We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Atitlan & Villas Balam Ya: One of the better kept secrets in the New World” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Balam Ya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villas Balam Ya to your Saves list
Villas Balam Ya
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Palopo Km 4., Panajachel 0502, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Manhattan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lake Atitlan & Villas Balam Ya: One of the better kept secrets in the New World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This was my second trip to Lake Atitlan and it looks as fake as the first time I went nearly a decade ago. What I mean is that it is such a beautiful place that it does not seem real. Getting from the developed world to Panajachel is not the easiest thing to do but it is well worth the effort.

We stayed at Villas Balam Ya with another couple in the main house for two nights. The accomodations are fantastic. The main house has a large living area and fireplace that is excellent for socializing. The kitchen is fantastic and is setup for entertaining. There is a large dining area which I suppose can seat about eight people. The bed rooms are amazing and the view from the Main House has to be on a top-ten list somewhere. The bathrooms are spacious and clean and two couples easily have enough privacy in this house while being able to enjoy close proximity.

Outside the property has a patio and down a set of stairs has another area for sitting and socializing which is right beside the water and this area also contains a grill. One of the nice things about the location of the main house is that the Villa staff will summon a boat from Panajachel to pick you up at the bottom of the landing--literally at the backdoor of the house.

The staff and service is absolutely excellent and accomodated our every need. If you are looking for seclusion with one of the best views in the world this is an absolute can't miss.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    11
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
38
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

My girlfriend and I had the joy of spending a weekend at the Balam Ya house in "Villas Balam Ya". The buildings on the property are all very comfortable and decorated with great taste and attention to detail. In our house the rooms were just huge, with a very fine queen size bed, there are 2 bdrms. in the house with a very fine dining room, large and comfortable living room and a fully equipped kitchen. Separate bathtub and shower and even bathrobes provided i the bathroom. One of the staff came to the house both days to make us a fine breakfast at the house. There is a also a lots of well manicured green space around the house, so one can take quite a walk and still be inside the protection of the property. Total luxury in a serene, secluded and beautiful setting, couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Anyone interesting in visiting Lake Atitlan and is not too concerned with budget, this place is totally worth it. The place is immaculate, the service is excellent, and the view is to die for.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We recently went to Guatemala for a week. We went to Tikal, Lake Atitlan and Antigua. We stayed at Villas Balam Ya in the Villa Bambu. The property is located about 3km outside of Panajchel-but a tuk tuk is only 10-15/person quetzales. We had a fully equipped kitchen-and went to the town to get groceries. There is also a bbq grill. We had a cook come in one night to make dinner. Every meal we had on our balcony overlooking the lake. They do have an onsite "grocery" but of course the prices are much higher. There isn;t a pool and the water wasn't suitable to swim in during the time we went. So, that was a downfall. Great views! Floor to celing windows. If you don't like stairs-this place isn't for you. All the villas are nestled in their own area-so alot of privacy. Wi-fi in the villa. The rooms are open-no doors. Beautifully decorated!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

On the right side of the lake to see the volcanos we had the big villa on the waters edge a must if staying here it will take your breath away the staff here were fantastic as per the other reviews you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

With a spectacular setting right on the lake, this is a superb place to "get away from it all", while still being within easy reach of the main town (read: pizza delivery). The lake views and gardens are gorgeous. The accommodations are luxurious and comfortable. We stayed in the main villa B'alam Ya (didn't see the other villas), which was full of creature comforts (stocked kitchen, spacious bathrooms, DVD player, etc.), artwork, and delightful spots to soak up the views (several outdoor seating areas, a private lakeside jacuzzi, and -- my favorite -- a comfortable king bed on the first floor next to floor-to-ceiling windows). The staff was friendly and service was great. Lesly is a terrific manager; she provided prompt and helpful responses to emails prior to our visit; and she was just a phone call away if we needed anything during our visit (she gave us a cell phone to use during our stay, which came in handy while at the villa as well as when we were out and needed a tuk-tuk or boat taxi back home). She arranged everything seamlessly for us (a private boat tour of nearby villages, taxis from Antigua and to the airport, massages, etc.). Don't miss Rosa and Luisa's delicious cooking (they come to your villa and prepare meals) -- we enjoyed everything they made for us (tipico breakfast, pepian chicken dinner, and lime chicken dinner). Villas B'alam Ya is a real treat!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Excellent small villa & staff! The only thing needs to be improved just Spa could be better.

Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panajachel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
28.3 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#14 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
2.9 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#8 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
4.3 mi away
Villa Santa Catarina
Villa Santa Catarina
#11 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#6 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Balam Ya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Balam Ya

Address: Palopo Km 4., Panajachel 0502, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Balam Ya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villas Balam Ya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Balam Ya Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Balam Ya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.