We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice right by the airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Villa Toscana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Villa Toscana to your Saves list
Hostal Villa Toscana
16 Calle 8-20 zona 13 | Aurora I, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 40 Guatemala City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent choice right by the airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Our usual experience of hotels by the airport are expensive and mediocre. However, it was a pleasant surprise to find Hostal Villa Toscana. As we booked a little late, only the suite was available, but that was only at $68 per night (March 2014). We thought, oh why not?

The hotel staff was exceedingly helpful. He thought of what we needed before we did. Since it was almost 9pm when we arrived, he made sure we ordered some food before the restaurant closed otherwise we would have dilly-dallied and then realized it was too late (there is no restaurant at the hotel so we had to rely on delivery).

Our suite was beautiful with a side window and also private porch that was rather large. We loved having a porch that looked down to the garden. It also had a view of the volcano. Since the walls were a little high, we had some privacy which was nice. Bathroom was clean and simple.

The room came with a free breakfast that you can select from a menu. Options included the desayuno tipico, pancakes, oatmeal etc. We had the tipico and it came with eggs, bread, cookies, plaintains and coffee/tea. It was rather tasty as I've always preferred hot breakfasts. It was nice to sit and eat breakfast at the outdoor area while enjoying the garden.

The only minor complaint is that the free taxi they sent was late to pick us up. Perhaps they can make sure this doesn't happen as it can be a little inconvenient for foreign travelers who spoke little Spanish and could not find a public phone where we were.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the suite as it's on the top floor so it's more quiet and it has a huge por...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    60
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
33
60
39
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Lovely room, clean, comfortable, great bed, quality linens, quiet, amazing hosts who went out of their way for us. If you need to stay near the airport, this is the place to be! Walking distance to the airport, the museum, artesans.

Room Tip: Can't imagine a bad room in this place. We were upstairs at the back and had a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zihuatanejo mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

After a fabulous 2 weeks in Guatemala: I didn't expect much from a place that would cater to the overnite airport traveler. What a gem! Great room, great staff and the touch of European taste that the owner brings. Unfortunately, our very early a.m. flight didn't allow us to try breakfast. But at these prices, I am going to recommend this to anyone traveling out of Aurora airport!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRITISH COLUMBIA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

If you are using Guatemala City as a hub for visiting Guatemala then the Hostal Villa Toscana is worth considering. In a secure compound only minutes from the airport the hotel is small, very clean and comfortable. At the reasonable price of about $50 US double, you have a nice room and a morning breakfast to start your day. Lots of places to order takeout food from and the Hostal will serve that for you on proper plates, glasses, etc. in their breakfast area or out in the garden area at no extra charge.

The only down side would be for those who are very sensitive to sound. You are close to the airport and a military base will give you lessons in drumming and mass singing very early in the morning. Local dogs barking, any time of the day or night.

Room Tip: Desk staff are fluent in English and Spanish
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This place was recommended by a traveler on Lonely Planet as being a reasonably priced ($45 USD for single), safe "hotel" near the airport in Guatemala City. It was in compound, surrounding by wire fencing and with a security guard. So close to the airport that you heard the planes reeving up to take off ... probably under 6 blocks away. The free transportation to the airport was in a FILTHY cab that was on its last leg (ie. seat didnt even have springs left in it) and there was no doubt the driver was looking for a tip for this 5min ride. Barely slept as the walls are paper thin... I could hear every sound down too a person coughing or flushing a toilet (by staff or in other rooms). The room had mosquitoes zipping around which is not a good feeling in a country with issues like malaria. By morning I had 6 bites/welts on my face and not sure it it was from them or something else. The bedspread and floor mat were old and dirty! Once in you really cant leave unless you want to cab it out of the compound and the only access to food is if the staff goes to get you sometime... they will.. but you pay... $8 USD for a McDonalds hamburger !

IF you are asking yourself if there was anything good... yes there is wifi, a pretty little courtyard & the staff were nice / pleasant. Oh and there's breakfast in the morning but I cant comment on that as I couldnt even get a coffee because I had to leave at 7am and the "breakfast" started at 7 .. I did ask the night before if it would be possible to get a coffee to go and they advised "no but we will offer you an orange juice and granola bar". :(

Room Tip: Hmmm not sure that's possible here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Could not be better as a base for airport, in a gated community a couple of minutes from international terminal. You could literally walk it (although not advisable with cases at wrong time of day), but you don't need to as they supply free transport. Archaeological museum and zoo are a 15 minute walk away. Room on first night was very basic, room on second night was excellent next to garden. Breakfast in small garden very pleasant. In evening you can order a takeaway through reception. No problem with flight noise as flights are infrequent. Like rest of Guatemala will accept US dollars and you will get a better exchange rate, a lot better than licensed rip off rate at airport bureaux. If traveling to Flores on one of the smaller airlines note that they go from another terminal at opposite side of airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great place. Clean, super convenient for visiting zoo, handicrafts mall & archeological museum with Tikal lintels. You can walk to the airport. Safe and very comfortable. Easy taxi to downtown shopping & restaurants. Great, hot showers!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
1.3 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#7 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#4 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
3.8 mi away
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Posada Belen Museo Inn
#5 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#26 of 48 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guatemala
Crowne Plaza Guatemala
#14 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Inmaculada Hotel
La Inmaculada Hotel
#2 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Villa Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Villa Toscana

Address: 16 Calle 8-20 zona 13 | Aurora I, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostal Villa Toscana!Since 2007, we are a hostel that offers all the comfort you need to feel at home in Guatemala City.We are known for our friendly service in a family atmosphere.Located in a strategic spot, just 1 minute from the airport and near the major tourist sites and business centres, makes us an attractive place for national and foreign visitors. We offer our guests a pleasant, safe and comfortable stay at a great price. Our goal is to make your stay with us an enjoyable experience!ROOMS AND RATES All our rooms are private and include:• Cable TV• Wireless Internet access• Bathroom with hot water• Shampoo, soap and towelsTYPES OF ROOM RATES• Single: 1 single bed US $ 38.00• Double: 2 single beds US $ 50.00• Triple: 3 single beds US $ 75.00• Matrimonial: 1 king bed US $ 57.00• Suite: 1 king bed, sitting area and terrace US $ 66.00Rate includes:• Taxes 22%• Breakfast: typical guatemalan, continental, american or cereal with milk• Private parking• Illimited internet acces in our guest computer or wireless in all the hostel• Immediate medical assistance service• Transfers airport (Intl. La Aurora) / hostel / airport** Shuttle service is included for up to 3 people from 5:00 am to 9:30 pm, outside these hours is an additional fee of $ 6.00. From 4 people on, we hired a bus for $ 15.00 per trip.We are able to comfortably accommodate up to 28 people.Check in: 15:00 Hrs.Check out: 12:00 Hrs.Payment:• Cash in U.S. dollars or quetzals• Checks in U.S. dollars or quetzals (for national companies only)• Credit card or debit card (6% surcharge)SERVICES • Meals (delivery service, fast and gourmet food)• Hot and cold drinks available at the hostel• Taxi• Tours• Rental cars• Laundry• Luggage storageWhat's Nearby?A 15 minute walk are the Museum of Ethnology, Archaeology, Modern Art, Children's Museum, Aurora Zoo and the Handicraft Market.10 minutes by car, there are the Ixchel and Popol Vuh museums.A 5 minute drive you can visit the Zona Viva, famous for its variety of restaurant bars, coffee shops and business centers.A 15 minute drive you can visit the Historic Center, where are located the National Palace, the Metropolitan Cathedral, Trade Portal and Central Park.We are also near the most famous and modern shopping centers as Miraflores and Oakland Mall, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal Villa Toscana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Villa Toscana Hotel Guatemala City
Hostal Villa Toscana Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Villa Toscana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.