We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santander Plaza Hotel

Santander Plaza Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Santander Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Santander Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 calle | 3-52 zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Charlo, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is wonderful and well appointed. The staff are friendly and helpful. American hotels could learn a lot from these people. They have perfected service. We loved our week-long stay and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

I've stayed here twice. Booked it because I had a cat traveling with me (there is a daily charge). This was the only hotel I could find that was okay with the pet. What a pleasant surprise! This is a very low-key older hotel. The rooms I've stayed in were suites. Separate [full!] kitchen, balcony, plenty of closet, big bathroom, free internet, cable TV, and a truly first-class breakfast (included).

This is a business hotel...set up for longer stays. But it's a real plus for me. Their airport shuttle service doesn't start until 8am and it's located further from the airport than other comparable transiting hotels so not perfect if you're in the city to just fly out. But, if you're in the city for a few days and want the conveniences of being in the Zona Viva, want to be comfortable, and want to be economical...this place is great.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
curacao
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel when we came for the youth congress. It was very comfortable, good service, very good breakfast to start us up each morning. Good location! Just 7 minutes from a shopping mall. We will definitely stay here again if we visit Guatemala!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Top Contributor
521 reviews 521 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We needed a one night stay and we found a great price that includes the breakfast buffet. We had room 203 a little larger then the higher floors. Clean good beds, some maintenance issues. Carpet stained from metal seats on enclosed patio type area. Shopping mall with 2 food courts 1st and 4th floor
around the corner on 16th street. Street noise, some airplane noise. We stayed Friday night and some drunk people noise too. Zoo Q40 by taxi. Free fast wifi. The price was right! Recommended MeuterMedia

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogotá
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The hotel is located aprox. 15 minutes from the International Airport.
We tried to call the hotel to arrange pickup, but the hotel phones did not work - so we took a taxi from the airport.

The location of the hotel was OK - it´s in easy walking distance to a shopping center and restaurants.

The hotel seemed to have very few bookings- the receptionist seemed to be bored upon arrival, playing with his telephone.
The rooms were very large - including a small kitchenette with coffeemaker and refrigerator.
A flat TV and good WIFI networks throughout the hotel.

A huge disappointment was the so called "fitness center" - it´s a JOKE!
A small aquarium with a treadmill - that´s all!
If you look for a hotel to do some real exercise, you better choose another place.

Breakfast: A buffet with a limited variety of fresh fruits, breads etc - OK.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecpan, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We hoped for a nice overnight getaway in Guatemala City, but this hotel was a disappointment. Bathtub plug didn't work, hot water was Luke warm, and the closet doors were jammed shut. Staff was cordial and helpful, but fell short of web description and star rating, definitely needs work. Better deals in the Neighborhood. I hope the breakfast buffet will make up for the below average property. It is in a good area with lots of restaurants in the neighborhood. Meals are close. I told the staff of the problems and they were apologetic, but they must have known about this Lemon of a room. Believe me you can do better for the price.

Room Tip: Good luck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Santander Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santander Plaza Hotel

Address: 15 calle | 3-52 zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santander Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santander Plaza Hotel counts with several types of suites to satisfy a variety of needs. Our executive suites are ideal for short, medium or long terms of stay and offer all the services to assure your comfort on a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Santander Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santander Plaza Hotel Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santander Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.