We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a quick stop over between flights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariana's Petit Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Mariana's Petit Hotel to your Saves list
Mariana's Petit Hotel
20 Calle 10-17 | Zone 13, aurora II, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 37 Guatemala City B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ideal for a quick stop over between flights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Situated very close to the airport - about a ten min drive - so it's ideal if you're only making a quick stop over in Guat City. We arrived at 8pm and left at 5am the next day, and so didn't spend much time in the hotel. We were picked up by the owner, who was on time and very pleasant to chat with (he spoke reasonable English). The hotel seemed very secure, with a high wall around the outside. The decor and furnishings are dated but everything is clean, they provide soaps and shampoo and there was hot water. The only down side was that the room was noisy pretty much all night - at first from the planes overhead (to be expected as its so close to the airport), then from a nearby disco which was pretty loud, and also from other guests in the hotel. The doors and walls don't seem to provide any insulation from sound, and we also had someone knocking on our door repeatedly thoughout the night. I'd recommend this place if you need somewhere close to the airport, but bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper!

You can read more about our trip to Guatemala and Belize on this blog: http://notanotherbus.wordpress.com/2013/05/26/guatemala-proves-to-be-smoother-than-expected/

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
17
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a great place to stay upon arrival or departure from Guatemala City. Accommodations are basic but thought out and well cared for. Unlike most hostels or cheap hotels, there were soaps, shampoos, towels, a blow dryer, even a tiny sowing kit in the bathroom! If you need wireless or a computer they offer that too you tho the computer is older. The rooftop patio is very nice and quiet for the city and has many plants. The garden is well kept. Everything in the home seems to have been placed there with attention and detail. The owners are extremely kind and friendly people who took us in later than the regular check-in time and also were kind enough to drive us to the airport at 4A for departure. I was very pleased with their attention to detail even though some of the hotel was a bit older/outdated like the bathroom fixtures. The beds were comfortable and everything was clean. The community is gated.

The price is great - they do not include tax when booking online so that you do not get charged a larger booking fee. You pay your balance + tax upon arrival - another thoughtful action from the owners. Only drawback is that the local restaurants in that area were not great - the owner ordered us food over the phone which was delivered to us but the quality was not great. I hear the food they cook there is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

For an aviation fanatic like me, this bungalow belonging to a retired air force pilot felt like home away from home. The home itself is lovely - marbled floors, clean rooms, and full of aviation memorabilia - and the staff were extremely helpful. We had a bit of difficulty locating the place since it is in a guarded air force residential area, but once there we enjoyed our stay. Great base for exploring Guatemala City and Antigua. Breakfast before our departure was a treat!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This converted house in a gated residential area is utterly charming. Beds are wonderful; water pressure is excellent (a rarity IMO in Guatemala), and everything is spotless. I called them to let them know that my shuttle from Antigua would be very late, and they could not have been more accommodating.

The next morning, I had a full, excellent breakfast: fresh fruit (papaya and cantaloupe), scrambled eggs, potatoes with red pepper, and black beans, along with orange juice. A couple with two boys had breakfast at the same time as I did, and the kids (teen and near-teen) were still hungry. The cook brought them each another full plate, which they devoured. Another person only wanted fruit, so additional fruit was offered.

The owner took me to the airport a bit later. The airport was less than 5 minutes away.

This was a great place to stay, and I cannot recommend it highly enough! The owners are incredibly kind.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malinche, Owner at Mariana's Petit Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank You we really appreciate your review, hope we can serve you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This B&B is run by a husband and wife team who go out of their way to accommodate guests. We did not have time to eat dinner so they helped us to order food to be delivered, and then set a table for us.

All of our e-mail communications with them were answered right away in English; they picked us up at the airport on time; the rooms were large and clean. I would definitely recommend this as a place to stay when you are transitioning in Guatemala.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This a lovely quiet hotel very close to the airport. It is clean and includes a very full delicious breakfast with their rates. They will pick you up and take you back to the airport at no charge. The couple who run this hotel are very gracious. This is a real gem not to be missed.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Spent our last night in Guatemala at this private home and were greatly disappointed. The home itself looked clean even though our room (especially the bathroom) left a lot to be desired. I was with two local friends who were kind enough to drop us off at Mariana's, but the address we had did not seem to help, so one of the locals called to ask whether someone there could pick us up at the airport (their website states they are located two minutes from the airport). It was in the middle of the afternoon and the caller was told (in a very uncaring way) that they had no one to come pick us up. So we kept looking for the place, still could not find it, and after much frustration, they ended up picking us up from the airport around 7 PM.
We had booked our room on hostelworld.com and paid the balance of $27 upon arriving there. The gentleman showed us to our room, got us a missing bottle of water and showed us the rooftop patio area (wonderful spot!). When we realized a little later (around 8 PM) that we were not given the code for the wireless Internet, I went downstairs to ask for it and as soon as I got downstairs, I heard a door close (the owners and their family were in a room downstairs). No one came to ask what I needed, so I went back upstairs and gave up on using the Internet.
We had asked to be driven back to the airport at 5 AM the following day for our early flight out, and when we showed up downstairs that morning the same gentleman I had given the $27 to the previous night told me that I had to pay the taxes on the room. I showed him the print out of my booking, where the due amount of $27 was clearly spelled out with no mention of a tax, but he gently pushed on, so I asked him flatly how much more he wanted, and ended up giving him back the three one-dollar bills he had handed over to me the previous evening. I left the place frustrated and angry.
PS- I stayed there on the evening of December 20th and must say that the Christmas decorations there are out of this world. The man must spend all of his waking hours working on this exterior AND interior Christmas display. The place looks like a Christmas museum! I could suggest that the owners spend a little less time and energy on their Christmas decorations and more time on taking care of their B&B business and especially of their guests. I rarely have had such an unpleasant experience when relying on tripadvisor ratings, but in this case the whole experience left a very bad taste in my mouth. I absolutely do not recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malinche, Owner at Mariana's Petit Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Google Translation
Señor Morisset:
Nosotros recogemos unicamente del aeropuerto, como una cortesia y porque no conocia la persona que la traia accedimos a que lo dejara en el aeropuerto y mi esposo se tomo el trabajo de irlo a recoger aunque no era nuestra obligación, Además, si usted lee detenidamente la pagina de Hostelworld, dice claramente que un 22% de Taxes le será agregado a su cuenta, yo no se lo agrego de una vez, precisamente para favorecer a los clientes, y que no tengan que pagar el diez por ciento que cobra el sitio sobre los impuestos y cuando llegan a mi Hotel pagan el resto de la tarifa y sobre eso le cobro yo el 22% de los impuestos no sobre la tarifa Usted pago US 27.00 dolares y mi esposo por alguna razón se le olvidó agregarle el tax cuando lo ingreso a la caja se dió cuenta y por eso en la mañana le corrigió que eran 27 mas taxes, pero no somos deshonestos, ya que si como le repito Usted lee el formato de el sitio allí dice claramente que tiene que pagar el 22% de taxes, por favor tomese el trabajo de leerlo todo y lo verá y lamento verdaderamente que su taxista no haya conocido nada de Guatemala, pero nosotros teníamos que recoger pasajeros en el aeropuerto no podiamos recorrer toda Guatemala para encontrarlos, lamentablemente su taxista no conocia nada y no podía ni siquiera ubicar el aeropuerto, pero aunque no era nuestra obligación ya que solamente recojemos del aeropuerto Internacional lo dice claramente nuestro sitio, lo fuimos a buscar cuando lo logramos ubicar, que lamento que haya tenido tan mala impresion, pero no es nuestra culpa que Usted encontrara un taxista tan desorientado y que no conociera ni el aeropuerto, nuestro Hotel es muiy facil de identificar, y que lamento tambien que piense que somos deshonestos, solamente fue un olvido pero las leyes de Guatemala cobran un 22 por ciento de impuestos a las habitaciones de los hoteles y eso cobramos, como en todas partes del mundo que ademas del tax de ventas los Hoteles tienen que cobrar un 10% de servicio que va para el turismo, y eso fue lo que le cobramos , escribire al sitio de internet en donde usted reservó para que le aclaren ellos directamente que si dice en su pagina que al llegar al Hotel se le agregará 22% de TAX a su cuenta. que lamento que no lo hayamos podido complacer, pero creo que si hicimos cosas mas alla de nuestra obligación para servirlo.

. Morisset:
We pick up passengers only from the International airport as a courtesy and because the taxi driver who brought you we agree to pick you up in the airport, and my husband went to pick you up from the airport even that it was not our duty, also, if you read carefully Hostelworld page clearly states that 22% of Taxes will be added to your account, I do not added it, so the customer do not have to pay the 10% commission, to the Hotel taxes, to the site, and when they get to my Hotel pay the remainder of the fee, and add the 22% tax rate, in the night , you pay 27.00 U.S. dollars and for some reason my husband forgot to add the tax, when he deposited the money in the safety box he realized that he did not collect the taxes, and in the morning he requested the tax from you and corrected , that were 27 dollars plus taxes, but we are not dishonest, because if you , read the format of the site clearly states there, that every body has to pay 22% of taxes Please take the trouble to read it all, and you will see it, I am truly regret that your driver has not known anything about Guatemala, but we had to pick up passengers at the airport we could not go across Guatemala city to find you, unfortunately your taxi driver did not know anything and could not even locate the airport, but although it was not our duty, because we pick up only from the International airport, as you can see, it says clearly in our site, we went to look for you when we did locate, we are sorry you had such a bad impression, but it's not our fault that You found a taxi driver so disoriented and did not know even the airport, our hotel is very easy to find , I am going to write to the web site where you booked so they can directly make the clarification for you that is written in their site, that you have to pay the taxes when you arrive to our hotel, and you can do the same, write to the website at where you booked for clarification. I regret that we have not been able to please you , but I think that we did things beyond our obligation to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariana's Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariana's Petit Hotel

Address: 20 Calle 10-17 | Zone 13, aurora II, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariana's Petit Hotel is a small family-owned and operated bed & breakfast in Guatemala, strategically located close to the International Airport La Aurora Where comfortable rooms and an attentive staff will make you feel right at home. We offers single, double and triple rooms at reasonable rates. All rooms are comfortably furnished and have private bathroom with hot water, Cable TV and phone, internet access, and all prices include breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Mariana's Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariana's Petit Hotel Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariana's Petit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.