We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value and Nicest Stay in Guatemala” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariana's Petit Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mariana's Petit Hotel to your Saves list
Mariana's Petit Hotel
20 Calle 10-17 | Zone 13, aurora II, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 40 Guatemala City B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Best Value and Nicest Stay in Guatemala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I recently came back from a month in Guatemala, and stayed at the Mariana Petit Hotel on our last night before flying out. Of all the places we stayed all over the country, this was by far the nicest and best value. We paid $37 which included:

- private queen bedroom
- private bathroom
- wifi
- free use of computer
- large breakfast (coffee or tea, eggs, fresh bread, beans, fresh fruit salad, juice)
- airport/pickup dropoff

The rooms were clean, spacious, and quiet. The hotel (feels more like a Bed and Breakfast, very cute and peaceful) is five minutes from the airport and in a really safe, gated community. The owners were extremely gracious and helpful. You can easily pay double the price for not as nice of a hotel in Guatemala City (which we did when we first flew in), and I will definitely choose to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
22
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watauga
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here one night before she left Guatemala. We were the only ones staying in the 5 room hotel that has been converted from a previously large home. The room was large and clean, the beds comfortable, breakfast was delicious, and the service staff very attentive to our needs and desires.

I recommend eating dinner prior to checking in for the night as there is no restaurant nearby where one can walk to eat.

Room Tip: Our room (#1) was a little warm and stuffy as the windows would not open. The stand fan in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I spent 1 night before leaving the country after a 1 month stay. The location was the deciding factor in choosing this hotel. It is 5 minutes from the airport. It is located in a safe, gate guarded community. The rooms are spacious, clean, with amenities e.g. T.V., wi-fi, private bath, breakfast, and free airport transportation. Breakfast was good, and even though I did not get my wake up call, I made it because of the closeness to the airport, and I would stay here again. Breakfast is included, and you can call out for delivery of other meals. The hosts are nice, accommodating, and I felt comfortable here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed one night in this nice familiar hostel. Fernando, the owner, picked up us from the airport very punctual, he was really nice, helpful and easy going..
The room was big and clean, it had a terrace with nice view of the city...
One thing to count is that you cant cook... just keep some food in the fridge...
The breakfast was great! Very typical Guate!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stayed here 5 nights this month. The husband & wife who own the property are delightful people who make you feel at home immediately. They serve a wonderful breakfast and always asked when we would like it depending on our schedule that day.
We took the bus to Copan, Honduras and Fernando delivered us at 4:30 am and picked us up at 7:00pm when we returned. He also ran us through a drive through to get some chicken for dinner that we took back to eat at the hotel. I would call that going beyond what is called for. Jeanette called & found out the bus schedule. He also picked us up at the airport when we arrived. No extra charge for any of this.
The negative is that it is located by the airport and if you don't have a car, it is not close to any place to eat. If you are a light sleeper, the plane noise prevent a good night's sleep.

The price is very reasonable, $43 USD for a double. They accept charge cards. Our room had a floor fan which was needed one night.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Services very friendly, breakfast was great we all enjoy it every morning. safe places to stay, room condition very clean. For sure I will stay here next time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
83 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

First of all they will pick you up and drop you off to the airport.
Second of all they are super friendly.
They take a very good care of the house and the rooms.
It is only 2 min drive from the airport so excellent choice if you are just passing through Guatemala city and need a good access to the airport.
For sighseeing you should definitely consider something closer to the city center.

Oh...i think they have free internet but we din't have a chance to even try it as only stay there one night and it was a very short stay

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#7 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 842 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#4 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Inmaculada Hotel
La Inmaculada Hotel
#2 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Posada Belen Museo Inn
#5 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#26 of 48 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hostal Villa Toscana
Hostal Villa Toscana
#5 of 40 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariana's Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariana's Petit Hotel

Address: 20 Calle 10-17 | Zone 13, aurora II, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariana's Petit Hotel is a small family-owned and operated bed & breakfast in Guatemala, strategically located close to the International Airport La Aurora Where comfortable rooms and an attentive staff will make you feel right at home. We offers single, double and triple rooms at reasonable rates. All rooms are comfortably furnished and have private bathroom with hot water, Cable TV and phone, internet access, and all prices include breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mariana's Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariana's Petit Hotel Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariana's Petit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.