We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay, Wonderful Host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panajachel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Casa Loma | Calle Rancho Grande, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Book directly with Jenna
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay, Wonderful Host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

If you are planning a stop in Pana - I highly recommend staying with Jenna. A short walk from the hustle and bustle, just one block from the edge of the lake the location puts you in the perfect place to relax, enjoy and explore. The rooms are immaculately clean and beautifully decorated with so much personality and charm - you truly get a taste of Guatemala and it's wonderful handicraft offerings. This is not only in the rooms, but also in the main house and garden. There are many areas to sit and relax, all beautifully adorned with Guatemalan flair. In addition to an entertainment area there is a fire place and an art gallery featuring many different crafts and artists from the area.

I would highly recommend indulging in the family style breakfast Jenna and her staff prepare. Always fresh and featuring traditional fare. It is delicious and big sogo hungry and get charged up for a day touring the lake, hiking the surrounding area, or shopping the markets.

Last but not least, Jenna herself is a gem. Full of enthusiasm and helpful knowledge. Anything you are interested in doing - she will help you find the perfect connection to make it happen. Wanna learn traditional cooking techniques? Done. Figure out what is going on in the different lake towns and if you need a guide? No problem. Try out local weaving on a loom? Just ask. She has lived in the area for years, is a talented artist in her own right and is more than happy to make your stay the most relaxing or eventful as you wish.

I will certainly be back. Thank you Jenna for your time, care, and attention to detail. You made our stay in Pana wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    23
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
32
101
38
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

First of all, let me say just start by saying that this is by farrrrrrr the place to stay while in Pana!

Jenna is not only a great host but truly an artist, and as any artist, this hotel is the reflection of her love and dedication!

You can tell that every detail was closely look at, from the beautiful garden to the rooms and common areas. Breakfast was simply amazing, not just the food but the company... In what kind of hotel you get the opportunity to eat with the owner and share just like family? Another reason of why Jenna's B&B is not just another B&B but definitely a boutique hotel!

While my stay, I wanted to propose to my girlfriend and Jenna helped me with everything, from having the champagne cold to using her beautiful crystal glasses. You can tell she was excited and sincere about helping me and this is something that I would thank her always!

The only negative thing I have to say about my stay is that I needed to leave this gorgeous place, which from now on, I would call my home in Pana!

Thank you Jenna for making our stay unforgettable! I can't wait to be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

A homey B & B with a delightful hostess. The room had a super comfy bed (none of those thin, lumpy pillows so common in Central America). The bathroom had hot water, a rarity in the region. Every morning there is a fresh pitcher of water placed in your room. Breakfast is a delicious family style affair with homemade jams, breads, fresh squeezed orange juice and more. Jenna makes this place what it is, she is sweet, welcoming, interesting and full of helpful information. While staying here, I came down with food poisoning from a local restaurant, and spent two days in bed. Jenna checked in on me throughout the day. Breakfast was brought to me in my room. Someone went to the pharmacy to pick up medicine for me. Jenna helped to reschedule my travel plans. Being ill away from home is not fun, but I was fortunate to be so well looked after. I rave about this place to anyone who will listen. Do not look further, do yourself a favor and stay here!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We booked three single rooms for three days. The property has a nice yard for relaxation and breakfast. The breakfasts were wonderful with Jenna’s homemade jams and chutney with her own baked bread. There was something different each day and the meals had a wonderful local flavour. All of the rooms are different and located in very close proximity to each other even though some are in a different building than the main “house”. The main building has a common living room, kitchen and dining area on the main floor, along with two bedrooms. Upstairs are an additional three rooms, I believe. Two of the rooms have their primary access through a fairly narrow and steep stairway from the living room. The third room is accessed from stairs outside (that room can also be adjoining with one of the other two rooms so it is really nice if you need more than one room and want to be together, but private). Our three rooms all had decent bathrooms with showers. The pillows and linens were of excellent quality. One of our rooms has twin beds, and two had a double (not sure they were queen). There were others room in adjacent buildings. You are welcome to keep a few items in the kitchen fridge. Jenna also provides wine and beer at a reasonable cost for guests. Jenna has dogs, and there were also travelling pets while we were there.

Of the three rooms we rented, the downstairs bedroom was the least desirable for a number of reasons: open window at ground level may not be comfortable for some, even though Pana is quite safe. The shower was smaller and it was a bit noisier with people coming in and out of the common living area and someone could see in it if you moved a bit of fabric that covered an exterior window into the room.

Location is very good, very quiet and easy walking distance to everywhere you may want to go, docks, restaurants, shopping, banks. It is only Q5 per person for a tuk tuk anywhere in Pana if you are weighed down or if it is raining.

Jenna was extremely helpful answering emails, offering suggestions for restaurants, and another hotel in a different part of the lake. As well, she arranged our shuttles from GUA to Pana, a day shuttle from Pana to Chichi (for the market), and also our shuttle from Pana to Antigua. She is very receptive to answering queries and/or concerns from potential travellers to the Pana area. She was very, very accommodating, and kept our luggage when we went for an overnight, as it is very difficult to take a public boat with more than a carry-on.

Jenna’s offers excellent value!

Room Tip: I personally would recommend a second floor room (as windows would normally need to stay open as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Pros:
* Right off Lake Atitlan
* Comfortable spacious rooms
* AMAZING breakfast (I want that french toast recipe, Jenna)
* Adorable dogs running around and begging for an ear scratch
* Cozy backyard with hammocks and lounge space
* Short walk to main drag with many restaurants
* Jenna helps you arrange any trips (including transportation in/out of Pan)
* Rooftop access with lounge chairs. Perfect for watching a sunset.

Cons:
* None. You will not regret staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountaindale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Conveniently located just steps from Lake Atitlan, Jenna's offers comfortable accommodations in a serene setting. Jenna is the consummate hostess - warm, welcoming and as fascinating as the destination. Breakfast each morning was a great reason to rise and shine and dinner was a culinary delight you won't want to miss. Both were served in the lovely gardens that make Jenna's an extraordinary experience you won't want to miss.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 5 which gets both the morning and evening so can be on the warm side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Our small group took over Jenna's and it felt like home as soon as we arrived. A bit funky but comfortable and great location. Jenna herself is a hoot! and a charming hostess assisted by quiet but very good staff. Do yourself a favor - pre-arrange dinner there. Easily the best meal in Guatemala, and maybe beyond! Included breakfasts not only delicious and plentiful, but beautiful. Meals were served in the lovely gardens. JB Journeys will be back again next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panajachel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.7 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#14 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#7 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
2.5 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast

Address: Casa Loma | Calle Rancho Grande, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prices include full breakfasts.Situated half a block from the lake in a quiet part of town, Jenna's River bed and Breakfast is close to Restaurants, the Natural Reserve and Galleries, The house is a comfortable and homey place to go forth from to explore the Mayan highlands and villages around the lake. A Spanish style building with lovely gardens and terraces. The property has a total of 7 bedrooms, some with queen size beds, another with two single beds, two of the rooms have a queen size bed and day bed to accommodate a third person or child. One of the rooms has a king size bed. All the rooms have private en-suite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jenna's River Bed And Breakfast Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.