We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rejuvenating, Restorative and Peace-filled” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TOSA La Laguna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added TOSA La Laguna to your Saves list
TOSA La Laguna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Antonio Palopo, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Royal Suite $30 off!
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Lake Atitlan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hancock, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rejuvenating, Restorative and Peace-filled”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I just returned from another stay at TOSA La Laguna and wanted to share how much I enjoyed my time. All of my needs were met beyond expecations; the fresh organic vegan food was extraordinary.... the spa amenities were healing and rejuvenating and the beds were extremely comfortable. Thank you for this experience!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    4
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
24
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We spent two days here in July, and had a wonderful experience. The location is truly stunning. I have stayed at a few other places on the lake, and this is by far my favorite for a restful, secluded experience. Here are some details about our experience to help you decide if Tosa is for you:

1. Location: Absolutely gorgeous. One of the best spots on the lake. That said, it is built on the side of the mountain, and most of the rooms require some ability to climb stairs/rocks. Also, it is secluded. If you want to relax in a beautiful location, this is a great spot for you. If you want tons of shopping or village hopping, this may not be the best place to stay.

2. Activities: We loved the morning yoga, the little waterside yurt was a great place to do it and we have continued to practice it since returning home. Anam led the practice beautifully. We also arranged for a tour with Juan Skinner, who has a wealth of knowledge about the lake and was really interesting.

3. Casitas: We stayed in the sacred mountain dome, and even though we are not in bad shape, it was a challenging climb. It was worth it, but I wouldn't want to make that trip more than two times a day! The walking stick in the casita helped quite a bit. We peeked at the other rooms, which were all nice, but we loved the spacious and secluded feel of the mountain dome. Falling asleep (in the incredibly comfy bed) to the sound of insects/frogs/birds was amazingly relaxing. We had some issues with our shower, and it turned out it needed a new part in order to get hot water. They worked hard to resolve the issue and were apologetic about it.

4. Food: I am mostly vegetarian, my husband has a mixed diet but loves veggies. We both really enjoyed the simple, nourishing food. We did both ask for seconds at some meals, but in no way felt bad about it (in fact, they asked at every meal if we wanted more). We have tried to replicate the coconut milk pasta at home with some success!

5. Overall feeling: We arrived at Tosa feeling hurried, stressed, and tired. I had been working in Guatemala for a week, and my husband had just arrived. From the moment we arrived at the dock, we felt ourselves starting to unwind. The foot treatment took us down several notches, and by dinner that night we felt totally relaxed. Add in the great night of sleep listening to nature sounds in the dome, and were seriously blissed out. The morning yoga was amazing, and after a couple days we left feeling truly restored.

We loved it and hope to return.

Room Tip: We loved the mountain dome--super spacious, private deck, very secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOSALL, Owner at TOSA La Laguna, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your detailed sharing and we appreciate your feedback! We are a unique property that offers true 5 star services and amenities at 3 star prices. Maximizing a truly special lake experience for our guests is what we do best. We do maintenance checks on all casitas prior to arrivals and after departures to avoid any issues with all items and do apologize for any temporary concerns! The Mountain Dome is a hike that is well worth it and all meals can actually be served to you in the dome when you return if you would enjoy that as well! The Zen Dome and Mayan Suite have a similar feel if you prefer and of course our Royal Suite is just a few shorts steps away from the dock. We look forward to welcoming you back and are delighted you were able to enjoy yourselves!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We visited TOSA La Laguna for our 1 year wedding anniversary and could not have been happier with the experience!

The staff were incredible, extremely friendly and helpful and were happy to let us enjoy the resort exactly the way we wanted. The food was amazing - it was fresh and delicious and despite being vegan (we are both non-vegetarians) we were incredibly impressed with every meal. Our room (the zen dome) could not have been better, comfortable, private, excellent hot water and the most comfortable bed we have ever seen!

While TOSA is definitely not for everyone, we would definitely recommend it to people looking for a romantic, secluded and spectacular location that is amazing for a special occasion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOSALL, Owner at TOSA La Laguna, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hello and thank you for sharing your anniversary with us. We have shared your appreciation with our staff and we agree that whether or not someone is vegetarian the food at TOSA LL is amazing! We are always available to create meals that bring a smile. Our signature tempur-foam beds are a rarity in Guatemala and we are happy you slept well and were able to enjoy the many amenities at TOSA. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

TOSA La Laguna is a wonderful and beautiful place, a serene nature reserve. A great place to disconnect, get away from it all and go within. There is a mystical quality to the lake which is very nourishing and energizing to the mind, body, and soul. The casitas at TOSA LA Laguna are absolutely gorgeous and wonderfully furnished, the beds are very comfortable! The food was just amazing, delicious and truly nourishing. The staff is great and very attentive, they really work hard to accommodate your stay. The lake waters are pristine and a swim in the lake is a healing experience in itself. I recommend TOSA La Laguna to anyone looking for a blissful getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOSALL, Manager at TOSA La Laguna, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Greetings Adrian!
Yes, a swim in the lake is one of the many benefits of being onsite at TOSA La Laguna as other locations around the lake are now...sadly...not safe to swim. The water is always beautiful and we also have worked diligently to provide crystal clear drinking and showering water throughout the facility. A rare find in Guatemala 100% of our water is not only safe and delicious it has been lightly alkalized to provide for optimum hydration and is always included at no charge with your casita!
Thank you again for your sharing and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Wonderful casitas (except for inconsistent hot water) and beautiful, isolated, incredibly safe location - swim, kayak, and get a foot massage! They do not serve any meat, dairy, eggs or other animal related foods which means that you're eating much fiber. The food was OK - not very flavorful except for the coconut milk ice cream concoction which was delicious and the guacamole and chips which I specifically requested before I arrived. The staff are very attentive and accommodating. I recommend this for veggie and fruit lovers who want a tranquil get-away from it all.

Room Tip: Most affordable room is high up many stairs and the water in the shower was not consistently hot any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOSALL, Front Office Manager at TOSA La Laguna, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hello and thank you for writing.
We appreciate your taking the time to write however your review is quite puzzling as it does not reflect accuracy with the exception that indeed TOSA LL is for those who are seeking a tranquil, "authentic and non--polluted" Lake Atitlan experience.
Prior to your arrival we had many emails and you were clear we are a vegetarian resort. While onsite you refused most of our gourmet foods and we offered you what you wanted and did our best to assist you however when you refuse virtually everything it is challenging. Given we are known for our food quality, flavors and ability to satisfy most people we did our absolute best.
As for the hot water, it works PERFECTLY!
We offer an orientation to the hot water as part of your arrival since we use very high quality European Instant on Hot water heaters that are safe, eco-friendly and consistent. Our staff would have been happy to assist you to feel more comfortable with the hot water and we apologize that you were unable to have that experience.
Upon leaving you were so happy, (zero mention of anything you placed in this review), you shared with us that you wanted to return with your friend, so again your review is puzzling and we always appreciate comments from our guests so that we many constantly do our best to maintain our clients satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I had a truly blissful stay at Tosa La Laguna! I was surrounded by the pristine water of Lake Atitlan with pure fresh mountain air and no noise pollution. Every morning I was greeted by the song of birds and the manificent views. The food and service were excellent, the rooms and grounds are very clean and up kept, and the staff attended to my every need. The spa treatments further enhanced the trip, so if you visit, definitely indulge! Every moment was worth it and turned out to be the perfect getaway!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOSALL, Owner at TOSA La Laguna, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hello Mary!
The fresh pure air and singing birds are one of the many special gifts that one can enjoy at TOSA La Laguna and something not found in the larger tourist towns on the lake anymore. We have shared your compliments with our cleaning staff who take great pride in always insuring your room is spotlessly clean and welcoming. How wonderful you gifted yourself with spa treatments as for many this is simply the "icing on the cake" to fully embrace the majesty of our nature setting.
We would look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandan, North Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Tosa is located on the south side of Lake Atilian in a quiet cove . Totally off the grid, it is an example of how little we really need as it offers plenty to energize one's body, mind and spirit.
I enjoyed the maintained mountain trail to a Mayan ceremonial cite. I was here 4 years ago, when it was a dirt trail. The hike offers to take moments to enjoy the gifts of the mountain's nature and view of the lake. I am 54 and larger size woman, I was comfortable taking this trail. It is mountain elevation, so taking breaks would be suggested for anyone.
An early mourning swim in the lake was truly refreshing. Being a deep mountain lake, it was surprisingly warm.
I enjoyed the nourishing meals. The fresh produce from local gardens was energizing and wonderfully prepared. A nice variety
The Staff was wonderful and accomidating for everyones needs.
This is a wonderful place to step away from the world and touch your soul.
I could stay there for a long time and not feel I was missing anything but connecting to the self.
I recomend this stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Zen dome. Very spacious. Loved the coffee press. Organic coffee from Guatemala. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOSALL, Owner at TOSA La Laguna, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Greetings Gladys!
We are delighted you enjoyed our special treat of in-room organic coffee and tea and we chose to use the French press as each person has their own preference as to strength and brew time for the perfect cup! We also smile at the word "nourish" as our meals are designed to satisfy your palette and your body along with offering joy as part of your journey at TOSA La Laguna. We are glad you returned and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Atitlan hotels
7.5 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
6.4 mi away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
5.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
8.1 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
1.5 mi away
Atitlan Villas
Atitlan Villas
#1 of 2 in San Antonio Palopo
5.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TOSA La Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TOSA La Laguna

Address: San Antonio Palopo, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Lake Atitlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — TOSA La Laguna 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOSA LL is a unique boutique eco-resort and private nature reserve on the shore of beautiful Lake Atitlan. Located at the cleanest and deepest part of the lake, the center is 100% eco friendly. Delight in the luxurious custom spa treatments and indulge in holistic health programs. All-inclusive, (3 meals per day plus snacks), with personalized cuisine and attention.Each of the five casitas is a stunning suite with tempur-foam beds and organic amenities. Abundant and unlimited clean drinking water along with personalized attention highlight your experience. While on-site enjoy hiking, spa services and gourmet cuisine or simply relax into the best sunset view of the lake.Discover peaceful tranquility, privacy and the gift of boat only access. Easily access all other parts of the lake for day tours and return to your sanctuary in the evening. TOSA La Laguna is designed to accommodate your comfort and assist you to vision your dreams...relax, rejuvenate and discover the unspoiled beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your TOSA La Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TOSA La Laguna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.