We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Villa Toscana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Villa Toscana to your Saves list
Hostal Villa Toscana
16 Calle 8-20 zona 13 | Aurora I, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 38 Guatemala City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Villa Toscana is good place to stay. The location is close to the airport and excellent for early morning flights, although a little away from the rest of Guatemala City. The room was clean and the staff were very helpful. I'd recommend this place to family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    55
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
31
59
35
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights last week. On the positive: Rooms are clean, large had hot water - though not enough to take a real bath in the nice tub. Great breakfast and very helpful, friendly English speaking staff both day and evening. Across the street from the airport and free shuttle there made it very convenient.

On the negative: A military training camp one block away. The drums and loud chants of the soldiers were disturbing. So were the airplanes taking off, landing and the dog nearby barking.
The area is safe because each block is strongly gated and access is through a gate with guards which, while you might be safe, felt like a total prison. Didn't leave the room past 5 PM but Guatemala City is boring so there was nowhere I wanted to go anyway.
I had a friend staying in another city who had a cell phone. The owner made a call to her for me and though it was not a long distance call, charged me 25 cents/minute for the call. It was petty and a rip off knowing it didn't cost them a penny to make that call.

Room Tip: Good place to be if you are flying out early in the morning or arriving late at night. Otherwise, f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, WA. USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The main reason we stayed here was because of the proximity to the airport. We only stayed one night and flew out early the next morning. The amenities weren't too bad, but dated. Had an old school TV and the bathroom could use some updating. It was also kind of hard to find the place since it's in a gated area and has a small sign. Fortunately we found it without too much guessing. One thing that bothered me was when we checked in, the woman couldn't process the credit card. She ended up calling a bank and then making an imprint of the card using pencil lead. It took about five times longer than it should have and she failed to give me the (poor) card back. I had to ask for it. We had to leave before breakfast was served, so I can't comment on it. As a consolation, we did get some breakfast bars and juice.

Would we ever stay there again? Probably not, but it did serve its purpose.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We arrived on a 10:30 pm flight into Guatemala city and it was a treat to settle into Villa Toscana - so close to the airport. They gave us a discount on an upgrade room because the one we asked for wasn't available. Very quiet and comfortable. Enjoyed the tipico breakfast with many cups of organic coffee on the patio the next morning before going off to catch a bus to RIo Dulce. Good wifi, TV reception, helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Northwest
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night on our way out of Guatemala City.

Pluses:
1) a 3-minute ride to the airport (unless you're flying domestically)
2) Clean & quiet

Minuses:
1) their website says "free airport pickup." I scheduled it, it was confirmed, only to have the owner email me to say my airport transfer was NOT free, because I was flying an airline which was "too far away" (it was still arriving at the international airport). She offered to get a taxi for $7. I noted that her website said all airport pickups were free (one of the reason we booked), AND taxis were $6. She was nice enough to offer us a free pickup after I pointed that out.

2) Most people staying there are on their way to the airport, yet breakfast doesn't serve until 7am...so those of us with an earlier flight get day-old pancakes. We cooked ourselves all a fresh breakfast instead.

3) I booked through Hostelz.com, and it clearly stated my final amount due. Never before have I encounted a place that added taxes/fees on to that amount. She did. "Final amount" apparently means something different to this proprietor.

4) It's nowhere near anything except the airport. Expect to take an expensive taxi ride to dinner, or order it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here many times flying in and out and out of G. City, and it rates far and above any other place we have stayed (when Villa Toscana was booked up). The family owners/operators are awesome---- very accommodating for all of our needs. The entire place is super clean, the breakfasts are awesome, and they stock cerveza frio in the fridge! The hotel is a few minutes from the airport, and they drop us off for free! It is very safe, enclosed totally within a wall.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Recently I visited Guatemala City. Just by chance I found this wonderful "bed and breakfast" and I had a really good time!!! I spent two nigths in this "hostal". The price includes room. The room includes a decent tv with cable (main tv shows), internet for free, and two kinds of breakfasts. One called "Typical Breakfast" (which I recommend) is a local breakfast and the other is called "American" which is a typical breakfast from USA. Both are served either in the dining room or outside next to the garden. They don't serve food at noon or at night. Instead you can ask "Michael" to order meals from the around restaurants. The restaurants and small coffe shops deliver. The food goes from fast food to fine food and the prices are affordable. "Michael" will serve the food in the dining room in a fine set of dishes at not extra cost.

Room Tip: This is a small two stories building: rooms in the first level are better because you don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Villa Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Villa Toscana

Address: 16 Calle 8-20 zona 13 | Aurora I, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostal Villa Toscana!Since 2007, we are a hostel that offers all the comfort you need to feel at home in Guatemala City.We are known for our friendly service in a family atmosphere.Located in a strategic spot, just 1 minute from the airport and near the major tourist sites and business centres, makes us an attractive place for national and foreign visitors. We offer our guests a pleasant, safe and comfortable stay at a great price. Our goal is to make your stay with us an enjoyable experience!ROOMS AND RATES All our rooms are private and include:• Cable TV• Wireless Internet access• Bathroom with hot water• Shampoo, soap and towelsTYPES OF ROOM RATES• Single: 1 single bed US $ 38.00• Double: 2 single beds US $ 50.00• Triple: 3 single beds US $ 75.00• Matrimonial: 1 king bed US $ 57.00• Suite: 1 king bed, sitting area and terrace US $ 66.00Rate includes:• Taxes 22%• Breakfast: typical guatemalan, continental, american or cereal with milk• Private parking• Illimited internet acces in our guest computer or wireless in all the hostel• Immediate medical assistance service• Transfers airport (Intl. La Aurora) / hostel / airport** Shuttle service is included for up to 3 people from 5:00 am to 9:30 pm, outside these hours is an additional fee of $ 6.00. From 4 people on, we hired a bus for $ 15.00 per trip.We are able to comfortably accommodate up to 28 people.Check in: 15:00 Hrs.Check out: 12:00 Hrs.Payment:• Cash in U.S. dollars or quetzals• Checks in U.S. dollars or quetzals (for national companies only)• Credit card or debit card (6% surcharge)SERVICES • Meals (delivery service, fast and gourmet food)• Hot and cold drinks available at the hostel• Taxi• Tours• Rental cars• Laundry• Luggage storageWhat's Nearby?A 15 minute walk are the Museum of Ethnology, Archaeology, Modern Art, Children's Museum, Aurora Zoo and the Handicraft Market.10 minutes by car, there are the Ixchel and Popol Vuh museums.A 5 minute drive you can visit the Zona Viva, famous for its variety of restaurant bars, coffee shops and business centers.A 15 minute drive you can visit the Historic Center, where are located the National Palace, the Metropolitan Cathedral, Trade Portal and Central Park.We are also near the most famous and modern shopping centers as Miraflores and Oakland Mall, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostal Villa Toscana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Villa Toscana Hotel Guatemala City
Hostal Villa Toscana Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Villa Toscana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.