We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Los Lagos Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hostal Los Lagos Inn to your Saves list
Hostal Los Lagos Inn
8a. Avenida 15-85 Z.13, Aurora I | Zona 13 Aurora 1, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 38 Guatemala City B&B and Inns
Escazu, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A new experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was the first time I stayed in a hostel and I really like, the owners Mr. Luis and his wife Mariloly
They were nice since my arrival I stayed for 4 nights, helped me with everything I had doubts and guided me very well (if it was like my home away from her)
The room was very clean (that was my biggest concern) the place where the hostel is very safe and just 1 minute from the airport. They are free shuttle to and from the airport.
Certainly for my next trips I will stay in a hostel is a very different experience and I enjoy it.

Greetings and thanks to Mr. Luis and his wife.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
3
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We just stayed one night, on our way to Mexico. As other reviewers have said, it's a very friendly place where you made to feel welcome. Our room was quite small and rather basic (with a bathroom that could do with a refurbishment), but we had everything we needed, including a TV. There is a pleasant dining/sitting area with TV and videos, and a little garden. The staff recommended a restaurant in the city for us, and ordered a taxi to take us there. We had to leave too early to sample the breakfast, but we were given a lift to the airport at 4.30 in the morning. We would recommend this B&B and will return any time we need a night in Guatemala City.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

This place is so friendly! The owners picked us up from the airport and helped us plan our trip from here. The rooms are basic, but very clean. It is so close to the airport, you get a good breakfast and a kind welcome to Guatemala.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almost Seattle
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

My wife and I went on a 1000km tour through Guatemala and Honduras and ended up our trip at the Hostal Los Lagos. We arrived hungry so the owner ordered a pizza for us. We had an early flight and the owner drove us to the airport for free (well, the ride is included in the room price). Breakfast is also included in the price. Our room had private shower & hot water. The room was basic, but had TV and a large, comfy bed. Overall a good value & experience. What I liked the most: the owners are friendly and will do everything to make your stay pleasant.

  • Liked — Close to airport, friendly staff, good price
  • Disliked — Can be noisy if other guests arrive late or leave early
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2006

Had a very pleasant surprise during a stop in Guatemala City. Found by chance a little B&B located 5 minutes away (easy walk) from the airport. Luis and his spanish wife Mariloly will do everything to make yourself comfortable. I was able to check in around 9.30 am after a red eye flight from Los Angeles. The place is fairly basic (although there is a TV in every room) but very clean. Great breakfast and fabulous coffee too.
No need to go to the unsafe downtown area (and overpay your taxi ride) or to get charged for your hotel room over $100 (especially in a country like Guatemala for God's sake). At Los Lagos, you will pay $15 or $20 (including breakfast) depending on the room. By the way, 5 and 6 have been recently remodeled.
Their address: 8 ave. 18-85 zona 13 Aurora 1, Guatemala City. Their telephone: (502) 2334-5311

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Los Lagos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Los Lagos Inn

Address: 8a. Avenida 15-85 Z.13, Aurora I | Zona 13 Aurora 1, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Hostal Los Lagos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Los Lagos Inn Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Los Lagos Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.