We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel and great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xamanek Hostel

Xamanek Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guatemala City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Xamanek Hostel
13 calle 3 - 57 zona 10 | Zona Viva, Guatemala City, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hostel and great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Fun and secure place to stay! Its in the zona viva ( where the night clubs are) and sorrounded by the best luxury hotels in Guatemalam its probably one of the best kept secrets here! Close to all kinds of restaurants and shopping centers ( getting an open store at night to buy food or simply a coca cola is hard in Guatemala city, but this hostel is sorrounded by lots of grocery stores /"tiendas" that open until 11 PM or midnight)

The breakfast is really good and is included in the price . You can even bargain the price of private rooms! I found this hostel very good and will come back for vacations! Its great for students/ backpacpers / and ppl. doing volunteer stufff in Guatemala city ! I stayed here for 4 months volunteering and they made me feel like at home!
5 Stars of of 5.

Roberto from Texas!

Room Tip: If u are 2 traveller, ask for a private and try to bargain the price,, It would be even cheaper than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Located on a safe street in a safe part of town, the hostel is simple but clean. Staff was friendly and helpful, breakfast was decent, and there's a good kitchen and internet. It's close to the transmetro, so easy access into the center of town. Guate gets a bad rep, but we found the city has a big focus on rejuvenating streets and parks, and some of the sites (palace, relief map, avenida 6a walking street) were really nice!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

the hostel is clean,the showers are perfect,BUT:i went for a trip for a couple of days and they offered me to leave my bigger backpack there,in a room,where only the staff members had access to.when i came back i recognized,that several things,like my ear-phones,my memory-flash and so on has gone.i was disappointed (not because of the things,which were stolen,BECAUSE OF THE ACT!),but the administrator of the hostel blamed at least ME,that i left my things there...and also blamed me,that i made up a STORY,which can impossibly be true....WHAT I LEARNT FROM THAT:even in zona 10,in one of the most recommended hostels,YOU CAN'T TRUST THE PEOPLE!so if somebody still wants to go there,LOOK AFTER YOUR THINGS!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Service: The hotel provides excellent service.

Room: The room was comfortable.

Location: The location, Zone 10 near Reforma Avenue, is the best because it is a residential area where there are many nice hotels, a variety of very good restaurants, banks, taxis and a shopping mall within walking distance.
Access to Internet and telephone service is also provided.

What I liked the most, was the friendly staff at Xamanek.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a clean, convenient place to stay
in Guatemala City.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

The rooms and bathrooms are always clean and tidy. It's in a great spot in Guatemala City, right in the heart of Zona 10, where all the action is, including great restaurants and bars, and fairly close to the airport. The staff there is always friendly and helpful with whatever they can help with. And they always remember return guests! The rates are reasonable, given the location and the facilities - kitchen, lounge area, computer with fast internet, etc. - and it's great to have a choice of dorm or private room. It's my place of choice whenever I'm in the city.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

Told we would be picked up in car for $5US but when we arrived they charged us $10US.

The dorm beds were meant to be $15US each (as on their website and confirmed by email), which is already crazily expensive for a hostel in Guatemala. When we arrived (at 9pm at night) they charged us $20US each which I thought was absolutely ridiculous.

We didn't venture out at night as although it is in the safe part of town, the side street that it's in still looks quite scary to step out of at night.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

Stayed here for one night upon arriving around 9 PM in Guatemala City. Very short trip from airport and not expensive to get to.

I stayed in a private room with private bathroom. The room was fairly clean and basic. There was a locker for which you might want to bring a basic lock. Security didn't seem to be an issue but one never knows.

I paid $35 which was a decent value. It's one block from the Intercontinental where I stayed at the end of my trip, but is a only slightly more than 1/3 the price. Zona 1 where the majority of discount accomodations are found can feel quite dodgy in part so staying here in the Zona Viva has a lot of pluses. There are many cheap restaurants nearby including 'Ta Contento which was excellent.

Reception didn't appear to speak much English and when making a reservation via email I was glad that I could write in Spanish.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room was so-so
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Xamanek Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xamanek Hostel

Address: 13 calle 3 - 57 zona 10 | Zona Viva, Guatemala City, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Specialty lodging in Guatemala City
Also Known As:
Xamanek Hostel Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xamanek Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Xamanek Hostel to your Saves list