We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay in Guatemala City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Theatre International Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Theatre International Hostel to your Saves list
Theatre International Hostel
8th. Avenue 14-17 Zone 1, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence
Oaxaca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good place to stay in Guatemala City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This hostel is close to the main Street which takes you to the main square of Guatemala City. It's very easy to catch the trans metro since there is a station just next to it or if you walk a couple of blocks you get to the intersection of the three lines of the transmetro. The rooms are good, the kitchen is big, good internet connection.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    12
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
8
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campbellton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Me and the other 7 girls who were traveling with me, slept there the first night in the country of Guatemala. It's very close to the airport, maybe 15 mins depending on the trafic. When you get Inside you forget that you are in Guatemala city because everything is so cozy, there are hamacs, puffs to sit on, a fruit tree, ... They put music on to play all day which is really nice. We actually plugged in my friend's iPod for a while. I felt very safe, they lock up the place very good. When we went, there was a guy from Québec city working, it was only his third week in Guate, he took us out to eat, to the market and to walk around the city. They have lockers to put your stuff in, which I was happy about. I really liked this place, it was also VERY clean, bathrooms included. I really enjoyed my stay there, if I go back to Guatemala city, I will sleep there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

All was good,the hostel is clean, is safe,the breakfast is free,hot watter,and very easy to pay,the people is kind, i can find persons of all world ,and i can make good friends.Very good place.I love it.Was a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I stayed there the last night of my trip through guatemala. the whole crew is very friendly and helpful. they even try to show you an authentic guatamela by visiting a concert together (crew and hostelvisitors) of a local band. Thank you for a special last night!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

A new hotel and I can see that they are putting effort into making it great. Are very helpful. We made a reservation for a dorm because that is all they had and when we got their my gf and I asked for a private. One of the workers gave up his room and moved in two beds for us. We only paid 93 or 95q each. This is probably one of the cheapest hostels that I found in Guatemala City. The only draw back was that there is only one bathroom for men and one bathroom for women for all to share. However, they said they would be doing renovations to make more bathrooms.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

I was supposed to stay 3 nights in this hostel and I finally ended up staying one week. The location is great, near by shops, cheap restaurants.. The staff is lovely and helpful and the hostel facilities are good. I had a really nice stay there and I definitely recommend it if you want to meet young backpackers. Would stay there again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My friend and I needed a place to stay for one night, since we were catching an early flight to Nicaragua the next day. We found this place on hostelworld.com and it had decent reviews. First off, the airport pick-up and drop-off was an additional $6 each way, I wouldn't have been bothered by it had the price per person / per night had been more reasonable. For 1 person / per night in the dorm room, it came out to be $20. Very overpriced, especially for what we got. My bed had ants crawling on the bed sheets, there was no hot water in the shower, and the Wifi was down. This was problematic since we needed Wifi to do research on our trip and do online check-in for our flight. It is also located in Zona 1 which is considered the more dangerous area of Guatemala City. Will not be staying here again, unfortunately.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo F, Gerente at Theatre International Hostel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Frances,

we really appreciate your comments and we would like to deeply apologize for all the inconvenients that we had made to you.
This is a bussines that we just have started and that´s why we are very thankful about your comments because thats how we are going to improve in the future.

Regards,

Hostel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
2.6 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#7 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 842 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#4 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#26 of 48 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guatemala
Crowne Plaza Guatemala
#14 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Posada Belen Museo Inn
#5 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quetzalroo
Quetzalroo
#1 of 33 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theatre International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theatre International Hostel

Address: 8th. Avenue 14-17 Zone 1, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Theatre International Hostel is the only backpacker party hostel located in the heart of the Historic Center of the City and only 10 minutes from the airport. We offer a safe place to have good time traveling. We are at the side of Teatro Abril, the most beautiful theatre in the City. 38 Bed hostel - With two patios with hammocks, full equiped kitchen, laundry and free wifi. 8Th avenue 14-17 zone 1 We have security 24/7. We include breakfast (buffet) from 8 to 10 AM: our famous banana pancakes. Includes coffee, green tea, pancakes and season fruits. We also love to travel! This Hostel is founded by travelers that try to put all the ideas seen all over the world about the best hostels they stay at. It is not allow the entrance for children or pets. We have the most competitive price in the market so the hostel remains full of young travelers. We have deals. If you book six nights you get one night for free. If you prefer to sleep in a dorm we recommend the 8 bed dorm (not the 12) because the beds are more comfortable (double bed). We also have a common computer, security camera circuit, refrigerator full of beers, city maps and vibrant atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Theatre International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theatre International Hostel Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Theatre International Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.