, though there are also some lakeside restaurants right out front. Walking back from Santander at night seemed more or less safe to me (at 9-10 p.m.) You could always take a tuk-tuk for 5 quetzales. The hotel is near the dock for lake tours and boats to other villages, so convenient for morning trips.
As I checked out hotels, there was a budget place next door with beautiful lake views and bare-bones rooms for about $12-$15 a night that I considered. But for about $40, the Playa Linda had much more comfort and charm.

Room Tip: You want a lakeview room, 1-5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

As our first hotel stay in Guatemala, this was a pleasant introduction. the rooms were generously sized, plus the balconies with views over Lake Atitlan are great. It is near many amenities and the gardens on site are stellar. The temps were warm enough that we didn't need to try the fireplace, but I imagine it would be a great touch if we needed it. Highly recommend for a good value stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoodsport
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Lovely hotel with a view of the lake and volcanoes from my room and balcony. Near the entrance there is a blessing of a flower fergrance as one walks towards the main door. The room was very clean and coffee as handed to me in the morning. The evenings and nights were quiet! I only stayed a week but a delightful week it was. Everything is within walking distance, reasturants, boats for traveling the lake and of course lots of venders although they did not push there products in my face. They were respectful. I asked around about Diving and there is one fellow that says he has equipment or access to, but that did not take place.
I would go back to this hotel any time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed here for one night. We only wanted to explore the town and relax. The rooms with view to the lake are the best rooms in this hotel. The balcony views at the lake and the garden. The room had a working fireplace with fire wood ready to warm the room (we didn't use it since the temperature didn't drop). The garden releases a beautiful aroma up on arrival! The owner has birds in a small aviary below that are pleasant to listen in the morning. . The windows in the room open has "panels"; the breeze at night was pleasant. I was able to have a view of the lake and the volcanos from my bed. I didn't want to leave the room. Free coffee in the morning is the best "good morning" to me. The bed was not a soft bed but it was a minor detail compare to the beauty of the view.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Utz Jay
Hotel Utz Jay
#8 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#7 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
28.6 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#13 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Linda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Linda

Address: 7a Calle 0-70 Zona 2, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Playa Linda is a longer lineage hotels in Panajachel, Solola. It opened in April 1973 in order to serve the national and international tourism visiting the beautiful Lake Atitlan.From its inception has been concerned to offer a service with the highest standards of quality guests adapting to the needs of our visitors.Today, after more than thirty-five years of experience, the third generation of this history of service, strives to keep this tradition in the care of our guests by ensuring that your stay with us a pleasant experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Playa Linda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Playa Linda Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Playa Linda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.