We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly stay in a really museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Belen Museo Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Posada Belen Museo Inn to your Saves list
Posada Belen Museo Inn
13 Calle a 10-30 Zona 1 | Historic Center, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Kecskemét, Bacs-Kiskun, Hungary
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendly stay in a really museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have planned this trip with a bit afraid of Guatemala city, but after I have to admit, it was not a big deal to stay there. I have felt myself safe in the city,had a nice dinner and seen some interesting places. The stay in Posada Belen was just like to be really in a museum! in the first 2-3 hours we could not do anything else but to look around and take pictures. it is an amazing little place, with lovely furbished rooms around a small garden and patio. Clean, breakfast is super, staff is friendly and helpful. we had a rented car and arrived a bit late to hotel, but the guy has showed us a way to a public parking and on our way back we made also some shopping. it is an absolutely must if you are in Guatemala city!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    53
    14
    8
    8
See reviews for
31
49
57
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I went to Guatemala on 4 days notice this past winter. The folks at Posada Belen not only picked me up at the airport after midnight, they opened the kitchen and made me a wonderful meal when we arrived.

I love to take photos, so I gave the owner/operators (Rene & Francesca) an idea of what I was looking for in my trip. They graciously helped me craft my 14-day trip itinerary, and I'll always be grateful!

You can see my trip photos here: http://tinyurl.com/2014GUAT

They also hooked me up with a nice guy (Vinicio) who had a car that I was able to commission for 2 days near the end of my stay.

While I only spent a few days/nights at the hotel, it was perfect--and I LOVED my room. Great food, free wireless, super friendly & helpful staff, I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Guatemala City. Spend a night and you'll see for yourself. Two thumbs up.

Bradford Duplisea, Canada

Room Tip: Tell them you want "Patch Adams" room. He's an actor in the movie of the same name sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis/St. Paul
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed for two nights at Posada Belen in May 2014. It is a homey, clean, and friendly place on a quiet street not far from the central square in Guatemala City. The rooms are quite large and well-appointed, comfortable beds. They are all off the central hallway on the first floor. There is a nice small courtyard where you can sit and read, and a cozy dining room. The hotel is decorated with paintings from the Comalapa area. The home is well over 100 years old, so if you prefer shiny new chain hotels you might be disappointed. But we all loved it, and the service was great. We only ate breakfast there, and it was fine. Did not eat dinner. They have adequate wireless service here.

Room Tip: The rooms all seem nice, but for a little more quiet and privacy ask for Nos. 10 or 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

If you, like me, are somewhat afraid of what you have heard about Guatemala City, then in all likelihood, you may never venture beyond the confines of your hotel or nearby mall.

Staying at the Posada Belen Museo has given me a new perspective on the historic district of Zona 1. Staying here will force you to go out into the streets a few blocks and experience Sixth Avenue in the heart of the old city.

It is a place to walk, if walking is what you enjoy. It is safe, but like anyplace else, it pays to be aware of your surroundings. You will find that you can get a glimpse of the inner city with little effort.

The Posada is owned by Francesca who is both cordial and welcoming. She is very accommodating and so is her staff. Wake up calls and cabs were not a problem.

The rooms are not cramp, but somewhat dark as they rely mainly on fluorescent bulbs. The bathroom are clean and there is plenty of hot water. Aside from the few zancudos (mosquitoes) which were dispatched with an electric wand and spraying, it has been quite trouble free.

My suggestion is to stay here rather than an expensive place like the Westin El Camino though if you want some luxury then by all means head for the Grand Tikal Futura rather than the Westin. My last experience at the Westin about ten days ago was a total disaster with no one at the front desk, no bellmen, no record of my reservations, poor service at the main dinning hall and finally, a cadre of workmen banging on my ceiling all morning and with no warning from the front desk. This will not happen at the Posada Belen Museo.

Rest well. It is good for a couple nights rest either after you arrive or before you leave Guatemala City.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed at the Posada Belen Museo twice in January. and found it great. When we first arrived, we were expected, and were greeted by name by the friendly staff. The hotel is comfortable and homely, an oasis in a rather seedy looking neighbourhood. Our room was clean and comfortable - all the rooms open onto the interior courtyard, which includes a little garden alcove with table and chairs to relax in. This is not a chrome-marble-and-mirrors style hotel - if you want that, there are plenty of characterless modern hotels available.

The staff were all very helpful - our airport pickup was arranged by email before leaving home, and the staff arranged a shuttle-bus pick-up from the hotel to go to Panajachel, and return, and a day-trip by taxi to Antigua (very little more cost than by shuttle bus, but with much more flexibility.)

The staff gave us a map, with a route to walk marked out on it. The assured us it was safe, so off we went.The streets were almost deserted, with a few dodgey looking locals hanging around, but we did not have any problems. Once we arrived at the pedestrian precinct at the top of the hill we felt safer as it was full of people out for their Sunday stroll. It was however a little disconcerting to see, in almost every shop, even Burger King & Wendy's, a security guard just inside the door armed with a pump-action shotgun!

We had our meals at the hotel - very nice home-cooked style local food.

Our only disappointment was that we didn't get to meet Francesca - she must have been having a day off when we were there.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Posada Belen as it was booked for us by our tour guide months in advance. We expressed to him that we wanted to stay somewhere affordable, clean, and close enough to family. We were very pleased with the outcome as it exceeded our expectations.

The exterior of the inn was very simple with iron bars on the windows much like the rest of the street, however the inside decorations and artifacts easily made up for any drab feelings of the exterior. The decorations were lovely and there were some great seating areas within the common area to relax and maybe read a novel or chat with friends or other travelers. Also, not being used to the climate of Guatemala, it was a little surprising having the inside of the inn exposed to the fresh air, but it was wonderful in the mornings and the evenings with the cool, dry climate and breezes.

After traveling much of the rest of Guatemala on our trip, I was also surprised that this hotel offered ionized, filtered water by the pitcher instead of only bottled water like in the other hotels we stayed at. The staff was very accommodating with our requests for water, for wake-up calls, to use the telephone, enquiries about nearby stores, and leaving/entering at varying hours of the night/morning. They were also very kind to let us keep some luggage there during the day when we made an excursion to Tikal and were going to return. Additionally, sleep was very important with all the traveling we did. My husband (a very light sleeper) and I got the best sleep at Posada Belen knowing that we were safe and taken care of.

We also had a typical Guatemalan breakfast there every morning which was always filling and delicious. We only had dinner here once (due to family engagements), but we had a very tasty fish dinner that was well prepared.

For our next trip to Guatemala, we will not hesitate to book here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

There's a rich beauty and unspoken love in this place. For starters, the hotel is in an historic area of the Capital, where many of the buildings hold centuries of history (many of the buildings here are forbidden from being remodeled). Many of the old buildings are reminiscent of Spanish-style architecture (open on the inside, iron bars on the outside).

The entire hotel experience was nothing short of wonderful. Everyone from the owners to the staff were courteous, friendly, and supremely helpful in all things (from finding locations, making local calls, carrying luggage, making off-hours meals). One can tell that everyone here loves what they do and the people they serve.

The hotel is adjacent to what appears to be some police outpost (we stayed in this hotel 5 nights and the police cars were there all the time). Although the statistics show high crime rates in the capital, one must also travel wisely (not wearing a lot of flash, and asking the tour guides where and when it’s safe to take out cameras). Overall, it’s not scary, and if you’re intelligent, you’ll have a good mind for personal safety (do’s and don’ts); and if not, simply ask and anyone will be happy to tell you.

We arrived for Holy Week (the time between Palm Sunday and Easter Sunday) and in 2014, this time was a bit warm, but a few fans and cold water (their water is filtered and purified) did the trick (we came from Florida so it was much cooler for us than we’re accustomed to). The tour guide told the hotel we’d be coming for our honey moon and the staff had hand-made a rose-petal decoration (I imagine it took half an hour at least) for us, and they gave us a delicious bottle of wine (normally I don’t like Merlot, but this Peruvian wine was delicious). The breakfast is amazing (the “plato tipico” or typical plate).

They thought of everything in this hotel: for instance, if the solar-heated water runs out, they also have electric water heaters so you’re never without a shower. Even the maid is honest. I had left Q.5 for her for making the beds and not knowing, she left the money there for us because we didn’t tell her anything.

I wish there were more than 5 points to give the hotel, because I’d give them over 100%. Hopefully we can come back some day and we’ll definitely be staying here over and over again.

Room Tip: Tell the hotel staff what you're traveling for (family, business, couples) and they will accommo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Belen Museo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Belen Museo Inn

Address: 13 Calle a 10-30 Zona 1 | Historic Center, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Belen is located in a fine colonial style home built in 1873 converted into an intimate Museum Inn, centrally located in a quiet street of the historical center of Guatemala City about 3 miles north from the airport (10-15 Minutes), run by the same family since opened in 1972 to international tourism. Posada Belen was slowly transformed from a colonial style home into a very special inn. Highly recommended in most important travel guides and by former guests/friends, with over 300 authentic registered Mayan artifacts on display as well as unique antique handicrafts plus many primitive paintings makes Posada Belen a true Museum, but most of all we are a clean, safe, centrally located, quiet, moderately priced, with good beds, great food, friendly relaxed atmosphere, and authentic HOME to start, end or organize your journey in Guatemala. We are conveniently located to visit any of the museums in Guatemala city, walk to the relief map, national palace, central market (lowest prices in the country for handcrafts), visit the pre classic Mayan ruins and museum of Kaminal Juyu, dozens of monumental churches , We are blocks away from the bus stations to Tikal, Xela, Antigua, Coban, Chiquimula, Rio Dulce. Etc. Shuttles are also available from the inn door. Guided walking City tour is available, Guatemala city is important if you really want to understand our culture and its history. We will be happy to help you with your itinerary and up to date travel and safety information. The Posada Belen is especially safe for women traveling alone. We have a pick up service available at any hour of day or night to all persons who will like to have a friendly and safe welcome into Guatemala's airport for about the same price as a taxi (depending on the arrival time from $10 to $15), we know we are not for everybody, our clients are usually smart people with lots of travel experience, who are looking for comfortably way to enjoy true Guatemalan culture and also likes to stay in a place with character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Posada Belen Museo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Belen Museo Hotel
Hotel Posada Belen Museo
Posada Belen Museo Inn Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Belen Museo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.