We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TOSA La Laguna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added TOSA La Laguna to your Saves list
TOSA La Laguna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Antonio Palopo, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Day Spa Retreats
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Lake Atitlan
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is a hidden jewel directly on magical Lake Atitlan, Guatemala. Well appointed, gorgeous, comfortable, and remote, it's a great place to decompress, enjoy good clean delicious food and wine, and bathe in the silky waters of the lake. The place is entirely off the grid, built into the rocks on the shoreline with an unencumbered view of the entire area. I would stay there a few days and use it as a base to explore the small villages on the lake as well as do some handicraft shopping in Panajachel. The owners are also professional energy healers, and their work is pretty rocking, so if they are around, I wouldn't miss getting a session. Management makes it easy to get there - they shuttle you to the lake and take you in by boat. Totally charming and rejeuvenating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    2
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
20
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Yes it's true! I have discovered the heart of Lake Atitlan in Guatemala. It's clear to me that this "off the grid" nature preserve is "mother nature's" "get a way" too as together we relax to lapping waters, cradled in the aromas of plentiful and delicious vegan cuisines. A timeless journey awaits you as you take a moment, and relax into "you"!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

TOSA La Laguna is a little corner of heaven hiding on Lake Atitlan.
We celebrated our 41st wedding anniversary there and it is one we will always remember.
The moment we stepped from the boat and were met by Anam & Javier, we automatically left our hectic lives behind. Our wonderfully comfortable room, the Mayan Suite, a short rock path climb, was perfect for us, and to find water in the tap to drink, which was alkalised, was just one of the great wonders for us, and from the first mouthful we could feel the cleansing. The vegetarian dishes were so fresh and inspired, we left each meal, looking forward to the next creation.
The morning yoga, meditation, minding, care and personal attention at Tosa has to be experienced at least once in a lifetime, BUT, be warned, once you go there, you will long to return.
Anam, and all the staff, we thank you for a life long experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

TOSA La Laguna is an amazingly beautiful sanctuary, with all a person needs to relax, rejuvenate and just plain have a wonderful vacation, getaway, group gathering and more!
It is secluded, the only access being via boat, so there is no noise! Only the sounds of Nature. There are day trips available to some of the towns on the lake, if that is something you would be interested in.
The Casitas are BEAUTIFUL as well as so comfortable and functional! We stayed in the main suite on the water, and had plenty of hot water in a jacuzzi style shower, along with a bed that was amazingly comfortable!
The food was so nourishing and so yummy; and so fresh!
I rated the 'Swimmimg Pool' as excellent, because the pool is the Lake! It is so nourishing!
The staff was just the best anywhere, attending to the rooms with perfection as well as feeding us and doing the spa treatments. You have to do the ozone treatment, you will love it!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I just returned from another stay at TOSA La Laguna and wanted to share how much I enjoyed my time. All of my needs were met beyond expecations; the fresh organic vegan food was extraordinary.... the spa amenities were healing and rejuvenating and the beds were extremely comfortable. Thank you for this experience!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We spent two days here in July, and had a wonderful experience. The location is truly stunning. I have stayed at a few other places on the lake, and this is by far my favorite for a restful, secluded experience. Here are some details about our experience to help you decide if Tosa is for you:

1. Location: Absolutely gorgeous. One of the best spots on the lake. That said, it is built on the side of the mountain, and most of the rooms require some ability to climb stairs/rocks. Also, it is secluded. If you want to relax in a beautiful location, this is a great spot for you. If you want tons of shopping or village hopping, this may not be the best place to stay.

2. Activities: We loved the morning yoga, the little waterside yurt was a great place to do it and we have continued to practice it since returning home. Anam led the practice beautifully. We also arranged for a tour with Juan Skinner, who has a wealth of knowledge about the lake and was really interesting.

3. Casitas: We stayed in the sacred mountain dome, and even though we are not in bad shape, it was a challenging climb. It was worth it, but I wouldn't want to make that trip more than two times a day! The walking stick in the casita helped quite a bit. We peeked at the other rooms, which were all nice, but we loved the spacious and secluded feel of the mountain dome. Falling asleep (in the incredibly comfy bed) to the sound of insects/frogs/birds was amazingly relaxing. We had some issues with our shower, and it turned out it needed a new part in order to get hot water. They worked hard to resolve the issue and were apologetic about it.

4. Food: I am mostly vegetarian, my husband has a mixed diet but loves veggies. We both really enjoyed the simple, nourishing food. We did both ask for seconds at some meals, but in no way felt bad about it (in fact, they asked at every meal if we wanted more). We have tried to replicate the coconut milk pasta at home with some success!

5. Overall feeling: We arrived at Tosa feeling hurried, stressed, and tired. I had been working in Guatemala for a week, and my husband had just arrived. From the moment we arrived at the dock, we felt ourselves starting to unwind. The foot treatment took us down several notches, and by dinner that night we felt totally relaxed. Add in the great night of sleep listening to nature sounds in the dome, and were seriously blissed out. The morning yoga was amazing, and after a couple days we left feeling truly restored.

We loved it and hope to return.

Room Tip: We loved the mountain dome--super spacious, private deck, very secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOSALL, Owner at TOSA La Laguna, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your detailed sharing and we appreciate your feedback! We are a unique property that offers true 5 star services and amenities at 3 star prices. Maximizing a truly special lake experience for our guests is what we do best. We do maintenance checks on all casitas prior to arrivals and after departures to avoid any issues with all items and do apologize for any temporary concerns! The Mountain Dome is a hike that is well worth it and all meals can actually be served to you in the dome when you return if you would enjoy that as well! The Zen Dome and Mayan Suite have a similar feel if you prefer and of course our Royal Suite is just a few shorts steps away from the dock. We look forward to welcoming you back and are delighted you were able to enjoy yourselves!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We visited TOSA La Laguna for our 1 year wedding anniversary and could not have been happier with the experience!

The staff were incredible, extremely friendly and helpful and were happy to let us enjoy the resort exactly the way we wanted. The food was amazing - it was fresh and delicious and despite being vegan (we are both non-vegetarians) we were incredibly impressed with every meal. Our room (the zen dome) could not have been better, comfortable, private, excellent hot water and the most comfortable bed we have ever seen!

While TOSA is definitely not for everyone, we would definitely recommend it to people looking for a romantic, secluded and spectacular location that is amazing for a special occasion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOSALL, Owner at TOSA La Laguna, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hello and thank you for sharing your anniversary with us. We have shared your appreciation with our staff and we agree that whether or not someone is vegetarian the food at TOSA LL is amazing! We are always available to create meals that bring a smile. Our signature tempur-foam beds are a rarity in Guatemala and we are happy you slept well and were able to enjoy the many amenities at TOSA. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TOSA La Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TOSA La Laguna

Address: San Antonio Palopo, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Lake Atitlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — TOSA La Laguna 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOSA LL is a unique boutique eco-resort and private nature reserve on the shore of beautiful Lake Atitlan. Located at the cleanest and deepest part of the lake, the center is 100% eco friendly. Delight in the luxurious custom spa treatments and indulge in holistic health programs. All-inclusive, (3 meals per day plus snacks), with personalized cuisine and attention.Each of the five casitas is a stunning suite with tempur-foam beds and organic amenities. Abundant and unlimited clean drinking water along with personalized attention highlight your experience. While on-site enjoy hiking, spa services and gourmet cuisine or simply relax into the best sunset view of the lake.Discover peaceful tranquility, privacy and the gift of boat only access. Easily access all other parts of the lake for day tours and return to your sanctuary in the evening. TOSA La Laguna is designed to accommodate your comfort and assist you to vision your dreams...relax, rejuvenate and discover the unspoiled beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your TOSA La Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TOSA La Laguna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.