We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in Guatemala City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Belen Museo Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Posada Belen Museo Inn to your Saves list
Posada Belen Museo Inn
13 Calle a 10-30 Zona 1 | Historic Center, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
8 days package
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place in Guatemala City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed a couple of nights and definitely recommend this place. It's an old casa style small hotel (about 10 rooms) in the middle of zone 1. Food was good and they spoke good English. Shame there's not much to do in Guatemala City - follow the guidebook suggestions and don't bother visiting the capital!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    57
    16
    9
    8
See reviews for
32
56
60
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meridian, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Everything we asked for plus more! We stayed for 3 nights while visiting the city before meeting some friends and moving on. It being our 20th anniversary, we were met with a bottle of wine, very friendly staff, and warm surroundings - which made the special day wonderful. We requested a taxi meet us at the airport for the ease of getting there the first night and were happy to see our name on a sign when coming out of customs. The rooms are comfortable, the food good, eating area quaint and a perfect place to meet other travelers and share stories. The location is within walking distance of several restaurants and taxis are cheap to get around the historic district, zona 1. Not recommended to walk the neighborhood frequently at night, staff were more than helpful in directions, restaurant recommendations, and calling a taxi - however, mist nights we ate dinner there and relaxed in hammocks and the common area. Lots of antiques and local flare, Wifi good and we recommend this hotel and will visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for one bed to share if you are a couple so you ensure you don't get two separate beds in on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayman Islands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Very arty, friendly hotel located a few blocks from a main commercial street and a ten minute walk from the main square. Perfectly safe to walk to and from the town in daylight hours. The hotel staff are very friendly and happy to help. A very comfortable and welcoming hotel to return to after a day out on the town.

Room Tip: All rooms are colorful and decorated with locally made weavings. Probably pleasanter to stay in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed one night at the Posada Belen Hotel, and we wished we had more time! The rooms are large and the doors open to a central courtyard/hall. There are 2 open areas that have plant life and fresh air where you can hang out and smoke, enjoy the daylight, or read. The way the hotel is painted, inside and out is warm, inviting and colorful! There are so many books to look at and artifacts to examine within the space. The staff was excellent, as they ensured we had a cab outside our hotel at 5am for our early flight and they were always on hand. I regret to say we only stayed one night, and didn't enjoy breakfast in their beautiful dining room. I'd definitely stay here on my next trip to Guatemala City!
Location-wise, the place was a few blocks to the Central square, and they provided us with a detailed map so we could find our way. I loved this place!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I flew into Guatemala City and stayed at Posada Belen on my way to the coast for surfing.

Bathrooms were a little rundown and didn't always have hot water, but it is a truly unique and beautiful place to stay. Owner treats you like family and the good while on the high end of cheap was yummy.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

If you are looking for a 5 star "American" hotel go some where else. If you want great food, wonderful people and the history if Guatemala this the B&B for you!!!!!!! The food is excellant and the staff (friends) are outstanding. If you are not a snob, you will be amazed!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kecskemét, Bacs-Kiskun, Hungary
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have planned this trip with a bit afraid of Guatemala city, but after I have to admit, it was not a big deal to stay there. I have felt myself safe in the city,had a nice dinner and seen some interesting places. The stay in Posada Belen was just like to be really in a museum! in the first 2-3 hours we could not do anything else but to look around and take pictures. it is an amazing little place, with lovely furbished rooms around a small garden and patio. Clean, breakfast is super, staff is friendly and helpful. we had a rented car and arrived a bit late to hotel, but the guy has showed us a way to a public parking and on our way back we made also some shopping. it is an absolutely must if you are in Guatemala city!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Belen Museo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Belen Museo Inn

Address: 13 Calle a 10-30 Zona 1 | Historic Center, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#5 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Belen is located in a fine colonial style home built in 1873 converted into an intimate Museum Inn, centrally located in a quiet street of the historical center of Guatemala City about 3 miles north from the airport (10-15 Minutes), run by the same family since opened in 1972 to international tourism. Posada Belen was slowly transformed from a colonial style home into a very special inn. Highly recommended in most important travel guides and by former guests/friends, with over 300 authentic registered Mayan artifacts on display as well as unique antique handicrafts plus many primitive paintings makes Posada Belen a true Museum, but most of all we are a clean, safe, centrally located, quiet, moderately priced, with good beds, great food, friendly relaxed atmosphere, and authentic HOME to start, end or organize your journey in Guatemala. We are conveniently located to visit any of the museums in Guatemala city, walk to the relief map, national palace, central market (lowest prices in the country for handcrafts), visit the pre classic Mayan ruins and museum of Kaminal Juyu, dozens of monumental churches , We are blocks away from the bus stations to Tikal, Xela, Antigua, Coban, Chiquimula, Rio Dulce. Etc. Shuttles are also available from the inn door. Guided walking City tour is available, Guatemala city is important if you really want to understand our culture and its history. We will be happy to help you with your itinerary and up to date travel and safety information. The Posada Belen is especially safe for women traveling alone. We have a pick up service available at any hour of day or night to all persons who will like to have a friendly and safe welcome into Guatemala's airport for about the same price as a taxi (depending on the arrival time from $10 to $15), we know we are not for everybody, our clients are usually smart people with lots of travel experience, who are looking for comfortably way to enjoy true Guatemalan culture and also likes to stay in a place with character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Posada Belen Museo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Belen Museo Hotel
Hotel Posada Belen Museo
Posada Belen Museo Inn Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Belen Museo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.