We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Guatemalan ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Belen Museo Inn

Save Saved
You added Posada Belen Museo Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Posada Belen Museo Inn
13 Calle A | 10-30 Zona 1, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 47 hotels in Guatemala City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Guatemalan ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Arriving after dark, after a 40 minute taxi ride to a dark barred door on a dark street, we were not too impressed at the number three rated hotel. Room and bathroom are fairly basic. But wake up in the morning, see the atrium in the daylight, enjoy the plants and the artifacts and a great breakfast and you see that you found a warm place with a strong Guatemalan character. If you like B&Bs in the US and have a little sense of adventure this is the place for you. And the price is a real bargain.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    52
    14
    8
    8
See reviews for
31
48
57
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have traveled to Guagemala many times over the past eighteen years. My party and I always stay at Posado Belen on the evening of our arrival and on the evening before we depart the country. The hotel has an old world charm because of the many artifacts. Staff is both friendly and helpful.There is a great sense of security and the streets are generally quiet making for a good nights sleep, Meals are reasonable in price and are very tasty All in all, it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

There are so many good things to recommend about this hotel, I don't know where to start! The rooms are large, well-kept, comfortable and cozy. Both the courtyard and the dining room provide gathering spaces where you can meet and talk with people from many different parts of the world. MOST IMPORTANTLY, the staff members are courteous, helpful, and friendly. If you have a question about the city, travel, banking, medical issues, they can and will help you. Need coffee first thing in the morning? Tell them what time and they'll gently knock on your door to wake you with a steaming cup. The delicious home-cooked meals are a welcome change from restaurant fare and the service is a perfect combination of attentiveness and friendliness. The next time I travel to Guatemala City, I will certainly return to the Posada Belen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We needed a place for two nights and weren't sure where to stay. This posada is close to parque central, the intriguing market and historical buildings. The service was great. My only real complaints are the very dark room (only a tiny skylight), the very expensive breakfast ($15 for two which is somewhat outrageous in Guatemala), and the room itself was also a bit more than I'd have expected to pay for what we got. We need to go back in three weeks to catch our flight but will try another place and see what we get.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just can't say enough about this hotel. Respectful travelers will fall in love as did I. Don't let the hype fool you, downtown Guate City has a lot going on and absolutely is safe if you simply follow a few common sense precautions. Daytime is lovely, night time, simply take taxis. It is that easy. This hotel is full of history and a sense of wonder. Takes you to another place and time. I highly recommend to anyone seeking an authentic experience. Good value to boot.
Cheers! Raw Travel TV

Room Tip: Don't use the google address. It is wrong. Get the address directly from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Friendly and courteous, the team here genuinely wants your stay to be a pleasant experience. A unique kind of place where you feel safe amidst the chaos of the city... while eating a home-cooked meal (gluten-free - not a problem). Excellent value; we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio Palopo, Solola
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have been a very contented client of the Posada Belén since the year 2000. Since then I have stayed there more than 15 times and the service and hospitality have ALWAYS been exemplary. As I am retired and on a tiny pension, I am delighted to say that the Posada gives me the "bang for my buck". I know the Posada is clean, quiet, and always interesting due to the museum included in their business. I highly recommend the Posada Belén to anyone travelling to Guatemala or simply travelling to the city for an over-night stay.

Room Tip: Any room is clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Belen Museo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Belen Museo Inn

Address: 13 Calle A | 10-30 Zona 1, Guatemala City 01001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine colonial style residence built in 1873 located in the historical center of Guatemala city near monuments, parks, centra market, bars and restaurants with great night life. Bus stations and shopping. Opened in 1973 as guest house also a tour operators with travel packages to all the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Posada Belen Museo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Belen Museo Hotel
Hotel Posada Belen Museo
Posada Belen Museo Inn Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Belen Museo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.