We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mariana's Petit Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariana's Petit Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mariana's Petit Hotel to your Saves list
Mariana's Petit Hotel
20 Calle 10-17 | Zone 13, aurora II, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 40 Guatemala City B&B and Inns
Roatan, Honduras
1 review
“Mariana's Petit Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This a lovely quiet hotel very close to the airport. It is clean and includes a very full delicious breakfast with their rates. They will pick you up and take you back to the airport at no charge. The couple who run this hotel are very gracious. This is a real gem not to be missed.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
24
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Spent our last night in Guatemala at this private home and were greatly disappointed. The home itself looked clean even though our room (especially the bathroom) left a lot to be desired. I was with two local friends who were kind enough to drop us off at Mariana's, but the address we had did not seem to help, so one of the locals called to ask whether someone there could pick us up at the airport (their website states they are located two minutes from the airport). It was in the middle of the afternoon and the caller was told (in a very uncaring way) that they had no one to come pick us up. So we kept looking for the place, still could not find it, and after much frustration, they ended up picking us up from the airport around 7 PM.
We had booked our room on hostelworld.com and paid the balance of $27 upon arriving there. The gentleman showed us to our room, got us a missing bottle of water and showed us the rooftop patio area (wonderful spot!). When we realized a little later (around 8 PM) that we were not given the code for the wireless Internet, I went downstairs to ask for it and as soon as I got downstairs, I heard a door close (the owners and their family were in a room downstairs). No one came to ask what I needed, so I went back upstairs and gave up on using the Internet.
We had asked to be driven back to the airport at 5 AM the following day for our early flight out, and when we showed up downstairs that morning the same gentleman I had given the $27 to the previous night told me that I had to pay the taxes on the room. I showed him the print out of my booking, where the due amount of $27 was clearly spelled out with no mention of a tax, but he gently pushed on, so I asked him flatly how much more he wanted, and ended up giving him back the three one-dollar bills he had handed over to me the previous evening. I left the place frustrated and angry.
PS- I stayed there on the evening of December 20th and must say that the Christmas decorations there are out of this world. The man must spend all of his waking hours working on this exterior AND interior Christmas display. The place looks like a Christmas museum! I could suggest that the owners spend a little less time and energy on their Christmas decorations and more time on taking care of their B&B business and especially of their guests. I rarely have had such an unpleasant experience when relying on tripadvisor ratings, but in this case the whole experience left a very bad taste in my mouth. I absolutely do not recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malinche, Owner at Mariana's Petit Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Google Translation
Señor Morisset:
Nosotros recogemos unicamente del aeropuerto, como una cortesia y porque no conocia la persona que la traia accedimos a que lo dejara en el aeropuerto y mi esposo se tomo el trabajo de irlo a recoger aunque no era nuestra obligación, Además, si usted lee detenidamente la pagina de Hostelworld, dice claramente que un 22% de Taxes le será agregado a su cuenta, yo no se lo agrego de una vez, precisamente para favorecer a los clientes, y que no tengan que pagar el diez por ciento que cobra el sitio sobre los impuestos y cuando llegan a mi Hotel pagan el resto de la tarifa y sobre eso le cobro yo el 22% de los impuestos no sobre la tarifa Usted pago US 27.00 dolares y mi esposo por alguna razón se le olvidó agregarle el tax cuando lo ingreso a la caja se dió cuenta y por eso en la mañana le corrigió que eran 27 mas taxes, pero no somos deshonestos, ya que si como le repito Usted lee el formato de el sitio allí dice claramente que tiene que pagar el 22% de taxes, por favor tomese el trabajo de leerlo todo y lo verá y lamento verdaderamente que su taxista no haya conocido nada de Guatemala, pero nosotros teníamos que recoger pasajeros en el aeropuerto no podiamos recorrer toda Guatemala para encontrarlos, lamentablemente su taxista no conocia nada y no podía ni siquiera ubicar el aeropuerto, pero aunque no era nuestra obligación ya que solamente recojemos del aeropuerto Internacional lo dice claramente nuestro sitio, lo fuimos a buscar cuando lo logramos ubicar, que lamento que haya tenido tan mala impresion, pero no es nuestra culpa que Usted encontrara un taxista tan desorientado y que no conociera ni el aeropuerto, nuestro Hotel es muiy facil de identificar, y que lamento tambien que piense que somos deshonestos, solamente fue un olvido pero las leyes de Guatemala cobran un 22 por ciento de impuestos a las habitaciones de los hoteles y eso cobramos, como en todas partes del mundo que ademas del tax de ventas los Hoteles tienen que cobrar un 10% de servicio que va para el turismo, y eso fue lo que le cobramos , escribire al sitio de internet en donde usted reservó para que le aclaren ellos directamente que si dice en su pagina que al llegar al Hotel se le agregará 22% de TAX a su cuenta. que lamento que no lo hayamos podido complacer, pero creo que si hicimos cosas mas alla de nuestra obligación para servirlo.

. Morisset:
We pick up passengers only from the International airport as a courtesy and because the taxi driver who brought you we agree to pick you up in the airport, and my husband went to pick you up from the airport even that it was not our duty, also, if you read carefully Hostelworld page clearly states that 22% of Taxes will be added to your account, I do not added it, so the customer do not have to pay the 10% commission, to the Hotel taxes, to the site, and when they get to my Hotel pay the remainder of the fee, and add the 22% tax rate, in the night , you pay 27.00 U.S. dollars and for some reason my husband forgot to add the tax, when he deposited the money in the safety box he realized that he did not collect the taxes, and in the morning he requested the tax from you and corrected , that were 27 dollars plus taxes, but we are not dishonest, because if you , read the format of the site clearly states there, that every body has to pay 22% of taxes Please take the trouble to read it all, and you will see it, I am truly regret that your driver has not known anything about Guatemala, but we had to pick up passengers at the airport we could not go across Guatemala city to find you, unfortunately your taxi driver did not know anything and could not even locate the airport, but although it was not our duty, because we pick up only from the International airport, as you can see, it says clearly in our site, we went to look for you when we did locate, we are sorry you had such a bad impression, but it's not our fault that You found a taxi driver so disoriented and did not know even the airport, our hotel is very easy to find , I am going to write to the web site where you booked so they can directly make the clarification for you that is written in their site, that you have to pay the taxes when you arrive to our hotel, and you can do the same, write to the website at where you booked for clarification. I regret that we have not been able to please you , but I think that we did things beyond our obligation to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I recently came back from a month in Guatemala, and stayed at the Mariana Petit Hotel on our last night before flying out. Of all the places we stayed all over the country, this was by far the nicest and best value. We paid $37 which included:

- private queen bedroom
- private bathroom
- wifi
- free use of computer
- large breakfast (coffee or tea, eggs, fresh bread, beans, fresh fruit salad, juice)
- airport/pickup dropoff

The rooms were clean, spacious, and quiet. The hotel (feels more like a Bed and Breakfast, very cute and peaceful) is five minutes from the airport and in a really safe, gated community. The owners were extremely gracious and helpful. You can easily pay double the price for not as nice of a hotel in Guatemala City (which we did when we first flew in), and I will definitely choose to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watauga
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here one night before she left Guatemala. We were the only ones staying in the 5 room hotel that has been converted from a previously large home. The room was large and clean, the beds comfortable, breakfast was delicious, and the service staff very attentive to our needs and desires.

I recommend eating dinner prior to checking in for the night as there is no restaurant nearby where one can walk to eat.

Room Tip: Our room (#1) was a little warm and stuffy as the windows would not open. The stand fan in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I spent 1 night before leaving the country after a 1 month stay. The location was the deciding factor in choosing this hotel. It is 5 minutes from the airport. It is located in a safe, gate guarded community. The rooms are spacious, clean, with amenities e.g. T.V., wi-fi, private bath, breakfast, and free airport transportation. Breakfast was good, and even though I did not get my wake up call, I made it because of the closeness to the airport, and I would stay here again. Breakfast is included, and you can call out for delivery of other meals. The hosts are nice, accommodating, and I felt comfortable here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed one night in this nice familiar hostel. Fernando, the owner, picked up us from the airport very punctual, he was really nice, helpful and easy going..
The room was big and clean, it had a terrace with nice view of the city...
One thing to count is that you cant cook... just keep some food in the fridge...
The breakfast was great! Very typical Guate!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stayed here 5 nights this month. The husband & wife who own the property are delightful people who make you feel at home immediately. They serve a wonderful breakfast and always asked when we would like it depending on our schedule that day.
We took the bus to Copan, Honduras and Fernando delivered us at 4:30 am and picked us up at 7:00pm when we returned. He also ran us through a drive through to get some chicken for dinner that we took back to eat at the hotel. I would call that going beyond what is called for. Jeanette called & found out the bus schedule. He also picked us up at the airport when we arrived. No extra charge for any of this.
The negative is that it is located by the airport and if you don't have a car, it is not close to any place to eat. If you are a light sleeper, the plane noise prevent a good night's sleep.

The price is very reasonable, $43 USD for a double. They accept charge cards. Our room had a floor fan which was needed one night.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#7 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 887 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#4 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Inmaculada Hotel
La Inmaculada Hotel
#2 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#26 of 48 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
3.0 mi away
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Posada Belen Museo Inn
#5 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hostal Villa Toscana
Hostal Villa Toscana
#6 of 40 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariana's Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariana's Petit Hotel

Address: 20 Calle 10-17 | Zone 13, aurora II, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariana's Petit Hotel is a small family-owned and operated bed & breakfast in Guatemala, strategically located close to the International Airport La Aurora Where comfortable rooms and an attentive staff will make you feel right at home. We offers single, double and triple rooms at reasonable rates. All rooms are comfortably furnished and have private bathroom with hot water, Cable TV and phone, internet access, and all prices include breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Mariana's Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariana's Petit Hotel Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariana's Petit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.