We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A ray of sunshine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panajachel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast
Casa Loma | Calle Rancho Grande, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$65 a night per couple
Ranked #1 of 29 hotels in Panajachel
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A ray of sunshine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

We arrived in Panajachel in torrential rain and were greeted with a beaming smile... And an umbrella. I'm not sure which was more welcome at the time!

Jenna really makes this place what it is. Yes, there is a welcome hot shower, cosy room (v comfy bed) and homely surroundings, plus three rather fabulous dogs (midge, cha cha and Lenny) but Jenna is the heart and soul of the experience.

From first email contact she was super helpful with travel plans and went out of her way whilst we were there to phone friends in other parts of the country to get weather recommendations so we could decide where to go next. Oh, and don't get me started on the breakfasts-other reviewers will attest to these being the best around. Jenna kindly let me have a peek at her pancakes recipe as we were bowled over by them.

Panajachel is perhaps not everyone's cup of tea (it is less pretty than other villages) and we were frequently recommended by others to stay in different villages, however we chose to stay here for two reasons: firstly the reviews of the b&b, which were universally glowing, and also the convenient boat routes around the lake villages, which helps when you are on a tight timetable. Restaurants were also good quality and varied-we particularly liked the newly opened Vietnamese on the main road and the two delis (very delicious quesedillas). If you were staying for longer it might be an idea to split your stay between Pana and another village.

Thanks Jenna! We hope to see you again soon, and will keep you updated on that Nicaraguan island ;-)

Emma and Andrew

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Owner at Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Most of the year, the weather is quite perfect in the Highlands of Guatemala. Sometimes, as it happened with you, it rains more than usual especially at this time of the year when we get the rains that come from being on the outskirts of the hurricanes in the Caribbean. I am glad you enjoyed your stay despite the wetness. The fireplace always helps and do please keep me up to date on the island project, it will be my turn to visit then! Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    13
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
61
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
haifa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Our stay in Pana was decided kind of in the last moment, we weren´t sure if to stay there or in San Pedro, we eventually decided on Pana, and went to Jennifer´s B&B after reading the review on TripAdvisor. Both Decisions turn out to be correct.
Pana is a wonderful town (we went also to San Pedro and there is nothing to compare), and Jennifer´s B&B is amaizing!!!
We had a wonderful stay there. the hosting was great. Jennifer and her 3 sweet (!!!) dogs welcomed us and made us feel at home. the room is extra comfortable, breakfast is amaizing (every day we had different type, all homemade with a lot of fresh fruits, fresh homemade bread), and Jennifer is a wonderful person who is fun to talk to.
the location is great because it is half a block from the center and dock, but still a very quiet place.
Jennifer also gave us great advices on places to go and eat, all turn out to be very good advices, this made our stay even better.
bottom line - you should go there we promise you will have a great time!!!
Gili & Ido

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Owner at Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
The Wonderful part is having you as a guest. It was a pleasure and I sincerely hope that one day you will be back in these parts to do some more exploration of this area. You will always be welcome. Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

As with many of the other guest comments Jenna's place is a home away from home! From the moment we first enquired about the accommodation via email to the moment we left the accommodation were we well looked after. Jenna's place is very comfortable, clean and safe. The beautifully kept gardens, the amazing breakfasts and the wonderful host left us wanting to stay longer! The warm and friendly environment allowed us to meet and make friends with the other travellers staying their too. Jenna provided us heaps of beneficial advice on what to do and see and also assisted us with organising transport and day tours etc. The price was very reasonable and even included the washing of our stinky clothes!! From two Aussie travellers - many thanks Jenna!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Beautiful home which was a home away from home. Jenna was the best host i couldnt fault her in any way. Would advise anyone to go there. Great breakfasts. Very comfortable bed and very close to main street. And my first hot shower since I have been traveling.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Owner at Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for the giggle. Good way to start the day. It was lovely to have you here and of course you are welcome any time. Lesson learned: do not forget Ipad in bed!! I hope you got home okay with Ipad in tow. Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Traveled solo, looking for a weekend retreat from the hustle and bustle of Guate City. Wow, what a wonderful escape! Jenna's b&b is a hidden jem in Panajachel engulfed by a beautifully kept garden and adorned with eclectic and fascinating art. It's a little hard to locate, at first, but is tucked away perfectly from the noise of the main drag while being close enough for easy access. The best part of Jenna's b&b is the homemade breakfast! Wonderful chutneys, jams, breads and my favorite - frijoles volteados. Oh, and the beds are divine - a hard find in Guatemala, in my experience, so that itself was worth the stay!

Jenna is a wonderful host, and ready to share infinite amount of stories and recommendations. Do not hesitate to stay here if you are looking for a laid back, home away from home - can't wait for my next trip!

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We, as a group of 5 adults and one baby, visited Atitlan last weekend for one night stay. As i started looking for places to stay on tripadvisor, i came across Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast. This place got really nice reviews from every category of travellers and so i put it on paper as one to enquire for. I did looked and called for few other places which were right on the lakeside with lake views from rooms and various other locations. But once i spoke to Jennifer on phone for enquiring about the availability of rooms for our group, i had this feeling this was the place we want to look for the moment we reach Panachajel. SO we went straight to Jenna's place once we were in Atitlan. I remember Jennifer giving me a call while we were trying to figure out the location of the place to help me in reaching there which was really very sweet of her. Once we were there the whole feel of being at home came over. It is an excellent place for people who want to stay in homely atmosphere with its beautiful gardens, living room, kitchen, amazingly comfortable beds, superb breakfast and over all Jennife's recommendations about almost everything you wanna know about while being there like boats, eating places, discos etc. Its clean, hygienic, amazing place to stay. Also i fell in love with her adorable pets Chaccha, Maze and Leni.Though we were there just for a night, our stay was memorable. And i would definitely recommend this place for anyone - group, couple, single or a family. We shall definitely love to visit Atitlan again some time and stay at Jenna's place, this time may be for a little longer time. Thanks Again for such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Owner at Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
I loved having you all stay here. Babies are always welcome of course, especially from Lenny's point of view as he loves children. I hope that you will be coming to Lake Atitlan again. Estamos para servirles, as they say. Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Jenna was a superb, attentive and responsive host who greeted us warmly and provided invaluable information and assistance throughout our six-day stay. Not to be missed: Jenna's remarkable and varied breakfasts, a different entree each day as well as fresh fruit and mango juice. A comfortable living room and bedrooms, and a lovely patio facing a yard of delightful plants and flowers. Makes you feel right at home. Thanks, Jenna, for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Owner at Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
It is I who thanks you for choosing to stay here at my bed and breakfast. It was lovely. Thank you for writing such a warm review. Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast

Address: Casa Loma | Calle Rancho Grande, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 hotels in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prices include full breakfasts.Situated half a block from the lake in a quiet part of town, Jenna's River bed and Breakfast is close to Restaurants, the Natural Reserve and Galleries, The house is a comfortable and homey place to go forth from to explore the Mayan highlands and villages around the lake. A Spanish style building with lovely gardens and terraces. The property has a total of 7 bedrooms, some with queen size beds, another with two single beds, two of the rooms have a queen size bed and day bed to accommodate a third person or child. One of the rooms has a king size bed. All the rooms have private en-suite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jenna's River Bed And Breakfast Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jenna's River Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list