We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Location and Ambiance, but Do Your Research” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Regis Panajachel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Regis Panajachel to your Saves list
Hotel Regis Panajachel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Santander, 3a. Avenida 3-47 Zona 2, Panajachel, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very Good Location and Ambiance, but Do Your Research”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Hotel Regis on Oct 4-5. As it happened, Thursday night (10/4) was the annual Panajachel blowout festival celebrating San Francisco de Asis (the town's patron Saint). There were fireworks every half hour and music and a lot of celebrating.

I say this because what I can guess is the local school band seems to be situated right next to the hotel (on the lobby side). They were playing all night Thursday (which I guess was expected) but they were also practicing on Friday late into the night, even though the town was practically dead everywhere else. I don't know if it's a ongoing issue or leading up to the festival or during a certain time of the year. Since it's right next to the hotel, I definitely recommend asking about it...or at least managing your expectations. The hotel is worth it.

Other Thoughts:
1. The hotel is gated and the gates close around nine or ten at night (though an on site guard is there to open it for you) and some relatively high walls. Definitely a safe feel and it's quite peaceful during the day (nice landscaping). Also, it's located closer to the lake (further down the hill?) and is literally seconds from a nice group of restaurants, cafes, sourvenir stands, etc. So you get both a secluded feel inside and a "right-in-it" feel outside.

2. As mentioned in other posts, the wi-fi only works ONLY in the lobby, though they also have a connected computer there for public use/printing. You won't be accessing the internet from your room, but if you do need access, the lobby is there. NOTE: the lobby closes around nine or ten at night so get in early if you want to check your email.

3. The amenities are what you would expect; not a luxury hotel, but very clean and well kept. We slept well both nights.

4. As with all places in Panajachel, there is a large sign/warning about not using the water in the sinks for drinking (something about sulfer from the lake's hot springs). A few purchased bottles of water took care of everything nicely.

5. We picked a room in the back of the complex, furthest away from the lobby and local school band. You can still hear the music from there, but not enough to ruin a good night's sleep. Also, there was a mini kitchen and a small dining table (and a small fridge, but it was unplugged when we arrived).

Since we only stayed at the Regis, I can't really compare it to the other hotels in Panahachel (freebies, extended wi-fi, etc.). I will say that we really enjoyed our stay there and would definitely returned (though we'd keep our room in the back by the hot springs stone jacuzzi, just in case the band was playing) .

Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    59
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
24
52
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Rooms are clean but out dated. Beds were comfy but noise was an issue in the mornings with the grounds keepers and a school next door.
The afternoon front desk attendant wasn't that friendly either. Wifi works in reception.
The location is good, and the shuttles from the tour agency out the front are comfy with lots of leg room, a lot better than the bus with NO leg room fro, further down the road.
Hot springs are good on a day they have refreshed and filled up the water.

Room Tip: Away from the main road and reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

After two gruelling travel days, arriving at the Hotel Regis was heavenly. We had a large room with comfortable beds, welcoming staff in the dining room, and very pleasant grounds. WiFi workds in the hotel lobby but not in each room. I'd be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Location, Location, location! Regis is right in the middle of Panajachel, located on the main street (Santander) to all the restaurants, hotels and to the docks. You simply can't beat the location. The second thing that Regis has going for them are the natural hot springs pools and spa services. They have two huge stone natural hot springs pools in the resort which are simply awesome! They are hot jacuzzi natural pools which have a mini cascade of hot water pouring down on it. They also have a cold water cascade near the jacuzzi pools. Very refreshing water. Individual showers are also located through out the pools. The one thing I really enjoyed was the Temascal, which is a Mayan steam room made of stone and which uses real wood to produce steam inside the room. Pretty nifty.

Besides the spa section of the grounds, the hotel also offers a restaurant with above average food though a bit expensive. We opted to dine elsewhere, but did have lunch there once, it was ok. The hotel also offers various game tables which we used and had lots of fun.

I would have given Regis 5 stars but for the rooms though, they were just above average I found them to be a bit dated on the furniture and beds and probably need some renovations otherwise, Regis is one of the top hotels in Pana, in my opinion. Don't get me wrong, the rooms were clean, spacious and had everything we needed.

I would recommend Hotel Regis as an alternate option to the other major resorts around the area. For the value and spa section, Hotel Regis is a bargain.

Room Tip: There are plenty of options, I would opt out for rooms closest to the hot springs pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We are a family of 5. We got the triple room which has 2 double beds and one single. The room was clean and quiet and had a nice porch. The girls loved the thermal pools ( the staff lowered the temperature for us.. ). It is right in the middle of things yet isolated enough for the girls to run free within the territory. Breakfast not included in our deal. It was OK.
We extended our planned stay because the girls really liked it. Comfortable and green.
Limited English for those who mind..

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Clean, Convenient but can't really recommend...

The Regis Spa is conveniently situated, especially if you need a parking space. The outside thermal pool and ping pong table are nice too. The rooms, in our case numbers 1 & 2 were large and clean. 

However, the beds sagged inwards, the curtains were light transparent and the proximity to the reception and parking lot all combined to make sleeping a less than easy experience.

Wifi connection was ok but you needed to be less than 2m from the reception desk to get it. 
Shower was lukewarm at best! Didn't take breakfast so can't comment. Staff seem disinterested and so overall the experience is one we couldn't recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our group of 8 stayed in Hotel Regis because it had been recommended by friends and because it was centrally located. We were all surprised that a hotel of this quality could be right in the center of Panajachel amidst the hustle and bustle of street vendors, artisan shops, wonderful restaurants and other businesses. And it was quiet in the evenings after 9 pm which made sleeping very nice. The grounds were beautifully kept and the hot tub, waterfall, and sauna added a lot to our stay. It was very clean with the towels artistically arranged in new shapes every day. The food was better than average for breakfast. Dinner was good but the service was a bit slow. WiFi and Internet were a plus. The staff were helpful and gracious.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Regis Panajachel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regis Panajachel

Address: Calle Santander, 3a. Avenida 3-47 Zona 2, Panajachel, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Regis Panajachel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Regis Panajachel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regis Panajachel Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Regis Panajachel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.