We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Theatre International Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Theatre International Hostel to your Saves list
Theatre International Hostel
8th. Avenue 14-17 Zone 1, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

A new hotel and I can see that they are putting effort into making it great. Are very helpful. We made a reservation for a dorm because that is all they had and when we got their my gf and I asked for a private. One of the workers gave up his room and moved in two beds for us. We only paid 93 or 95q each. This is probably one of the cheapest hostels that I found in Guatemala City. The only draw back was that there is only one bathroom for men and one bathroom for women for all to share. However, they said they would be doing renovations to make more bathrooms.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

I was supposed to stay 3 nights in this hostel and I finally ended up staying one week. The location is great, near by shops, cheap restaurants.. The staff is lovely and helpful and the hostel facilities are good. I had a really nice stay there and I definitely recommend it if you want to meet young backpackers. Would stay there again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My friend and I needed a place to stay for one night, since we were catching an early flight to Nicaragua the next day. We found this place on hostelworld.com and it had decent reviews. First off, the airport pick-up and drop-off was an additional $6 each way, I wouldn't have been bothered by it had the price per person / per night had been more reasonable. For 1 person / per night in the dorm room, it came out to be $20. Very overpriced, especially for what we got. My bed had ants crawling on the bed sheets, there was no hot water in the shower, and the Wifi was down. This was problematic since we needed Wifi to do research on our trip and do online check-in for our flight. It is also located in Zona 1 which is considered the more dangerous area of Guatemala City. Will not be staying here again, unfortunately.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo F, Gerente at Theatre International Hostel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Frances,

we really appreciate your comments and we would like to deeply apologize for all the inconvenients that we had made to you.
This is a bussines that we just have started and that´s why we are very thankful about your comments because thats how we are going to improve in the future.

Regards,

Hostel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The hostel is hard to find in terms of an A4 printed sign on the door, you really need to be walking past it, looking hard. It backs onto a theatre, though you wouldn't know it from being inside. The hostel felt secure in an area we didn't realise is quite dangerous (Zona 1). If you stay on a Friday night, look forward to a wonderful surprise - a cross between Narnia and night life! I would choose this hostel even just for that reason. Breakfast is basic - toast with jam, orange juice and cornflakes. Bring your own bed sheet if possible, or ask for a blanket. The kitchen is well-equipped, and there is 1 bathroom with hot shower for girls, and 1 for guys too. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and will do whatever they can to help you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The staff was really nice, but the place was pretty run down and no one spoke English, so it was a bit difficult at times without help from other guests who spoke Spanish. The area is not that safe, but they make sure you feel safe inside the gates.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester MA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Juan Pablo and Maryellena made my stay very pleasurable. I stayed in the capitol for about a week and the staff treated me very well. Anything i beckoned for was responded swiftly with joy and attentiveness. The beds were decent and the shower had hot water. The locker was small and Maryellena i think expected me to use a towel that was just hanging in the bathroom. Sort of like a community towel i believe. The hostel is connected to an amazing European like theatre and the location is very good. Take a left out of the joint and go straight a few blocks and you'll find yourself in Plaza Barrios. Theres a museum train museum there and not too far from there is the business district where theres some cool strictures and a fountain that is pretty elegant. take a left out of the joint and go straight about 20 minutes and you'll find yourself at the center of the city. The national palace and the Cathedral is there to view and be amused by. The square is pretty huge with stores and restaurants galore to choose from. I found a little restaurant near the hostel that served excellent food for 12 or 15Q depending on what you get. It included a refresco. you take a right out of the hostel then an immediate left. walk down a bit and its the first restaurant on your left. I believe its named Cafeteria Peolin. Give Guatemala city a chance. It has its own gritty charm and the people are friendly and the food good and cheap. Plus the Transmetro is only 1Q and takes you anywhere around the city. Happy travels.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed at theatre international hostel 3 nights and had an amaizing time, staff is very friendly, big rooms, near bus station, great location to travel to next locations in guatemala. Breakfast was included, also lots of little shops around to buy food, etc, it has a kitchen. Is walking distance to the Palacio Nacional de la cultura and portal del comercio. safe area to walk around, they also offer a free walking tour of the historic area which ends up at the oldest bar in guatemala city. There is a bar right next to the hostal which is open on weekends with live music. Also airport pick up and excellent prices... Will definetly stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Theatre International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theatre International Hostel

Address: 8th. Avenue 14-17 Zone 1, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Theatre International Hostel is a backpacker party hostel located in the heart of the Historic Center of the City and only 10 minutes from the airport. We offer a safe place to rest and spend good moments. We are at the side of Teatro Abril, the most beautiful theatre in the City and inside there is a beautiful bar. 70 bed hostel - With two patios, kitchen, laundry and free wifi. 8th avenue 14-17 zone 1 We have security 24/7. We include breakfast from 8 to 10 AM: our famous banana pancakes. We also love to travel! This Hostel is founded by travelers that try to put all the ideas seen all over the world about the best hostels they stay at. We also organize some free activities like cumbia night and visits to local lucha libre. It is not allow the entrance for children or people older than 45. We have the most competitive price in the market so the hostel remains full of young travelers. We have deals. If you book six nights you get one night for free. If you prefer to sleep in a dorm we recommend the 8 bed dorm (not the 12) because the beds are more comfortable (double bed). Cash and cards (mastercard and visa) accepted upon arrival. Please, let us know in advance so the POS system is in the hostel. Check-in: 2:00 PM Check-out: 12:00 M Taxes are included. Breakfast Included. 8ª. Avenida 14-17 zone 1. The hostel is located in the historic center of Guatemala City, so it is easy to reach tourists attractions, shopping area, restaurants and bars. 10 minutes from the airport, two blocks from the terminal of local buses and three blocks from Sixth Avenue of the historic center of Guatemala City. The location is just perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Theatre International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theatre International Hostel Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Theatre International Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.