We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Balam Ya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villas Balam Ya to your Saves list
Villas Balam Ya
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Palopo Km 4., Panajachel 0502, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Villas Balam Ya for the last part of July. It was very peaceful and beautiful. Rosa came and made breakfast for us every morning and Leslie set up our day. We hope to return soon and rent one of the larger villas. I would recommend this spot to anyone looking for a peaceful romantic getaway or a family adventure.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    11
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
38
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We spent one night in the Mirador Villa at Balam Ya. The weather was a bit iffy, the skies full of dark threatening clouds. But the show from the decks of the villa was incredible. We were captivated by watching the clouds, volcanoes, sunlight change as the afternoon progressed. The views from the villas are incredible. It is clear why this lake has such spiritual significance to the Mayan people.

We had Lucy cook an amazing fish dinner that we ate out on the terrace as we watched the lightening dance behind the volcanoes.

And talk about a peaceful night's sleep. We went to bed with a soft rain and woke to the gentle sounds of the lake's waves slapping against the rocky coast.

I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed during the off season. Great value. I was in the small villa, Villa Jade, which was beautifully furnished. Rosa comes and cooks breakfast and Lydia made pepian one evening. Lesly was helpful to arrange rides and transport to Antigua. Tuk-tuks to Pana are 15Q. They give you a cell phone during the stay. The villa is on the side of a steep hill so you can get some exercise. There are also kayaks to use. Lesly was also able to arrange for a massage in the villa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Villa Balam Ya is the perfect place to stay to take in the beauty of Lake Atitlan. It is secluded so you can relax and in a tranquil environment. The property is surrounded by nature, there are even fireflies. Wake up to a beautiful sunrise and enjoy a glass of wine during the sunset.

I recommend stocking up on groceries, wine, and snacks. Then spend as much time on the property as possible. It is truly amazing.

Service was also excellent. Lesly, the manager, is super helpful. She helped me book a private boat tour and arranged my transport back to Guatemala City. She also arranged tuk tuk pickups from the villa into town. Your breakfast is prepared by Rosa and she is so delightful.

Tip: A tuktuk ride to and from Panajachel should cost you around Q15.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Sacatepequez, Guatemala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent two nights here and will remember it for the rest of our lives. The setting is spectacular, the villas are beautifully furnished and appointed, and the landscaping and tranquility can't be beat. You are surrounded by one of the most beautiful views in the world, as humming birds dance from flower to flower and fisherman in dug out canoes gently pass on the lake below. There has clearly been special attention paid to ensure each villa has full privacy as well as its own stunning view. Fully equipped kitchen, and an easy walk into town if you can tear yourself away. I would highly recommend this place and can't wait for an opportunity to return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

There may be no better way to experience Lake Atitlan than the Villas B'Alam Ya. The views are spectacular and you feel like you have it all to yourself because the villas -- each one distinctive -- are tucked away and surrounded by lush greenery. The walk into town is easy, presuming you might want to venture forth occasionally from your oasis of tranquility. One of the nicest places I've ever stayed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The Villas of Balam Ya create a wonderful way to experience Lake Atitlan. Each villa has its unique character. I stayed in the Jade Cottage, a small efficiency apartment.I felt like I was in a treehouse as it is nestled amidst beautiful mature trees. It is a well appointed cottage whose ambiance reflects traditional artisan work.

The place was quiet and peaceful. We swam in the lake, kayaked, had a wonderful dinner provided by the chef.

Balam ya is a unique offering on the lake - away from the crowds, peaceful, alluring.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panajachel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
28.3 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#14 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
2.9 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#7 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
4.3 mi away
Villa Santa Catarina
Villa Santa Catarina
#11 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Balam Ya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Balam Ya

Address: Palopo Km 4., Panajachel 0502, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Balam Ya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villas Balam Ya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Balam Ya Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Balam Ya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.